We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Angel Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Future Inn Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cardiff(Cardiff)
US$192
US$173
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$168
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Royal Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$152
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$244
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ibis Cardiff Gate(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$52
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,804)
Filter reviews
1,804 results
Traveller rating
436
600
415
203
150
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
600
415
203
150
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teagrand staircaseopposite the castlecardiff castlemillennium stadiumlovely hotelbit datedcity centreroom was largeweekend breakcar parkingprincipalitywelshconcert
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,337 - 1,342 of 1,804 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel is well located opposite Cardiff Castle and was easy to find. On arrival the greeting from reception staff was friendly and inviting. The main foyer and reception hall with staircase is a very impressive entrance to the upper levels, however on leaving this room for the corridor to the rooms the place immediately started looking quite shabby.

The room was serviceable, with comfortable bed and hot bath/ shower. The decor was very tired and in need of renovation. I was on the southern side of the north wing, facing over the car park. There was quite a bit of noise from outside which prevented me opening the window. It was the sort of room that's acceptable for business stop over but I wouldn't want to come to this hotel for a romantic break. I would classify the room as 2* maybe low 3*, not the indicated 4* rating given.

The breakfast was included in the room price and was a full English buffet spread. There was a large selection of well cooked food. Of particular note - the sausages were of much higher quality than most buffet breakfasts, which was a pleasant surprise. The window facing tables also have a great view of the castle and park.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I have taken note of your comments with regards to the appearance and decor of some parts of the hotel. We have recently started an internal refurbishment programme to ensure improvements are made where necessary, needless to say some rooms have been highlighted as a priority.

We do hope you will return so that we can have the opportunity to deliver a much more enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Lovely hotel, a little tired in places but overall i was happy with my stay..great location and the breakfast was very good with a nice selection of hot and cold food..friendly and helpful staff, i would def stay here again and recommend it to friends and family

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. The team were pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and will be returning.

We will look forward to welcoming you back !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Angel Hotel is in a great position for a city break. The staff are both efficient and friendly. All rooms are different and our original was very ideosyncratic. We changed to a lovely light room at the front of the hotel and were very happy. The food at both dinner and breakfast was of a super quality and variety.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Poll187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for providing your feedback which has been shared with the team.

We were pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and do hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The receptionists welcome was very good and dealing with problems with my room later.
The journey to my room took me via the grand staircase that looks like it had be renovated, the mirrored doors leading to the castle facing bed rooms was the last you would see of any refurbishment. The first room was cleanish but never warmed up, the second room was smaller but still not very clean but at least warmer, although I did wake up cold.

This is or was a 4star hotel, it is very very dated and need a closure and full refit, however if the price is only 55 pounds room only then I suspect you can forgive the decor, but you cannot for give the poor housekeeping standards the rooms should be clean!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank ABRDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for highlighting your concerns.

Your feedback will be reviewed with the appropiate heads of departments to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Hotel was in a good location for getting to see city and Cardiff Bay area but noisy at night due to being on main road. Room comfortable but very hot had to have fan on all night not able to open windows due to noisy road and old sash type windows and secondary glazing. Restaurant average one step up from chain type restaurants, expected better quality of food. Service good but too many staff hovering around especially at breakfast in order to get people in and out - rather conveyor belt feeling not relaxing at all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews