We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay with great leisure facilities”
Review of St. Mellons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Mellons Hotel
Ranked #42 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Shepton Mallet, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay with great leisure facilities”
Reviewed 15 May 2011

I was a bit worried when reading some reviews but was delighted with our room, service, leisure facilities and food. Our room was a superior with king bed and huge bathroom. We ate in the bar and the food was prompt and good quality plus reasonably priced. Breakfast was excellent with table service for the cooked options. Really impressed with the leisure centre which has a nice large pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Really nice bar lounge in leisure centre where you can also eat.
Hotel is set in lovely grounds and is surrounded by a large golf course. Would
recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cannard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    148
    122
    62
    67
See reviews for
114
129
14
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2011

We had 2 rooms booked and both were clean but not spotless. One smelt of damp and the other was cobwebby and grotty, and in need of refurbishment. Both bathrooms had mould too.

The public areas were clean and staff helpful and well mannered/. The Spa bar area and spa were very nice, but our spa treatments whilst professional were done in a very business like manner with no real care or attentiveness.

Over all a nice hotel but rooms really not up to scratch!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

This hotel is pretty good and one of it's best features is the large pool in the leisure centre next door. Problem is that you regularly get people coming straight from the sauna or steam room into the swimming pool, creating a sweaty surface slime, which frankly I don't want to swim through. I know lots of places have similar problems, but it's gross and the management need to sort it out.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetSetMiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2011
" thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay. Whilst I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the leisure club, I am sorry to hear that some guests spoiled it by not showering between the sauna and the pool. I am unsure if you pointed this out to a member of the leisure team, as it is an ongoing issue we are desperately trying to stop, as it spoils everyone else's enjoyment

I look forward to welcoming you back soon"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Did this hotel on a groupon offer. Probably the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Room was shabby, tired and dirty. Staff seem disinterested and more focussed on the wedding fayre which was taking place the next day. Went for a relaxing evening but instead was kept awake by loud music until gone 2 am and then woken before 6pm to the sound of clearing up! Couldnt get through to reception on phone in room - constantly engaged evn though they were not busy. Breakfast was average but not enough room for everyone. A dreadful experience which we would never repeat!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186460Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2011
"thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, and that you felt the staff were unavailable to help you. I am sorry that other residents kept you awake with their music, and that the reception telephone was engaged. I an sure you are aware that this was rugby weekend, and the hotel was fully booked and very busy. We offer breakfast over a two hour period, but sometimes everyone comes down at the same time, and then there is a bottleneck, for which I can only apologise.

I hope you will consider staying again, to see what we can offer"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2011

The rooms were more than adequate, and the location is good. The leisure facilities were excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. However the evening meal was appalling and expensive. I ordered a dim sum starter and ended up with a dish explaining why mums go to Iceland. A spring roll, a vegetable samosa and two other items straight from a packet and a small dollop of bought in chilli sauce. This was also very pricey as starters go. The main courses were all priced at £17-25 and were mainly pasta dishes with not a steak in sight! My wife and I opted for the lamb rump which was not inspiring but filled a gap. I complained to the duty manager who apologised and said he would mention it to the general manager but did not offer to remove the item from my bill. It is not a surprise that only two other people apart from ourselves ate at the restaurant. We spoke to another guest who advised us to eat at a £6-99 carvery down the road.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2011
"Whilst I am pleased to hear that the accommodation, location and leisure were to your liking, I am sorry to hear that the meal you ate was not.

We try to make as much of the food we serve here, but some of our dishes are brought in pre prepared, but we try to offer a range of dishes with a menu that changes regularly, and there are steaks available on the bar and lounge menus.

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your meal, but I hope you will return to the hotel in the future to see what we can offer"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We stayed at st mellons on jan 7th for a one night spa break bought from groupon.co.uk for £78.
My first impressions were good, looked like a nice place in a quite location.
The spa was clean with a nice pool and jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. It was nice and relaxing and I had a good back massage.
The room we stayed in was ok, good size room and nice and clean.
Booked in to the restaurant by reception on the Friday night, thought it was overpriced for what we got, the same for the lunch we had.
Overall for the £78 deal we got it was well worth it. But I thought it was quite expensive for everything in there. Staff were all lovely and helpful and we had a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jchambers170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2010

On arrival no leisure bar service
, " we have a wedding " was given reason for 15 minute wait and walk to hotel desk. Breakfast ( 2 days ) spoilt by a que wait for bacon -sausage -eggs etc which was not helped by an indifferent staff attitude who couldn't anticipate when shortages were going to take place . " we have trouble with the kitchen was the reply " dinner was excellent both for food and service when served in the library as dining room had a wedding parties. Overall a good hotel as long as you didn't want breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gray7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2010
thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay at the hotel.

I am sorry to here of the delay in bar service, and also the service at breakfast; these are not the standards we are striving for here, and I am grateful for the feedback, as without it, we cannot hope to improve the standards here at the hotel.

thank you for your positive comments regarding the restaurant service and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 73 in Cardiff
565 reviews
5.5 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
573 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#39 of 73 in Cardiff
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Manor Parc Country Hotel
Manor Parc Country Hotel
#34 of 73 in Cardiff
124 reviews
2.2 mi away
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
#51 of 73 in Cardiff
269 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mellons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mellons Hotel

Property: St. Mellons Hotel
Address: Castleton, Cardiff CF3 2XR, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN St. Mellons Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mellons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, traditional hotel set amongst secluded gardens, yet close to the centre of Cardiff, the St. Mellons Hotel was originally a large country house. With high standards of service and an emphasis on luxury, today the hotel comprises 41 en suite bedrooms, all stylishly furnished, as well as a wealth of leisure facilities including swimming pool, Spa Works beauty salon and rejuvenating spa amenities. Guests seeking the finest cuisine can indulge their curiosity at our Llanarthan Restaurant. Outside the hotel, guests can take a relaxing wander in the extensive hotel grounds or discover the sights and sounds of Cardiff only a short journey away. We acknowledge the gracious living of an earlier age, yet appreciate the contemporary desires of today's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your St. Mellons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
St. Mellons Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing