We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Room For New Year, Can't Fault the location though!”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing Room For New Year, Can't Fault the location though!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed at the Angel Hotel because of its location for New Year just gone. Now location wise, perfect! Very close to Winter Wonderland and the fireworks were literally viewable from the hotel. A walk to St Davids Shopping centre was less than 10 minutes. However, the actual room we stayed in has put me off this hotel completely and the lack of apology from staff the next morning was just unacceptable for customer service.

So, the actual reception and public areas of the hotel looked quite appealing. The car park is pretty small and it was packed (took one of the last spaces) but it was new year so might not be so bad generally. The room itself was not up to standard at all for a hotel. Though small, it was standard in the sense of: double bed, bath with shower over in modern bathroom, dresser, tea/coffee making facilities, towels, hairdryer etc. However, both bedside table lamps as well as the dressing table lamp were not working...now I get 1 might not work, but 3 lights all at once? I just think that this is a lack of attention to detail by hotel staff. Never had that happen at another hotel and I travel quite regularly! This was a nuisance when I wanted to get ready at the dresser which is where the haridryer was fitted, as I couldn't actually see myself in the mirror very well...yes there is a full length mirror near the door but I thought the dressing table is where I'm supposed to get ready?! Too bad the lights weren't working! On grabbing a towel from the supposedly heated towel rack I also found that the cellotape (yes cellotape!) which was keeping one of the pipes connect to the wall had come off. Now a cellotape botch up DIY job in a hotel bathroom? Appalling! Other than this, the actual bathroom was clean, nice and modern. On reentering the room after new year, the room was boiling! It was like a sauna. We tried the AC to no avail and I couldn't sleep in it, I have allergy prone skin and my skin was aggravated by the heat and even the open window wasn't helping, instead we could just hear the music from the local restaurants and bars. Definitely not a great night's sleep before our drive back to the midlands on the 1st!

Breakfast was great though and I cannot fault it really, range of full english and contintental breakfast foods, though the host wasn't too friendly towards us as he was to other guests (just seated us, but on seating a couple right next to us, he asked them how their new year had gone and had a good old chat before giving them champagne since they had missed it the night before!). Now isn't a host supposed to be friendly and welcoming to all?

Now I'm not usually one to complain, I admit I'm one of those who would usually just deal with it, but this hotel was just not satisfactory for the amount I paid. If one thing had gone wrong fair enough, but we had 3 issues. The room was too hot, half the lights in the room weren't working and the botch up job DIY in the bathroom all made me think come on now this isn't on! So I complained when checking out and what did I get? £10 for my parking. The reason for no part refund was that I had prepaid. Surely the hotel receives the money I pay to a third party (hotels.com) and could've been more gracious then saying sorry you prepaid we cannot refund you. I think the lack of customer service definitely made the experience that much worse. I would hope in future, the hotel would ensure all rooms are up to standard and all appliances and lights are working properly before checking in guests and that the staff would be more considerate and reasonable in their approach to guests!

If you go to Cardiff, it is a great city, but I advise against this hotel....We stayed at the Hilton on the night before and have to say I would choose that again just because of the comfort and hassle free stay! No issues at all. If the Angel hotel has resolved our complaints more graciously I may have been more forgiving, but in fact they weren't too bothered at all....hope this helps!

Room Tip: Rooms on the same side as the car park (i..e 204, 205, 206 and similar) allow you to view the firewo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selina777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    521
    354
    175
    129
See reviews for
208
638
65
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Spent the New year break at the Angel. Room was a little battered, food ranged from excellent at breakfast and Gala dinner to in edible at evening meals. Staff were not friendly, competent or helpful as some reviews suggested. Would not recommend or use it again. The Cornish Pixie

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Beryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Please accept my apologies that your experience at the hotel was so disappointing.

I would like to extend my apologies for the shortcomings you received and I am sorry if this spoitl your stay. I consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who genuinely care about our guests' comfort and enjoyment during their stay and I am frustrated that during your stay we were unable to either pre-empt or totally rectify the porblems faced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Angel Hotel is very conveniently situated in the centre of Cardiff and has it's own, reasonably priced, parking although space is limited. We booked through Travel Republic and paid six weeks before the visit but the staff were unable to find the payment and wanted us to pay again at both check-in and check-out. We had requested a non-smoking room but the first room we were given reeked of stale tobacco smoke. The second room was comfortable enough but the ration of tea bags and milk was very mean. We only used their restaurant for breakfast where the fare was a pretty average buffet. This hotel could be a lot better and needs to try harder.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Angel is unfortunately a bit run down and past its best. The room we had was poorly heated and decorated but spacious. We only stayed one night so it was not really a problem.

The location of the hotel is great and was the reason we stayed there, I don't think we would want to stay for much longer though and the hotel is desperately crying out for a refurb'.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterdenevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I have taken note of your comments with regards to the decor and appearance of some parts of the hotel including the bedrooms. We have recently started an internal refurbishment programme to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed using a very reasonable deal - excellent room recently refurbished on 3rd floor overlooking Cardiff Castle - staff were excellent and very accommodating - good bottle of wine part of the deal but let down by the meal itself - overcooked - certainly not 4 star. However, the breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and well cooked. The hotel is ideally situated for the town centre and only 10 mins walk to the station/bus station.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room on the castle side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyntons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Please accept my apologies that your experience of your evening meal was disappointing. I can assure you that feedback such as yours is not the norm here. I have shared your feedback with the Head Chef as it is always our priority to make improvements where necessary.

On a positive note, I'm glad you had an excellent breakfast and enjoyed our offering.

We do hope you will return and will look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We got this at an absolute bargain for just 25 pounds a night. The lobby and front of house of the hotel is delightful, with it being Christmas time the decorations were very warm and inviring and all the staff very helpful.
The rooms where clean, except we found a false eyelash attached to the telephone leading us to believe it hadnt been detail cleaned.
The beds were very comfortable and the decoration was tasteful even considering it wasnt one of the rooms to be refurbished yet, it did look a little worn.

Overall a great place at a cheap price, would go back and recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCarysx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay.

I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time.

I have taken note of your comments with regards to the housekeeping issues in your room. Your feedback has been shared with the team to ensure that improvement is made when checking rooms.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The Angel Hotel is in a fab location and the Staff are always very friendly and helpful. The Building itself it Old but the rooms are clean and tidy and welcoming.
Buses just outside to the Bay very convenient which are much cheaper than a taxi and run regularly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank annecockle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I was pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and always find the team very helpful and friendly.

We do hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
1,227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#22 of 74 in Cardiff
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
1,241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing