We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location!”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing location!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

This place was absolutely fabulously! Everything about the hotel was amazing! We had a view of the castle from our room, that staff when above and beyond, and everything was clean and just beautiful! We would stay there again and again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShayDuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for posting such a fantastic review.

I was delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    508
    346
    173
    126
See reviews for
202
617
65
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had the £99 deal.

Got upgraded to a suite, which was 2 rooms and large bathroom with bathrobes. Lovely comfy bed but it was quite nosy to sleep as being middle of town. But I suppose that would be in any other hotel in town. And it was very handy to walk everywhere so cant really moan:)

Breakfast was lovely as well. Wouldn't book again for the restaurant, food was ok but I have a feeling I could get better value/taste in other places.

But overall we enjoyed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KairitB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I was pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. I have taken note of your comments with regards to the restaurant, we are currently reviewing our offering to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

We do hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014



Room - stayed in 131 - dusty, floor dirty, window old and drafty, paint peeling, wallpaper ripped, dirty net at window, marks on cupboards, ancient hairdryer

BREAKFAST - ordered room service - came late and missing fruit that I ordered

Didn't complain as I arrived very late and was simply too tired

Receptionist lady was very friendly and competent however
Won't stay again

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ella f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I very much regret the disappointment caused by the issues you have detailed.

I have taken note of your comments with regards to the appearance of some parts of the your room, needless to say we have started an internal refurbishment programme to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I have known the Angel hotel since I was a child, but haven't been there for about 20 years, but
my niece was forty recently, and we saw an offer on living social for afternoon tea there, so decided to try it. I was a little put off with some of the trip advisor reports, but we were very pleased with the tea, when we went there. There were 14 of us, and there were plenty of sandwiches and cakes to choose from. The sandwiches were varied and the cakes were also
acceptable ie chocolate ,carrot and palmiers with cream and strawberries on them. There was also a scone with jam and cream.We were offered a choice of tea or coffee, and the offer we had ,also came with a glass of prosecco. The offer worked out at about £7 each. I do not know how much it is normally. The service in fairness was very good considering we were 14 ,We ,ate in the main dining room , looking out to the castle side . The Angel is a lovely building of character, and years ago , was one of the best hotels in Cardiff. Obviously , I am only commenting on our tea, as I haven't stayed there. We all enjoyed what we had, and the offer made the price unbeatable.
,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolpavlova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback.

I was pleased the team looked after your party and you all enjoyed our Afternoon Tea offering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Excellent standard for a short break, helpful staff, superbly positioned for access to the centre of Cardiff, and less than 10 min from the station.
With a view of the castle to boot!
I'd use them again, difficult to fault.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had booked a short break on the Puma website and because it is not the best we had to book two seperate nights to get the special "Sparkle Deal " so some confusion as to what night we had paid up for front before arrival and which we had to pay on departure. Why you can't book two nights together I don't know. We checked in ok and asked whether we would like a morning paper and said yes please. The corridor to the room had frayed and torn carpet and thought does not look good. Room 218 ok but tired and overlooked Cardiff Castle. Radiator in room not working properly so told reception and said they would fix.Bathroom with a distinct unpleasant smell and mould on grout on tiles- again needs a refurb. On going to dinner we looked at the menu outside restaurant and decided what we might like to eat and menu ok. Waited to get served at bar for pre dinner drink as only one young barman on duty who also had to cover restaurant. Went into dinner and given menu which was totally different to menu displayed but still good.Service slow but choice and food good, hot and and well presented. On returning to room radiator still not functioning so they brought a fan heater but after 5 mins this packed up. Back to reception and they brought a convector heater which took chill off room. What else can happen! On going to breakfast asked for newspaper- not available-not put on list will do for next day.Cereals and fruits etc but some had run out and not replaced at only 8.30 and serve till 10am.Fried Breakfast buffet in tins on heaters but no scrambled egg and only warm but ok .Lovely day around castle and Cardiff. On going for drink before dinner no menu shown outside restaurant tonight so after a drink went and chose our meal and decided on sweet potato soup but after it arrived we pondered what it was and decided it was tomato so asked the waiter who didnt know so she would ask the chef and yes he did not know the difference between a tomato and sweet potato - amazing!! and tomato was on the menu the night before as were many of the items of choice but still a good selection of dishes and good food. Next morning off we go to breakfast and ask at reception for our newspaper - yet again sorry but not ordered- is it that difficult - so took a complimentary one from reception which I would have been happy with the prevoius day. I would not want to pay full price but on a deal ok but not as good as other Puma hotels we have stayed at.Overall fun but needs problems sorting out as not just a comedy of errors but needs stronger management in all departments. Call for John Cleese and Manuel !!

Room Tip: Noisy on Castle side as busy road with police cars and ambulances going by with sirens on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnboy1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to highlight your concerns.

I very much regret the disappointment caused by the issues you have detailed.

I have taken all your comments most seriously and will review them individually with the appropriate heads of departments to ensure improvements are made where necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Angel earlier this month. The hotel is date but definitely has a bit of character and vintage to it.
There were few things not quiet how one wants but it was clean, central and good value for money. Will come back again depending on the price.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I was pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We are currently completing an internal refurbishment programme to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

We do hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
1,206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#24 of 73 in Cardiff
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,091 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#14 of 73 in Cardiff
1,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing