We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice staff but poor attention to detail and food...”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I think the lengthy title of this review sums it up pretty well, but I'll elaborate a bit.

Starting with the positives - The Angel is in a very good location, about two minutes walk from Cardiff castle and the city centre. Then there is the ambiance which is quite relaxing - the entrance hall is very grand, although the hallways and stairs feel a little dated. Still, very pleasant in all.

The staff were all helpful whenever we encountered them - from checking in to the waitress in the bar, they were all well mannered and took a little pride in their jobs. No problems there.

Then we come to the two biggest flaws. The rooms and the food. I will save the food until last as that's where my biggest gripes arise.

The rooms then... we booked to stay in a premier room, which - as far as we understood - was a slight upgrade to the standard room. The room itself was big enough as was the bathroom, with modern fixtures and an adequate shower (though it could have been more powerful).

There were some amenities which I enjoyed such as the slippers, bathrobe and mini Welsh cakes, in addition to the regular bottles of water and tea and coffee facilities. The biggest problem with the rooms was the attention to detail, namely - and oddly - the ceiling.

On looking up from the bed there were several damp stains and cracks which wouldn't take much longer than ten minutes for a handyman to properly attend to. It just took the edge off any luxury status that room had. Otherwise the room was nice enough. The bed in particular was very comfortable.

Finally we come to the food. Breakfast the following morning was actually quite nice, with a good array of cooked and continental items, with a strong pot of coffee which went down nicely. However the evening meal we had in the hotel's bar was very poor.

We ordered off the bar menu - both myself and my partner had the Luke Thomas Signature Burger. I'm not sure who Luke Thomas is or why he put his signature to this burger but it was terrible. Firstly, the meat was the driest thing I've ever put in my mouth. It was a thick burger and had been cooked so much that every last drop of moisture had vanished. The menu explained there would be relish (which was needed to combat the dryness) but we had to send a waitress back to get some for us as it had been forgotten. There were no pickles (which were also on the menu as included), while the bacon on the top was more fat than meat. I was starving but left half the burger as it was just unpleasant (I NEVER leave food!). The accompanying chips were actually very nice, but I didn't pay £11.95 for a bowl of chips! The chef either had a very bad day or had no idea what he was doing.

So, to conclude, The Angel is a fine hotel for location and service. If you can find a room for under £75 a night for two people it's probably worth it. Just do yourself a favour and book into one of Cardiff's myriad restaurants for a decent evening meal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your concerns.

I have reviewed your feedback with regards to the food served in the bar with the Head Chef so that these failings can be addressed immediately and improvement made where necessary.

I have taken note of your comments with regards to the decor and appearance of your room and have instructed for this to be reviewed immediately.

Your feedback is being taken most seriously and the issues you have riased are being fully reviewed to ensure that appropriate action is taken.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

great location opp. Cardiff Castle where we went to see Paul Weller in concert. Easy access to bars, restaurants and shops. room Aircon fantastic in the middle of the heat wave. seagulls woke us a.m.."

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for posting a review.

The team were delighted to hear you had an ejoyable stay.

we hope you enjoyed the concert !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Overall good rooms a little dated but the location makes up for that One word of warning parking is limited we managed to find a space and paid our £10.00 only to be woken at 8.00am to move our car it appears that the top part is only for resident use on Sat & Sun - and yes there were signs (very small) but its a gated car park on the hotel grounds nobody would think it was anything but the hotel carpark Though 08.00am is not very early it was early after a late night out I feel this could have been pointed out to us when we paid the fee
Breakfast was good all the usual choices but the staff were a little too eager to remove plates the second you put your cutlery down it may be efficient but we felt a bit hurried

Room Tip: Chose a room opposite the Castle there may be a little traffic noise but rooms on the otherside over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments.

I have shared your feedback with the team to ensure improvements are made where necessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Bought afternoon teas with a voucher on Living Social,and it was excellent, my friend is diabetic they made her a beautiful fruit salad which I thought was really kind and very thoughtful. We had lovely fresh scones, thick cream, strawberry jam, a variety of cakes and delicious selection of finger sandwiches. Tea or coffee whichever you preferred , as much as you wanted also a glass of Sparkling .
The hotel is rather dated and in need of some TLC, but it has a charming ambience, the staff are first class very attentive and pleasant
We throughly enjoyed our visit I would recommend it

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ena193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable experience.

We do hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here when we went to see War Horse, nice central hotel convenient to town center and bus service to the bay. Very old hotel and difficult to modernize but clean and comfortable. Staff pleasant and helpful. Would use again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pantmawrcheeses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

After a busy end of term week we had booked a night at the The Angel Hotel, to accompany going to see Dawn French at the New Theatre. Check-in was a little abrupt and impersonal, probably understandable as the gentleman on the desk appeared to be very busy without any support.
Once we negotiated the teeniest tiny lift (max 6 persons!! Lol) we arrived at our room.
Spacious with nice high ceilings made for a pleasant space to spend the night. Nice large bathroom. Decor a bit tired.The floor in the room was a little uneven which made you feel a little drunk even before we actually were. Nice large comfy bed, a large tv and plenty of tea and coffee etc.The air conditioning worked great on quite a warm stuffy night.
Breakfast was buffet style, and there was plenty of staff clearing plates and ensuring everybody was happy. The filter coffee was excellent.
On the whole we had a lovely stay and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I have pleased to hear you had an ejoyable time and have taken note of your comments to ensure imporvements are made where necessary.

We do hope you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for just one night (thankfully that's all!). We turned up 2hours after check in started & our rooms weren't ready. They had us down for single rooms despite us booking 3doubles (which we had written confirmation of). We waited 15minutes in the very grand lobby before being told they'd found us rooms! Ours was absolutely hideous. It was very small; the bed was shoved against a wall so for one side you had to climb out/in the end of the bed. There was a large area of completely worn carpet. There was an extremely dirty, stained & uncomfortable armchair squeezed into the room. The window was filthy (but had no view anyway). It was in desperate need for even a lick of paint, new carpet & ditching the filthy armchair. My brothers room on the other hand, though dated, was massive but again very dark because of dark, ripped wallpaper & dirty window. We had 5double rooms for our party; they varied hugely in size but were all doubles; they were all dark, dated & dirty. Definitely not somewhere I would go back to or recommend.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to highlight your concerns.

I have taken note of your comments with regards to the decor and appearance of some of the rooms, we have recently started an internal refurbishment programme to ensure improvements are made where necessary. Needless to say certain rooms have been highlighted as a priority.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
1,264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#22 of 74 in Cardiff
931 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: £45 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing