We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad we took no notice of the poor reviews!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Mellons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Mellons Hotel
Ranked #46 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Glad we took no notice of the poor reviews!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Wanted a city break, not too far from home (Bristol) and using Tesco Clubcard points. St Mellons fitted the bill but the poor reviews were a worry. So, we arrived Friday afternoon and the room was ready, room 27 top floor and the receptionist was helpful and friendly. In fact all the staff we met were very friendly and helpful.
The room was clean and tidy although we didn't move furniture looking for issues! The room was well appointed, flat screen TV, Tea, Coffee, alarm clock, phone and even a trouser press. Bathroom was also clean and tidy and had an array of toiletries.
Diner, although choice was rather limited was of good quality and the service was good. Breakfast was great , full english for us but plenty of other choices and on a par with most good hotels.
Cardiff city centre was a £15 taxi trip away and Cardiff shops are very impressive.
Back to the hotel, the bar was always available and prices were as expected for a Hotel. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well - a party in the Hotel was barely audible.
Diner on Saturday night was also good, the roast lamb was excellent, breakfast Sunday morning also very good although more of buffet style, perhaps as the Hotel had party guests?
In all a great weekend, St Mellons was exactly as described in the brochure - a 3 star in the countryside, not too far from Cardiff. We would be happy to stay again and would recommend it to TripAdvisor.

Room Tip: Top floor was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PetePauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    141
    121
    60
    66
See reviews for
109
124
14
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Stayed for 2 nights break with the wife. I am disabled and asked for a ground floor room near the main part of the hotel, glad to say that both requests were meet.
The problems started when we got to the room. We arrived at 15.30 and the hotel had a check in time from 14.00, so plenty of time to get the room ready however the room had not been cleaned, dirty cups, dirty towels and bed linen not what we were expecting. Spoke to the reception desk and they got the room ready while we had some coffee in the lounge. Could not fauly the young lady on reception. The problem is that there were a number of small faults which was down to bad house keeping, (learned that the head house keeper was on holiday that week so it was obvious the staff were not doing their job correctly). Any fault given to reception was dealt with quickly so 10 out of 10 to them, but they should not have occurred in the first place. Price was very good ( special B&B rate) Breakfast good, except service was slow on second day, prefered the self service set up for the cooked they had on the first day. Did not use the pool so can not comment. Had a bar meal on day one which was acceptable, but not great.
In the summer we are sure this would be a really nice hotel set in the golf club grounds. The staff we dealt with were very good, just need to get the management to do more checks to make sure the small details do not let them down.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IBPLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I can only apologise for the delay in your room being cleaned when you arrived, but during your stay we were in the process of having new carpets fitted into some of our rooms, which slowed up the housekeeping staff. Whilst I am pleased to hear the team were quick to respond to your requests, these points should have been addressed before you checked in, but seem to have been missed because the team rushed to finish your room.

I do hope you will stay with us again in the future, to see what we can offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

The hotels reviews weren't great; but this was booked using Tesco Clubcard and there wasn't a lot to choose from.... so we were stuck with this hotel, mainly because Cardiff is only 2.5hrs from Plymouth.
However, having seen bad reviews and having seen that the manager had responded to those reviews I would have expected the easy changes to have been made: such as, the cleanliness! Honestly, to hoover under the beds and behind the moveable units is not a lot to ask. Evenly weekly would have been acceptable but the room had clearly not been thoroughly cleaned since.... it was built!
We were given a 'garden room', basically a chalet style hut. Single glazed original windows with rotting frames, 3 single beds - which is how I came to find the filth as I moved the bedside table (big mistake) to push the beds together, old style TV with not enough plug sockets to plug in the digibox, so the manager had to bring an extension lead!!!!!!!!
The bedding was clean, but the sheets were like cardboard and the pillows were flat as pancakes. The shower was powerful and hot and at least the heating was on, so the drafty old fashioned windows weren't too much of a problem, but would have been in proper winter.
It makes me wonder what a hotel has to do to make 3 star; as this was far below my standards and I now know why I always (if it weren't for my Tesco vouchers) go 4 star minimum. My house is far far cleaner and I don't expect to pay to stay somewhere at a lesser standard.
The only nice part of this hotel is the pool area which is modern and cleaner, suana big, jaquzzi warm etc etc.
The breakfasts are very simply. Very basic. But did the job.
Overall we enjoyed our weekend because we made it a good time by having fun but the hotel itself is disappointing. Very disappointing. And it is NOT 20 minutes from the Brecon Beacons; it's 1 hour!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Oh and the receptionist when we left didn't give a toss, or ask about our stay. Not surprsing. She probably hates working somewhere that pays so little attention to detail.

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in the garden hell holes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katyvweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry for the isssues you encountered during your stay, yes, the room should have been properly cleaned before your arrival. I am unsure if you rasied this with my manager at the time, but we would have been happy to offer a room move or have cleaned the room for you. I am also sorry to hear that the staff did not seem interested in your stay when you left, please be assured I will address this with them, as we do care greatly about our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Worcester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

I felt it necessary to give a positive review to balance out the negative ones I read before staying at St Mellons. My friend and I had a good time. Yes, the Garden Rooms are not 5 star, but they don't pretend to be. The beds were comfy (although the pillows could have been plumper), bedding and towels were clean, the shower was one of the best I'd ever experienced.
Breakfast was great. Good buffet choice of fruit, pastries and other goodies PLUS as much full English as you can pile onto your plate. The weather was splendid, so we took our final coffee and pastries out to the terrace to enjoy the morning sun. We used the spa faciltlies which could do with a bit of a spruce up, but the staff were friendly and helpful.
I'm planning to return in the new year with my husband.
Thank you St Mellons :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tubbysinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed here for two nights. Room in main part of hotel quite acceptable. Sheets,matress and towels need replacing as a little past their best,but clean enough.breakfast service poor and food overcooked but dinner service and food was good.hotel needs some TLC and could be very good.leisure complex very good,hopefully will receive some capital investment and realise it's potential.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling-golfer-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

A cousin suggested we meet up here for a few days to catch up. It was booked via Expedia for £67.49 per night. Upon arrival the reception was dark, dingy, a staircase that was I presume very grand in it's day was badly in need of a coat of paint. We were directed to adjacent ground floor rooms and the corridor smelled damp and musty and the dust on the pictures along this corridor was thick. The rooms were quite large, the TV was small with no instructions of how to get it to work, the radiator didn't work, the tap on the bath was broken and our room didn't have a table or leaflets of places of interest on it. The hotel 'A - Z brochure' was difficult to read as the ink had faded. We had to seek staff out if we needed anything from the bar. Newspapers were ordered and normally we have woken to find they have been delivered to the door but not here, you have to go to reception to collect them. We ordered lunch and ate in the bar lounge, when we returned after a few hours the plates and glasses were still on the table as we had left them. Every door to the hotel seemed to be wedged open 24/7, a cat strolled in last evening as we were sat chatting and disappeared into the hotel. We looked at the dinner menu but would have struggled to find something all in our party would enjoy and all the meat dishes carried a supplement. There was a distinct lack of staff, there was one waiter at breakfast trying to cover everything. The poached eggs were hard, the plates cold, the toast was barely browned. The leisure complex is really lovely although we didn't use the pool etc and there were no appointments left that day to have any treatments. The men enjoyed watching a game of football in there on our last evening while we girls sat in the lounge in the dark as we couldn't find the light switch, or any staff to ask them to switch it on!! This place is old, tired and needs a complete re-vamp as it could be a fabulous venue in the right hands. I would have been really annoyed if we'd had to pay full price for our rooms. We will not be going there again.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any 'good' rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilly142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHIML, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to hear of the issues you encountered, I am unsure if you raised these issues with a member of the team during your stay, to give us a chance to rectify them. Some of our dishes on the menu carry suppliments, but not all of them, and most of the doors in the hotel are held open with magnetic catches, rather than wedged. I do hope you will reconsider your decison not to stay again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

Found staff to be very friendly and helpful. Hotel is looking a bit tired and could do with refurbishment.

With the adjacent golf course and leisure facilities this hotel could be a gem.

No reason for me not to return and hopefully decorators will be busy ?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikie346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardiff
1.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff East Hotel
2.2 mi away
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
#42 of 76 in Cardiff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
9.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
5.5 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mellons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mellons Hotel

Property: St. Mellons Hotel
Address: Castleton, Cardiff CF3 2XR, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN St. Mellons Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mellons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, traditional hotel set amongst secluded gardens, yet close to the centre of Cardiff, the St. Mellons Hotel was originally a large country house. With high standards of service and an emphasis on luxury, today the hotel comprises 41 en suite bedrooms, all stylishly furnished, as well as a wealth of leisure facilities including swimming pool, Spa Works beauty salon and rejuvenating spa amenities. Guests seeking the finest cuisine can indulge their curiosity at our Llanarthan Restaurant. Outside the hotel, guests can take a relaxing wander in the extensive hotel grounds or discover the sights and sounds of Cardiff only a short journey away. We acknowledge the gracious living of an earlier age, yet appreciate the contemporary desires of today's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your St. Mellons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
St. Mellons Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing