We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location but strictly for one night only!”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The location of this hotel is the best thing about it. Very central, a few minutes from Millenium Stadium and 10 minutes walk from Cardiff Central station. The room rates reflect the location rather than what you can expect from the hotel.
Money has been spent in keeping the foyer looking good - but that is where it stops. We were in room 117 - small, poky double room, grey net curtains, shower curtain half on half off, central heating on in July and no way of turning it off, shower gell in container on wall butno other complementary toiletries. I would not have stayed for any more than one night.
The decor in the rest of the hotel is shabby and in desperate need of a revamp and lick of paint.
The evening meal was uninspiring to say
the least and expensive for what was served up. There is certainly no chef working in the kitchen. The waiter however had a wonderful sense of humour and tried his best to make our visit to the restaurant a pleasant
experience. Likewise the breakfast was mediocre at best, plenty of staff but a bit chaotic and unorganised, and the people on the table next to us told off for sitting down without checking in first!
On checkout other people were complaining about the service.
The hotel need to up their game if they are going to charge as if they are an upmarket hotel. They do not deliver a good enough service.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeannette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,188 - 1,194 of 1,742 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned from a weekend at the Angel. Room was very dark only had a small window, it smelt quite musty. Bathroom also had a small window blind wouldn't go up or down! I struggled to do my hair as light was so poor. Air con was ok but a little smelly not sure why. Breakfast was also a disappointment eggs swimming in oil, mushrooms had a strange taste, had to ask for food that had run out. After paying £300 for a 2 night stay in a so called 4 star hotel we will not be staying again !!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sueberesford84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My friends and I attended for afternoon tea today. They had a wonderful array of sandwiches and 3 different types of cake and a scone each. I am gluten intolerant and requested a gluten free meal. I had toasted sandwiches as I was told the bread was only nice toasted. I had a fruit juice glass of fresh fruit which was mostly tinned grapefruit ( probably left over from breakfast) and 2 small disgusting chocolate brownies. To say that I was disappointed is the understatement of the year. I have been to other venues where the gluten free afternoon tea has been wonderful. I would definitely not recommend the AaNgel hOtel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 88eeyore58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I had booked an afternoon tea for 29 people as a leaving "do" for a co-worker, I was able to get this at a deal price and it included prossecco, hot drinks and sandwiches and cakes.
We were given a room to ourselves with a very large oval table so that meant we could all see each other.
The drinks and food were very good and the service was excellent and all in all far surpassed what we expected.
Thank you staff at the hotel for making it a really lovely experience!
We will visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Merchpencaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time.

The team were pleased to hear your recognition of their service.

we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Note: I didn't stay overnight here (I stayed at the Marriott up the road) but drove in each day for a 4 day course

The staff are exceptionally friendly and go out of their way to help, BUT.....

I am disabled, and for FOUR days running I was promised a coned off parking space (in the very small hotel car park). I didn't get my car parking space ONCE. The disabled spaces were always full - never once with a car with a Blue Badge, so the hotel is evidently not managing the car park correctly.

I blame the organisers of the course, but when we had a two hour exam on the last afternoon (this course cost me c.£2k when travel and accommodation costs were added in), it was incredibly noisy because of attendees leaving another huge conference - for some reason there was NO "Do Not Disturb - Exam in Progress" sign put up on our conference room door. (I passed the exam, but the question I had the lowest marks on, was the one I answered when it was noisiest - go figure.....)

Room Tip: I didn't stay overnight in this hotel (I stayed up the road at the Marriott)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank AlexRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I am sorry a space was not reserved for yourself in the car park, clearly additional signage is required to ensure guests park in the correct spaces.

I have taken note of your comments with regards to additional signage required when exams are taking place and have instructed our events office to make improvements where necessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I was given a room which was adjacent to the main road running down the side of the building. The noise from the street was unbearable and caused disturbed sleep. This was in April 2014.
I discussed with the duty manger in the morning and she was very understanding but said as it was a listed building there was nothing which could be done.I refuted this saying the minimum would be soundproof curtains or the maximum was double or triple glazing with out affecting listing business status. She said she would get the hotel manager to ring me. This never happened. I rang the hotel about one month later and left a message for the manager to ring back. She didn't.
I expected someone senior within the organisation to take an interest in their guest comments. The fact that the hotel failed to respond to me shows a lack of customer relationship management and directors of the hotel chain should ask the question 'what is going on' in their oganisation!

Room Tip: stay away from a street location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for one night on a special deal which included breakfast,a 3 course meal with a bottle of wine for 99 pounds happy days we thought. First of all the rooms are nothing like the ones on the web site,there very dated and grubby.the wine tasted like cooking wine in fact I would not cook with it!! And the food ! We'll just say that the mc Donald's we went to get was a far better meal than the tasteless plate of rubbish that they served me and my wife

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
1,320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#12 of 74 in Cardiff
1,549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#23 of 74 in Cardiff
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: £51 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Easy Market Spa, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing