We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated by just what we needed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #27 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dated by just what we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Angel earlier this month. The hotel is date but definitely has a bit of character and vintage to it.
There were few things not quiet how one wants but it was clean, central and good value for money. Will come back again depending on the price.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I was pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We are currently completing an internal refurbishment programme to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

We do hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    469
    326
    165
    122
See reviews for
186
581
65
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights Thursday to Sunday last week. First room (310) was unacceptable, curtains completely fraded, room in need of serious upgrading. Straight to reception to ask for another room (316), only slightly better, broken tile in bathroom, damaged headboard. Advertised as 4 star and charged £382 for three nights, not worth the money! Might add that other guest were put in first room, even though I had already pointed out unacceptability, not impressed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thankyou for your feedback. I have taken note of your comments and will review them in detail to help us further improve the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here for a rugby weekend, and for the proximity to the stadium thus hotel could not be better. The hotel it's self has seen better days the rooms are small and could do with some upgrading. But to be fair for the type of weekend we were there for it served the purpose. Room prices were raised for this particular weekend which we felt was unjust and unfair.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I have taken note of your comments and will review them with the team to ensure improvements are made where necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here as was told there was no room at the inn ,ie Holiday Inn due to function (tried to extend my stay) .I have stayed at the hotel before and for the location the price is very good.I think it is now part of the Puma chain of hotels .The chain needs to put some money into the place.The entrance hall is very grand much like going into a small stately home , but when you get past the doors into the corridors it rapidly goes downhill .I booked a standard room but was even disappointed at that as room was going back at least 30 years , mis matched furniture , tiny bathroom formica table .I needed a good internet signal and this room at back of hotel definately did not have a signal . Got allocated a room at from side and this was excellent , so a bot of work needs to be done on WIFI. What i did no realize was that the bus stop was outside my windows and double glazing did not stop sound , it did prove that Buses did run quite late and started early .Did not have anything to eat in hotel but loads of restaurants about so no problem .The plus points are very good location opposite the Castle and price of rooms , downside is it needs money spending on it to bring it up to Puma hotel standards , but then prices will probably rise .

Room Tip: ask for upgraded room away from Main high street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmar2uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Angel hotel for 2 nights. Hotel is centrally located, close to the castle and within easy walking on shops and restaurants. We stayed in a basic room, which has older furnishings and is in need of a bit of updating. The premium rooms have been updated and have a more modern design. We stayed over a weekend, and could hear music from the nearby bar/club in our 3rd floor room, so ask for a room on a higher floor if you are a light sleeper.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank nj_traveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I have taken note of your comments to ensure improvements are made where necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Lovely interesting hotel, helpful friendly staff, very clean throughout and a pleasure to stay in such an old character 'mansion' Only draw-back was the English breakfast - not much choice and very tepid. The trays were covered with lids and probably this made the contents cool - the fried eggs were hard!! A closer eye on replenishment would not go amiss. Will definitely stay again but room only.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Castle are subject to noise from the Police/fire engines - would suggest one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RED-DRAGON-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. Please accept my apologies that your experience at breakfast was disappointing. I have reviewed your feedback with the breakfast manager as it is always our priority to improve on any mistakes that have been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

The good: very friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is centrally situated, car parking available for £10 per night, bags of character as it's a very old building. We were on the third floor with our window facing the castle. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and a very reasonable selection. Great value for the price we paid. Shower powerful and the room well equipped with iron, trouser press and tea and coffee tray.
The not so good: some of the decor is tired looking and in need of a some tlc. The striking of the clock on the hour might be a problem for some, in which case ask for a room facing the other way.
Verdict: we would stay here again in preference to one of the modern hotel chains.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you may want to have a room that doesn't face Cardiff Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaWsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience. I have taken note of your comments with regards to the decor and appearance of some parts of the hotel, we have recently started an internal refurbishment programme to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

We do hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#18 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#14 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing