We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Angel Hotel Cardiff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #27 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Angel Hotel Cardiff”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed in the Angel on a rugby weekend in early February 2013. We only booked it on the monday and got a room for the Friday night b&b for a very reasonable rate. The Angel is right in the middle of Cardiff next door to castle its perferct for a mini-break or a short stay. It has its own car park, but it does fill up quickly, there is a municipal across the road next to the Millenium Stadium.

The hotel has recently undergone a facelift with the bar area's and entrance smartened up. The rooms have also been refurbished to a high standard, you now have everything you need for a comfortable stay in a city centre hotel. It doesnt have double glazing so if you are staying ask for a room at the back, no view but you get to sleep.

It is let down by the decor in the corridors as I guess they havent got to that area yet, but lets be honest how much time do you spend in the corridors...

The breakfast is great its a buffett so stuff yourself. We didnt have an eveneing meal as there are so many places to eat (supposedly the best Indian in South Wales just next door) in the city we went out.

All in all a perfect palce to stay for the rugby and shopping.

Paul

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moggsie1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    474
    330
    166
    123
See reviews for
187
591
65
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

stayed at this hotel on saturday 23rd of febuary . arrived early,room not ready until 3 ,which is fair enough. lovely reception area and decor. got in room really nice,nice shower,tv,comfortable bed etc. it was only when we got in things went downhill. room overlooks castle and main road. no double glazing,castle clock chimes every hour and road very busy all night.so loud in room didnt sleep a wink.complained in the morning and just recieved a shrug of the shoulders.to be fair our friends were in room 216 and got no noise.breakfast was lovely ,but on the whole the stay was ruined by lack of any sleep and we were tired all day sunday. dont wanna put people off a nice clean hotel,but if you get room 105 ask for a relocation.

Room Tip: not room 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

A group of 23 of us had Sunday Lunch at the Angel hotel today and it was excellent.

The staff were attentive and the food was excellent.

Nothing was too much trouble - the food was well presented and the choice was really good.

They were even happy to take away the beef that was beautifully pink for another diner who only liked beef well cooked - a nice touch as many restuarants wouldn't even offer to do this.

Well worth the visit.

As I said the staff were all great.

We didn't stay we just had lunch.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mobsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanne m, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We have visited Cardiff on a number of occasions as our daughter is at university in the city, so we have stayed at several local hotels. This is the hotel we now choose to stay at for several reasons. It's location is great, opposite the castle, close to shops and Restuarants. Yes the corridors are a bit tired looking but the rooms are modern, clean, comfortable and wifi is free! The other main reason that we use this hotel is the convenience of having a car park. We tend to leave the car in the car park and use the excellent local transport for all the local sights, (buses and river bus to Cardiff Bay).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonjoy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanne m, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I am glad you had a pleasant stay.

I have taken note of your comments with regards to the corridors, needless to say we have started an internal refurbisment project and the corridors will be included.

we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We were given a fantastic large family room that actually had two seperate rooms - one for the children and an adjoining one with a massive king size bed for us. The young girl that took our luggage up for us gave us extra teas and coffees and made us very welcome and we were just thrilled with the amount of space we had, as that's what we needed with the two kids. They were happy so we were happy too. There was a fridge in the room that was also very helpful and when we asked if it was ok to order a pizza delivery on one of the nights, that was also fine with the hotel, which I thought was a great attitude and with children made things a lot easier and really fun.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellieturner82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanne m, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback.

It is was great to read of your positive experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

One of the best, if not the best, locations in Cardiff, right opposite the castle and close to shops. The reception staff were excellent and the ground floor including bar and restaurant is fine, but first floor up needs updating. The bedrooms are tired, upholstery grubby, windows dirty and general 80's style of decor.
It's a spacious hotel and could be much improved but I suspect would be too costly.

Room Tip: The front with a castle view is pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFF549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanne m, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I have taken note of the comments with regards to the appearance of some parts of the hotel, needless to say we have started an internal refurbishment programme to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

On a positive note I was glad to hear you received good service from our reception team.

we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

I spent a night here en route to Exeter. The Angel is well located to the railway station, within easy walking distance. Nearby is Cardiff Castle and the beautiful Victorian arcades that lead onto the shopping precinct.
Reception staff at the Angel were attentive to my needs and provided friendly service. I ascended to my room on the second floor via the gorgeous marble staircase to the landing. The chandelier really creates the grand old lady feel of the Angel, complemented by the marble features. My room was in art deco style, clean tidy and easy to find. Breakfast service the next morning was efficient and there was plenty of choice. Only gripe was my window opened on to an inner courtyard where the kitchen fan hummed all night. As a light sleeper this was a minor problem. I would stay here again and recommend it, but if you are a light sleeper ensure your room is in a quieter location within this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LissFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 76 in Cardiff
1,163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 76 in Cardiff
1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#26 of 76 in Cardiff
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing