We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely afternoon tea”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 21 June 2014

bought a voucher for 4 off Living Social for afternoon tea with a glass of prosecco, The tea was superb with a choice of 3 sandwich fillings, and the little cakes.,eclairs. carrot cake and a coffee mouse cake were delicious. The scones were probably the nicest scones I have tasted in a long time served with clotted cream and jam. There was a choice of English breakfast tea or Earl Grey. The waitress and waiter were lovely and and friendly, The only negative is that the Dining Room is a bit shabby and could do with a makeover, But defintely the tea is a a must !!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MidWakesWelshlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time. The team were pleased to hear your recognition for their service.

we do hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,171 - 1,177 of 1,702 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

Love this hotel. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was huge and clean. It was opposite the castle and close to everything including the stadium. The breakfast was great a big variety of hot and cold foods. We will be going there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for the fantastic feedback !!

The team are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Using a Living Social voucher I took my daughter here for Afternoon Tea a couple of days ago. Jackie was our server and was so nice and helpful and made us feel great. We were served a glass of Prosecco and then our food arrived and looked stunning. There was one round of sandwiches each in 4 different fillings, 3 delicious looking cakes each and 2 lovely warm scones with jam and cream. My daughter chose coffee, I opted for tea and we were brought a pot of each and later Jackie brought us hot water for topping up. We were told we could have more tea and coffee and to just ask but the pots were quite substantial as was the food and we were flagging a little towards the end but valiantly carried on as everything was delicious. I paid £17 for the voucher for a tea for two but on the board outside it was only £12.50 per person for the meal anyway so don't wait for a deal just pop in and order one - you wont be sorry.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

Jackie was delighted to hear your recognition for her service.

We do hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here on business this June. I was surprised at how poor the room service food was (can only assume the restaurant food is the same quality). Pizza was inedible so I left it (giant chunks of garlic and more onions than I could count!) and the pudding wasn't worth the money. No toiletries in the bathroom (e.g. hand soap etc), not very clean and very old decor. Breakfast buffet was minimal with very poor selection and dirty crockery. Will not be staying here again - will be at the Holiday Inn across the rd - far better!!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room - they seem to be bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hcdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

I very much regret the disappointment caused by the issues you have detailed.

I have taken note of your comments and will review them individually with the team to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

Thank you for highlighting your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

When booking our room, we were asked if we would like a quiet room. Naturally we said yes. Well if the room we stayed in was what you call 'quiet' then I pity people staying in the 'not so quiet' rooms. We had to leave our room and find a shop selling earplugs or we'd have been awake the entire night. As for the hotel itself, the entrance is very beautiful but I'm afraid that's about it. The lifts very so narrow that squeezing our luggage into them was a nightmare. Our twin room was very small also with no place to put our cases. The net curtains were full of dirty brown marks and the windowsill looked like it hadn't been painted since the place was built. Definitely won't stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Angel hotel is nestled between Cardiff Castle and the Millennium Stadium two cultural icons of Wales but is not out of place as it has been around since the 16th Century. There are newer, bigger brand hotels to choose from but if you’re after charm, atmosphere and good old fashion service then look no further.
My first point of contact was Daniel Reid Operations Manager who answered my e-mails and questions promptly, professional and friendly. This vein carried on to reception where at 15.30 our room was not ready, Lina even though coming to the end of her shift endeavoured to find a room for us and we were given a upgrade to room 224 very good service.
The room allocated was actually a suite with the obligatory robes two televisions, fridge, and safe. There was plenty of natural light and an added bonus was the delicious welshcakes. The bed was comfortable but as I like the windows open from 6am there must be bins nearby as they are constantly being filled and it was quite noisy. The bathroom as expected was spacious I found it odd the only soap dispenser by the bath was about four foot on the wall ideal for showering but not for relaxing in the bath.
The evening meal was exquisite we had a three course meal for £23.00 Andre the Chef is to be complimented the menu was varied and presentation and taste was first class. Jackie who served us was approachable, gregarious and professional a credit to the hotel. I enquired if there was a cheese board selection and Jackie sorted it out with the Chef superb service. The breakfast in the morning was fresh, hot and always replenished. All the staff I encountered came across genuinely happy to help including Tereza at the bar and Dave and Karen on the final days reception. All I can say if you’re in Cardiff check this hotel out.
Yes a first class hotel with staff to match.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank postypaulh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Feedback such as yours will help us tremendously.

We do hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is very centrally located in Cardiff! It's across the street from Cardiff Castle and just down the street from the stadium, which we had a lovely tour of! There is plenty of shopping in the area and restaurants! The hotel is a great value for the money and I enjoyed my stay there! The staff was very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable time.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
1,303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: £47 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing