We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally good service & great location”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Lichfield, Staffs
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exceptionally good service & great location”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We had booked a weekend break at "The Angel" as a 60th birthday surprise & wanted everything to be perfect for our stay so we were concerned to read a negative review of the hotel that put doubts in our mind about staying at all. However, we need not have worried as everything was as we hoped. The location is ideal for just about everything especially The Castle, shopping & easy access to the bay. Our room was spotless & very comfy & the food good. Best ever though was the service- they could not do enough for us. All of the staff were good but Matt in particular was excellent.

Would recommend & stay again for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlet2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for providing your feedback.

We were delighted to hear you had enjoyable stay and hope you had a lovely birthday,.

We do hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    507
    345
    172
    126
See reviews for
201
615
65
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Wales vs Oz rugby weekend.
great reception/friendly/helpful
hotel well staffed
Clean comfy room
great shower
VG breakfast re food and service even though one of the last to eat.
Great location for everything

Room Tip: 3rd floor overlooking the car park is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 15Tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback with regards to your recent stay at the angel hotel.

The team were delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay.

We will look forward to welcoming you back in the futre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 Friday night in November. Hotel is in a very good location for the town. Lots of sights and shops in close proximity. The room I had was very clean and spacious with a very comfy bed. Parking is available onsite with limited spaces. Ncp is available around the corner. This was £18 for the night. I would use the hotel again. Thanks.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for your comments.

The team were please to hear you had an enjoyable stay at The Angel Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I got a Hotwire deal for $60/night on this hotel. That price was about right. Great location, large room, and the wifi worked. The location was perfect for sightseeing and taking the train. We could see the castle from our room. The hotel decor was elegant yet decayed and dusty. We had a tea and biscuits in the sitting room on a sofa with collapsed springs. The shower in our bathroom was defective and sprayed the entire bathroom in a way that was almost hilarious. My clothes got wet, but luckily the windows opened and the clothes dried on the sill. The breakfast buffet had many moderately disgusting choices, but we enjoyed talking with the friendly breakfast staff. All in all we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Expect a quirky old hotel with no updates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alvec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for providing your feedback. Your comments have been shared with the team to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

We do hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This is a nice looking hotel and staff are very pleasant. We had a premium room which was spacious and clean. There were tiny bits of wear in the bathroom, i.e. a few cracked tiles etc. Nothing too bad though. We had very lovely food and the chef was excellent. Lina the waitress was very helpful and friendly and a definite asset to them. There were a few problems that we had to sort out but they were dealt with quickly. The room we had booked had a castle view, this was a special request of ours,when we arrived we were not given one, we had a nasty view of out buildings, when we rang down they found us another room as booked but we had to get our luggage backed to reception to change the keys and back up again to the new room. This was very difficult for us as I have a disability. When we got in the room it should have had bathrobes, slippers and bottled water but none were there. We again had to request them, every day thereafter we had to ask for the water as they never left any. They should not offer premium rooms at extra cost when they do not include what is promised, it is not nice having to constantly ask for things. The meal we booked was the sparkle deal, this was a 3 course meal with sparkling wine, we had to explain each night we were there what we had booked as there seemed some confusion. Once explained the meal was really lovely. First night we were only offered either white or red wine, upon questioning it the second night they found a sparkling for us but only had rose, they should provide what they take your money for. On the third night they told us in the restaurant they were having problems with our bill as they were not sure we had booked the sparkle deal and to speak at reception, we did speak to them and they said the same. They suggested it should be ok and would check the next day with the booking office to see what we had booked, not very efficient and organised. The next morning it turned out to be ok, very definitely a lack of communication. We had a great time in Cardiff and did not let this experience spoil it for us, although these problems should not have arisen. We had booked this break as a special celebration for us and it meant too much for them to spoil it. We had filled in a complaint form for them asking for these points to be looked at for other guests, they have not bothered to respond to us yet!

Room Tip: Book a premium room WITH A CASTLE VIEW but check you have what you pay for in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddon1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I very much regret the frustration caused by the issues you have detailed.

I have reviewed your feedback with the team as it is always our priority to improve on any mistakes that have been made.

I do hope that you will consider staying at the Angel Hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is a superbly located hotel in city centre Cardiff and it looks great from the outside and up to the beautiful foyer & stairway. However the rooms are tiny with the double bed in our room pushed up to the wall. Its not very convenient having to crawl down the bed to get out of it as it is against the wall. ! Also the radiator would not adjust and was only luke warm at best and the electric kettle had to be put on the floor to work as the lead was not long enough to reach the table ! Quite dangerous. On the good side , the breakfast was great , plenty of choice, well cooked and all hot. Very nice.
Overall, reasonable value and acceptable but not brilliant.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room with a double bed that actually fits in !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YantoReddish2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

went down to the angel for a xmas shoping trip . the staff allways are polite and allways smilling . i have stayed here before and is in a very good for shoping and places to eat . the first room i had was a twin and overlooked the castse . i was a very nice room and was a bit noisy with the traffic outside . on the 2 night we were upgraded to a double and was very quiet with no noise from the traffic .whe had a 3 course and wine the second night and was exellent . the waiter serivce was also very good . the breakfast was also very good

Room Tip: the castle side is more noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meirion e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback with regards to your recent stay at the Angel Hotel.

I have shared your feedback with the team and they were delighted to hear you had an ejoyable time.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
1,204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#23 of 73 in Cardiff
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#14 of 73 in Cardiff
1,194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing