We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 24 February 2013

A group of 23 of us had Sunday Lunch at the Angel hotel today and it was excellent.

The staff were attentive and the food was excellent.

Nothing was too much trouble - the food was well presented and the choice was really good.

They were even happy to take away the beef that was beautifully pink for another diner who only liked beef well cooked - a nice touch as many restuarants wouldn't even offer to do this.

Well worth the visit.

As I said the staff were all great.

We didn't stay we just had lunch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mobsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanne m, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,573 - 1,579 of 1,739 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2013

We have visited Cardiff on a number of occasions as our daughter is at university in the city, so we have stayed at several local hotels. This is the hotel we now choose to stay at for several reasons. It's location is great, opposite the castle, close to shops and Restuarants. Yes the corridors are a bit tired looking but the rooms are modern, clean, comfortable and wifi is free! The other main reason that we use this hotel is the convenience of having a car park. We tend to leave the car in the car park and use the excellent local transport for all the local sights, (buses and river bus to Cardiff Bay).

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonjoy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanne m, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

I am glad you had a pleasant stay.

I have taken note of your comments with regards to the corridors, needless to say we have started an internal refurbisment project and the corridors will be included.

we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We were given a fantastic large family room that actually had two seperate rooms - one for the children and an adjoining one with a massive king size bed for us. The young girl that took our luggage up for us gave us extra teas and coffees and made us very welcome and we were just thrilled with the amount of space we had, as that's what we needed with the two kids. They were happy so we were happy too. There was a fridge in the room that was also very helpful and when we asked if it was ok to order a pizza delivery on one of the nights, that was also fine with the hotel, which I thought was a great attitude and with children made things a lot easier and really fun.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellieturner82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanne m, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback.

It is was great to read of your positive experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

One of the best, if not the best, locations in Cardiff, right opposite the castle and close to shops. The reception staff were excellent and the ground floor including bar and restaurant is fine, but first floor up needs updating. The bedrooms are tired, upholstery grubby, windows dirty and general 80's style of decor.
It's a spacious hotel and could be much improved but I suspect would be too costly.

Room Tip: The front with a castle view is pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFF549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanne m, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

I have taken note of the comments with regards to the appearance of some parts of the hotel, needless to say we have started an internal refurbishment programme to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

On a positive note I was glad to hear you received good service from our reception team.

we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

I spent a night here en route to Exeter. The Angel is well located to the railway station, within easy walking distance. Nearby is Cardiff Castle and the beautiful Victorian arcades that lead onto the shopping precinct.
Reception staff at the Angel were attentive to my needs and provided friendly service. I ascended to my room on the second floor via the gorgeous marble staircase to the landing. The chandelier really creates the grand old lady feel of the Angel, complemented by the marble features. My room was in art deco style, clean tidy and easy to find. Breakfast service the next morning was efficient and there was plenty of choice. Only gripe was my window opened on to an inner courtyard where the kitchen fan hummed all night. As a light sleeper this was a minor problem. I would stay here again and recommend it, but if you are a light sleeper ensure your room is in a quieter location within this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LissFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I've stayed in this hotel with 5 of my friends just for one night but all of us really enjoyed it. The location of the hotel is great - everything is close to it - pubs, clubs, stadium, the castle and the staff is very friendly. The guy that checked us in on the reception - Samuel Hill - absolute star - helped us with every single problem that we had. If i'm gonna be back one day in cardiff most definitely gonna stay in this one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigSexy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanne m, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I was delighted to here you had an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Friendly, efficient staff. Lovely clean room. Bar and foyer area welcoming. What more could you want. Limited space in car park, but have not had a problem getting a space. If you're a Rugby fan, best location for the Millennium Stadium!

Room Tip: Some rooms over look the castle. As surrounding roads are busy, if you're a light sleeper you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chriselle757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanne m, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
1,317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#12 of 74 in Cardiff
1,546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 74 in Cardiff
3,392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#23 of 74 in Cardiff
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: £51 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing