We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Angel Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$143
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Future Inn Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$209
US$145
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$238
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$194
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Cardiff(Cardiff)
US$191
US$172
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Tanes Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$118
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$160
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,798)
Filter reviews
1,798 results
Traveller rating
432
598
415
203
150
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
598
415
203
150
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teagrand staircaseopposite the castlecardiff castlemillennium stadiumlovely hotelbit datedcity centreroom was largeweekend breakcar parkingprincipalitywelshconcert
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,234 - 1,239 of 1,798 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here for a Graduation. Little dated, but nice enough, room was comfortable.

No qualms with the place, friendly staff and price was reasonable.

Pleased but if you want a bit more I'd recommend elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I was pleased to hear you found the team friendly and do hope you will consider staying at the hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Angel Hotel has a grand foyer with a beautiful staircase.The room was comfortable and clean, but no air conditioning in the height of summer made it was hot at night. Also no toiletries! No shower cap, shampoo only liquid soap in a dispenser you get in public loos. Not the best.
Breakfast. The staff were very efficient and cheerful. They were let down by the poor quality sausages and bacon. Nice fresh fruit and a good cup of tea. So, yes would go again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 868valerie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We do provide shampoo in all bedrooms, I am sorry if this was not available throughout your stay.

On a positive note I was pleased to hear the breakfast team were cheerful and efficient and that you will be returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just stayed here for two nights. Nephew's Graduation. Had 7 rooms in total. Walking distance from where the Graduation took place. Large hotel on a corner. I always try to do fair reviews, will start with,
The Positives - Great Location, opposite the Castle.
Pleasant staff on reception. All the staff were helpful.
We had upgraded our room,as we changed our booking from one to two nights and that was what was available without having to change rooms. Really glad we did as it meant we were on the third/top floor and therefore was a lot quieter. Could still hear the traffic but not as noisy for us as family on first and second floors.It was also quite a big room with a small hallway. Dressing Gowns and slippers. No toiletries to speak of,just soap in a dispenser and same in shower.had taken shampoo so we were ok.
Foyer and Stairs very nice on entry.
We booked through booking.com cost us £149.00 plus parking £20 for the two nights.
We had food on first evening which was very nice and not too expensive.
Breakfast was nice. Staff mostly very nice.
Negatives - Our ensuite was in need of some work. Bath had chips in it and around the shower tap it was really brown and not very nice. My husband mentioned it needed a really good clean. They did send someone up fairly quickly ,who gave it a good going over and it looked so much better. Bedroom wall had a damp/ marked section which spoiled it but otherwise not too bad.
Generally hotel needs painting, corridors a bit shabby as were some of the carpets. Looks as if they have made a start on the lounge at least.
The lower bedrooms, most of the family didn't get a good nights sleep. Traffic noise being the main problem, one side is on the main road. Some rooms had double glazing which helped a bit. One of the twin rooms was a really good size but the standard doubles are quite small.
The prices for the rooms varied as to who they had been booked through. Average was about £50+. Dearest was our daughter's room booked through a booking firm,£87 was booked and confirmed as a double room with single occupancy when she booked in was told that the booking firm had booked a single room. So disappointed with that but will see what booking firm have to say about it.
On the second morning went down for breakfast about 9.30am Had obviously been really busy as they were busy filling the food trays etc. had to wait a bit for bread/glasses/juice/cooked food etc. when the glasses came they were really hot and I mentioned that , light heartedly and got a stern remark that they had been so very busy,as instead of having just the over night guests of 180 ish they had had 260 , as guests had had friends join them. Rather surprised when the hotel was full that this was allowed , very nice for the guests to be able to do this but what about the other paying guests?
When we ate in the lounge the first night, they seemed under staffed. They weren't overly busy at this time but we had long waits at the bar. We had had some tea and coffee then decided to stay and eat there. When the food was brought,nothing was taken away,so table got full. Had to ask waiter to take some things, he took a couple and the left it. So when we had another drink we ended up clearing the table.
Room doors are the heavy type and people just let them slam, so a few of our family got woken in the night.
Parking can be an issue,as car park not very big. We were fortunate that we managed to get parked ok,only just but it made the stay so much easier and £10 a day was a good price.

I realise you get what you pay for but feel they need to upgrade parts of the hotel.Because of the great location we would stay again.

Room Tip: I would certainly say book a top floor room to have less noisy.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your concerns.

Please accept my apologies that your experience in our hotel bar was so disappointing. I can assure you that feedback such as yours is not the norm here. I have reviewed your feedback with the Operations Manager as clearly further training is required.

Your feedback is being taken most seriously and the issues you have raised are being fully reviewed to ensure that any appropriate action to improve is taken.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Firstly we arrived early, so checked and left our luggage to come back later to claim our rooms.....our original rooms were changed on return, from what we'd originally been allocated to ones next to the kitchen extractor fans...I'm still listening to them as I type having been moved along one room after complaining .....I then enquired about the fitness facilities of which they state...there are....it appears that they are three streets away and they do not open until 9am....breakfast in the hotel is 7-10 and checkout is 11.am...mmmm...I'll have to be pretty fit to make use of this facility

Room Tip: Use trivago and you'll get a room looking at the extractor fans!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chrisweathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We do not advertise in our collateral that we have leisure facilities on site. However we do have a local gym that our guests able to use which is open from 8am. I am sorry if you have been misled by any commentary and will review this immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Position of the hotel was ideal to see Cardiff. Very central opposite the Castle and very accessible from both road (motorway) or via train station (a 5 to 10min walk). Welcoming hotel with a very reasonable rate. I had a twin room that was very comfortable and large along with a spacious bathroom. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank citylass17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for recommending the hotel.

I do hope you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews