We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th bash”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Birthday weekend 13 people .stayed very good very old hotel .lovely place .next to rugby stadium .lovely food .Will go back .5min walk to castle and big city centre.shop till u drop.10 mins from cardiff bay .just enjoy

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sax1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I the team were pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and will return.

We will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,260 - 1,266 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just returned from a weekend in Cardiff staying at the Angel Hotel. It's a great central location, opposite the castle and near to the shops. The entrance lobby was very impressive, check in smooth and welcoming. However, once we got to the bedroom corridors we were sorely disappointed. Carpets on corridors threadbare, grubby doors and the overall impression of our room on entering was a slightly damp smell,very dim lighting and decor which had not been up dated in many many years. The bathroom floor tiles had multiple cracks as had the sink. We had a great view of the castle but the net curtains were grey and grubby looking. The beds themselves seemed clean and were comfortable.
On the plus side the reception staff were pleasant and extremely helpful. Breakfast was pretty good.
There are certainly great deals to be had with this hotel and if you simply want somewhere convenient to lay your head down then it's not too bad. But if you are looking for the whole "hotel experience" you might be disappointed once you got to your room. Having said that with a bit of investment this hotel could be amazing

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank skitortoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I have taken note of your comments and will share with the team to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

We do hope you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The Angel Hotel is now one of the Puma Hotel chains. It has recently been refurbished and although it has kept it's old charm and features it is fresh and modernised in parts. We needed an overnight stay after the theatre and this hotel was just right. We had one of the deals offered and it was excellent value for money. Comfortable, clean, friendly helpful staff, good food and good location opposite the Castle in Cardiff. Our room was spacious and had some nice extras like the complimentary welsh cakes from the Fabulous welshcakes shop down the Bay and two bottles of water. ( for visitors to Cardiff this was also a promotion for these delicious cakes and welsh attractions in the city) Our room overlooked the Castle. We requested an early meal (3 courses as part of our deal and a bottle of wine) and the Chef and waiters were very obliging. Good choice of food on the menu and nicely presented. I will certainly be recommending this Hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Our room 102 was on the first floor with view of castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justloveeatingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay, the team were friendly and helpful and you enjoyed the Welskcakes !

We do hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Being a Cardiff ex-pat I was looking forward to staying in Cardiff best known hotel. I have stayed in lots of Puma hotels but now the dear old Angel needs a little nip and tuck here and there to bring her up to date and back to top class. Frayed carpet, peeling paint, cramped and drab lifts and odd soft furnishings were a few of the let downs. The staff were as nice as all the Puma hotels so it would not stop me using them again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I have taken note of your comments with regards to the decor and appearance of some parts of the hotel, we have recently started an internal refurbishment programme to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

I do hope that you will consider staying at the Angel Hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Being a leisure card holder was the main reason for choosing the Angel hotel,I was a little apprehensive as some of the reviews have not been favourable.Iwas pleasantly surprised,the premium room was spacious modern and very clean,the only down side was that it was facing the rear of the hotel but it was very quiet.The staff were friendly and helpful and we had no complaints.One big plus was the on site parking unusual for a city centre hotel.And after a pleasant evening at the Millenium Centre it was good to return to this pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I was pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable stay, your feedback will be shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Attended the restaurant for a Christmas party. You had to queue for your main meal and as a vegetarian the staff kept sending me around in circles for the meal, with different people saying different things, and then behaving in a rude manner. When I finally received my meal it was appalling, It was supposedly a curry but the taste, texture and flavour were all terrible and looked like it had been taken out of a tin, the rice had absolutely no flavour. I am surprised that a chef would be willing to serve this to customers, it was not edible.
When ordering drinks at the bar the staff charged what they felt like. We ordered drinks at 9pm and the order came to a total of £7.20, for the exact same drinks at 11pm they charged £10,20. We could have thought this was a mistake but this was not the only time they did this.
For a hotel that used to be one of the best in Cardiff I was completely disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jones686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

There was good and sadly bad about our stay. Where to start, limited parking, lucky or unlucky got in to car park.There are spaces available sat/sun owned by another business, but who's are who's it's hard to tell. The unlucky ;part was because, we parked in the car park, and had damage done to the rear quarter of our car, reported it to reception. Let do a couple of goods, reception was ok, the entrant area is wonderful, the stairs and lighting. The breakfast staff and the food was good. Back to the bad, the lifts have no floor indication on the panel, the carpet on the third floor was thread bare outside the lifts and on the corridor stairs, and the chairs at the bottom of the main staircase were dirty. The room door card had to be re-programme after one day otherwise you could not get in to your room. The lounge bar staff kept disappearing in the day time, and on sat night, trying to get a drink was a challenge to say the least. Now to the room, air con made no different at all. the sash windows would not stay open, every step you took the floor creaked. One good thing in the room a very good shower. One last issue could you move the smokers point away from the door as trying to get in, you have push pass people having a smoke. With other hotels so close, these little issues could cost you some customers.

Room Tip: rooms on the castle side are next on of Cardiff's main roads around the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlidwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
1,278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: £48 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing