We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Polite staff but obviously need training ! We arrived on saturday afternoon for rugby that evening .hotel agreed to swap evening meal for lunch which was kind but then things went down hill .
soup took 40 mins to arrive with a bread roll, no butter or knapkin, before I had time to taste my soup the steak arrived and was placed on the table to go cold while I ate my starter.i complained to the member of staff who introduced himself as operations manager and sorted the problem.
the room was ok if not dated but no hot water at all even after leaving the bath and sink taps running for 20 mins.
breakfast food was discusting ! Cold fried and stale dumped in the corner of the room on a table that was supposed to be a hot trolly .I have to say that the food served in the hospitality box at cardiff arms park was far susperior .
I would not use this hotel or recommend it and as a four star it's a joke .there are far better hotels in cardiff I have stayed at .

Room Tip: Choose another hotel preferably one of the newer ones around the city centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickeyflyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for providing your feedback. I very much regret the disappointment caused by the issues you have detailed.

Your comments will be investigated individually with the team to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,268 - 1,274 of 1,672 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

We spent Valentines evening there. The condition of our bedroom was terrible: lots of dirty marks on the wall, kettle didn't work, air conditioner didn't work, camomile tea in the bedroom are you kidding me? Very old hardly working hairdryer. Everywhere huge amount of dust, smelly bedroom destroyed furnitures with sticky feeling. Fortunately, materac protector was clean otherwise we would leave. Shocking stage of bathroom, dirty tiles, very old anx destroyed, noisy doors, amount of dust on pipes was HUGE!! I hated it. However, was nicely surprised by breakfast ( no ham for continental one ). good luck for whoever would like to stay there ;-(

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilipink13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We booked into The Angel, at the last minute because we needed to be in Newport early the following morning and wanted to try and beat the weather! No joy on that front!
Lina checked us in and was very nice indeed, arranging for an extra duvet for our six month old son.
Mike in the restaurant and Karen on Reception both treated us like royalty in the morning, sorting out a high chair, and offering us a larger table nothing was too much trouble, even looking after little Freddy whilst I packed the car. Thank you so much, we will return for the staff, and the room was great too! Great location directly opposite the Millennieum Stadium and right in the centre of town.
A great find as far as we are concerned. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I was delighted to hear you had a great stay. Your feedback will be shared with the team.

We will look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Angel hotel in Cardiff is a old hotel that is a bit outdated. Although the hotel has recently been refurbished and painted inside, the equipment in room have not been replaced. Trouser press and irons are listed in each room as extra's but I have stayed there 5 times now since October 2013 on business and none of these have worked in either room. The heating/air con is not very good as this barley works also,
Staff however are very friendly and service is excellent.

Room Tip: Don't have a room on castle street side, this is noisy with traffic and there is a night club th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merseyferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We have started an internal refurbishment programme to ensure improvements are made where necessary which includes upgrading the appliances in the rooms.

Iron and boards are available upon request, I am sorry if you were mislead by any commentary and will have this reviewed immediately. I have taken note of your comments with regards to the maintenance issues in your room, I have requested our Maintenance Manager to address the issues immediately.

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your concerns. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Booked this hotel quite last minute due to it's location and proximity to Cardiff Arms Park. Lovely welcome , very friendly team - we arrived late evening but were checked in promptly and efficiently. Staff answered questions about parking provision and were very helpful

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay at the Angel Hotel. I was pleased to hear the team were able to answer all questions with regards to the car park. Your feedback has been shared with the team.

We do hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

One of Cardiff's famous landmarks which is located ideally for Shopping, Castle, Concerts, Museum and Parklands. Hotel itself is looking a bit jaded in parts but there are often offers available on the rooms so the price makes up for that.
Staff were friendly and facilities fine for a short stay - no complaints.

Room Tip: Gat a room on the Castle side - low numbers for this i.e. 201 - 215 If you require complete silence...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay. I was glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay.

We do hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed on 7/2/14 and as we arrived 3 hours early,thinking we could leave our bags there,we were able to check in straight away!! When we arrived at the room,we were pleased to be upgraded to a Superior room for no extra charge and the room was fab,clean and vary spacious!!
The evening meal was stunning and the waiter was very attentive to our needs. A lovely breakfast and a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed!! Would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxyrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I was pleased to hear you had any enjoyable stay and will be returning.

We will look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
1,284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,250 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: £47 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing