We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Angel Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Future Inn Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cardiff(Cardiff)
US$192
US$173
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Royal Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$244
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ibis Cardiff Gate(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$52
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,804)
Filter reviews
1,804 results
Traveller rating
436
600
415
203
150
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
600
415
203
150
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teagrand staircaseopposite the castlecardiff castlemillennium stadiumlovely hotelbit datedcity centreroom was largeweekend breakcar parkingprincipalitywelshconcert
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,426 - 1,431 of 1,804 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Angel is unfortunately a bit run down and past its best. The room we had was poorly heated and decorated but spacious. We only stayed one night so it was not really a problem.

The location of the hotel is great and was the reason we stayed there, I don't think we would want to stay for much longer though and the hotel is desperately crying out for a refurb'.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterdenevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I have taken note of your comments with regards to the decor and appearance of some parts of the hotel including the bedrooms. We have recently started an internal refurbishment programme to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed using a very reasonable deal - excellent room recently refurbished on 3rd floor overlooking Cardiff Castle - staff were excellent and very accommodating - good bottle of wine part of the deal but let down by the meal itself - overcooked - certainly not 4 star. However, the breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and well cooked. The hotel is ideally situated for the town centre and only 10 mins walk to the station/bus station.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room on the castle side
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyntons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Please accept my apologies that your experience of your evening meal was disappointing. I can assure you that feedback such as yours is not the norm here. I have shared your feedback with the Head Chef as it is always our priority to make improvements where necessary.

On a positive note, I'm glad you had an excellent breakfast and enjoyed our offering.

We do hope you will return and will look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We got this at an absolute bargain for just 25 pounds a night. The lobby and front of house of the hotel is delightful, with it being Christmas time the decorations were very warm and inviring and all the staff very helpful.
The rooms where clean, except we found a false eyelash attached to the telephone leading us to believe it hadnt been detail cleaned.
The beds were very comfortable and the decoration was tasteful even considering it wasnt one of the rooms to be refurbished yet, it did look a little worn.

Overall a great place at a cheap price, would go back and recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCarysx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay.

I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time.

I have taken note of your comments with regards to the housekeeping issues in your room. Your feedback has been shared with the team to ensure that improvement is made when checking rooms.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The Angel Hotel is in a fab location and the Staff are always very friendly and helpful. The Building itself it Old but the rooms are clean and tidy and welcoming.
Buses just outside to the Bay very convenient which are much cheaper than a taxi and run regularly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank annecockle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I was pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and always find the team very helpful and friendly.

We do hope you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Went to the Angel yesterday with a special offer voucher for champagne afternoon tea for two. They have refurbished the hotel and it looked much more attractive than when we last visited about two years ago. The afternoon tea was quite disappointing. Plenty of tea and coffee and the Eton mess was very tasty, but the sandwiches were a little disappointing. The ambience was somewhat lacking as there was no background music and it was very quiet there. The staff were quite helpful. The Xmas decorations were very good - especially the tree at the top of the stairs. Would i go again - probably not. The staff need to be a customer themselves to realise what they could improve on. As I said the hotel has improved but they need to put some heart into the actual eating experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 813PatC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Your comments have been shared with the team to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

We do hope you will return in the future so that we can have the opportunity to deliver a much more enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews