We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recent stay”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Hotel was excellent, very clean,staff very friendly,breakfast and wedding breakfast was excellent. Only down fall there is not a designated smoking area. ( it is outside the entrance to hotel) considering the hotel is beautiful and classy......I think it ruins the look to the general public....will defiantly stay again. Very soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jules S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and had a great time at the wedding.

I have taken note of comments with regards to the smoking area and will review your feedback with the team to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    503
    343
    172
    126
See reviews for
198
612
65
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dyffryn Ardudwy, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This must have been a lovely place to stay at one time. Its prime location make it an ideal choice. The accommodation is very tired, but bedrooms are adequate. Evening dining is not recommended, very small portions of poorly cooked food, long waiting times, and general lack of understanding of what is expected! Staff are very polite and courteous.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank bethanscriven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I very much regret the disappointment caused by the issues you have detailed.

It is clear that we did make some mistakes and I offer my sincerest apologies for the frustration this caused. It is never our intention for anythign to go wrong or for poor service of disappointing food to create a negetaive impression. I am sorry that this has been the case.

We do hope you will return so that we can have the opportunity to deliver a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My Sister and I had the pleasure of experiencing Champagne Afternoon Tea here in October 2013. We were the only ones in the Restaurant but that didn't worry us as we had plenty to chat about! We had a lovely selection of both sandwiches and cakes and the Champagne was delicious. The selection of teas was superb. The teas being served in a see-through pot (each) and we were also asked if we would like a refill. We didn't feel rushed, it was a very relaxing. In fact, the service by the young man who also doubled up as the barman, was exemplary. He was very friendly but professional. We have booked to go again in March. Looking forward to it already!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for posting your review.

The team were delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time and have rebooked.

we will look forward to welcoming you back in March.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The Hotel is excellently placed, very central, right by the Millennium Stadium and outside Cardiff Castle. The staff are very friendly and helpful, but the decor and standard of fixtures and fittings is very poor. Carpets are threadbare and fraying, my room was right on the front beside the main road. It was very noisy, I was there three nights for a Conference, so I had to go and buy earplugs to be able to sleep as there is no double glazing or sound deadening. Food was ok and costs were reasonable, but you would not wish to pay more for this standard. The communal rooms were either red hot or freezing cold, there seemed to be nothing between.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Please accept my apologies - it is never our intention for guests to leave unhappy and I gret that we caused disappointment with the variety of examples you have shared.

I have taken note of your comments with regards to the decor and appearance of some parts of the hotel, needless to say we have started an internal refurbishment programme to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

Thank you for all your comments and I offer my sincere apologies once again. I assure you of my commitment to continuous improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Headington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

13 of us stayed for the weekend to help a friend celebrate a 50th birthday. Lovely hotel with very friendly staff, close to the Castle and major shopping centres. Food was very good and the room was clean and comfortable.
Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I was delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay and the 'Birthday Bash' went well.

Your feedback will be shared with the team.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Birthday weekend 13 people .stayed very good very old hotel .lovely place .next to rugby stadium .lovely food .Will go back .5min walk to castle and big city centre.shop till u drop.10 mins from cardiff bay .just enjoy

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sax1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I the team were pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and will return.

We will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greater london
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend in Cardiff staying at the Angel Hotel. It's a great central location, opposite the castle and near to the shops. The entrance lobby was very impressive, check in smooth and welcoming. However, once we got to the bedroom corridors we were sorely disappointed. Carpets on corridors threadbare, grubby doors and the overall impression of our room on entering was a slightly damp smell,very dim lighting and decor which had not been up dated in many many years. The bathroom floor tiles had multiple cracks as had the sink. We had a great view of the castle but the net curtains were grey and grubby looking. The beds themselves seemed clean and were comfortable.
On the plus side the reception staff were pleasant and extremely helpful. Breakfast was pretty good.
There are certainly great deals to be had with this hotel and if you simply want somewhere convenient to lay your head down then it's not too bad. But if you are looking for the whole "hotel experience" you might be disappointed once you got to your room. Having said that with a bit of investment this hotel could be amazing

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank skitortoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I have taken note of your comments and will share with the team to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

We do hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
1,199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#22 of 73 in Cardiff
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,079 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#14 of 73 in Cardiff
1,182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing