We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Angel Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Future Inn Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$157
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$69
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Cardiff City South Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,796)
Filter reviews
1,796 results
Traveller rating
430
598
415
203
150
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
598
415
203
150
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teagrand staircaseopposite the castlecardiff castlemillennium stadiumlovely hotelbit datedcity centreroom was largeweekend breakcar parkingprincipalitywelshconcert
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,192 - 1,197 of 1,796 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary - just an overnight stay booked through amazon local.
The room was a little small but had a very large (queen size) bed and also a large bathroom.
Other reviews have said it is a bit 'tired' but the building is old and has a beautiful entrance foyer.
The 3 course meal with a bottle of wine was very nice and breakfast was a buffet, not my husband's favourite, with a good extensive range of fruit, cereals, and cooked foods.
We enjoyed our stay and it is in a perfect position for the town, castle and Millennium stadium.
Parking is £10 per night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Winelady59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Many thanks for your review.

I was pleased to hear you had enjoyable stay.

We do hope you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped at this hotel for some afternoon tea and could not fault it. The food was great everything you would expect. The waitress was fantastic, she asked of any allergies and ensured we were happy with our food.
I would recommend 100%..

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank alim27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for posting your review.

Feedback such as yours will help us tremendously. The team were delighted to read your feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Great old hotel absolutely fabulous location, our room was overlooking Cardiff castle which is just opposite.
Our room was a little tired but very clean, but hey this is an old building with a lot of character and this more than makes up for the odd worn bit of carpet.
Parking is on a first come first served basis and we were lucky enough to find a space as it did get full to capacity on out stay.

Staff where friendly and helpful on the whole.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We have recently started an internal refurbishment programme to ensure improvements are made where necessary. Certain bedrooms have been highlighted as a priority.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed in the hotel for a wedding. Had an upgraded room which included breakfast the next morning. Cost of staying was less than £90 as we have booked several months earlier. Hotel room very basic but clean, breakfast was good

Car parking at rear of hotel which is handy as its in the middle of the City and very cheap for the night.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Four of us went for afternoon tea at the angel and had a lovely time. The food, atmosphere and ambience were lovely. We had good selection of cakes and sandwiches and I was very impressed with the service... the staff were lovely from the receptionist to the waiters all lovely. Also nothing was too much trouble. I asked for a coffee with mine and that was fine and also we had extra pot of tea and weren’t charged. Fab time and would recommend

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneMcElveen, General Manager at The Angel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Thank you for posting your review.

The team were delighted to hear your recognition for their service, we were pleased to hear you had an enjoyable time and do hope you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews