We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Day”
Review of St. Mellons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Mellons Hotel
Ranked #50 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 6 February 2013

My family and I booked a table for a Santa Sunday Lunch on the 19th December 2012. We enjoyed pre-lunch drinks in a delightful lounge, elegantle decorated with a the Christmas decorations and enjoyed the warmth of a lovel open fire.

We then went into the Llanarthen restaurant and were welcomed with warmth and friendliness by all the staff. The foor was beautifully presented,and cooked to perfection.

The highlight of the day was a visit from Father Christmas, who entertained the children as they all sat around yet again another open fire and sang Christmas carols and were duly awarded with a gift.

I have no hesitation in recommending this lovely hotel, set in beautiful surroundings, with a lovely team of people to look after you, yes the hotel is in need of renovation, but in someway this added to the ambience of the hotel. It definitely beats all those modern hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longilil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013

Whilst being a member of the leasure facilities for 8 months everything started off fine
But the cracks started to show quickly;

Sauna room seating broken for months
Pool is consistently freezing
Jacuzzi is up and down with its temperature
Changing rooms often dirty and un-monitored
Showers broken since we started our membership

Now all these problems could be overlooked u might think if the management were dealing with them , but NO
The quality of a business shows not when the "good times roll", but when things go wrong, and it's how that business deals with adversity and complaints and dissatisfied customers

All we feel st Mellon management do is say things are going to be fixed and they never are
The fob u off and lie about maintenance occurring and have no interest in saving or caring for their customers

All we were told to do is

" go away for a couple of months and come back when the jobs are finished" - food and beverage duty manager- Steve


The general manager could only reply with we don't have the budget to deal with these problems and there is no way we can give u any grace with urban payments or refunds

I know for a fact that the law states that if a company provides a service and cannot fulfill it's obligation , not only are u entitled to a refund but compensation also

We also tried to speak to the regional manager , and spoke to his secretary instead . She said he would phone us back
That was three weeks ago were still waiting for his call

So overall not a great experience .

Everything's fine if u DON'T complain

Good luck

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank colseywolsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip T, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

I'm sorry that you have not been satisfied by my responses to date and our telephone conversation and I regret that you have found it necessary to air your views on this forum rather than meet with me personally. As I explained, the issue with pool temperature was resolved in December as soon as replacement parts were sourced. It is maintained at a constant 30 degrees- a requirement of our contract with the children’s swimming classes. Similarly, the issue with the showers in the gents have been addressed, as you know and the one outstanding shower issue in the ladies will be resolved on 5th February by our contractors. I'm sorry that these repairs have taken longer than you, and indeed we, would like but it is often the case than parts are nor readily available and have to be ordered. Please be assured, we welcome constructive feedback as it is our desire to make the club a venue which you can full enjoy and participate in

Again, I reiterate my invitation to meet at your convenience to discuss your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Stayed for four nights in Sept 2012. This was our third stay. We were allocated a lovely room on the ground floor. Would not stay in a garden room. The break was mixing work and pleasure. Good value for money and within easy reach to Cardiff. The breakfast was o.k. Had dinner one evening but my husband could have eaten another!!!!!. The staff were very helpfull and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room inside the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cymraes11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip T, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Annwyl Cymraes,

Mae'n dda i weld fod Cymru Cymraeg yma hefyd!

Thank you for your review and to take the time to comment on Trip Advisor. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay here in the deep south! I hope it won't be too long before we can welcome you back to the hotel once more.

Diolch unwaith eto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Booked the hotel for a business trip, the WiFi and breakfast included price is generally good with Best Western Hotels.
Parked up in the car park and duly emptied the laptop, brief case and overnight bag only to be told at reception that I was in a "garden room" which was just round the front of the hotel around the corner. I was advised that I should have asked for a room in the hotel. It turned out to be the penultimate garden room, (think motel), furthest away from reception.
The room was ok, albeit dated, but what got me was the lack of WiFi, I was told it was cabled, the cable had an old style phone plug, not suitable for ADSL sockets. Reception then told me they would get me another cable, which they did, but this one had the wrong plug at both ends. This meant I had to walk back and forth to the hotel and hook up with the WiFi to send emails and data.
The following night I asked for another cable and was told that all the cables were given out, I wonder if this is somesort of wheeze, designed to placate the business guest.
Food was ok, I would suggest the bar meals as a better choice.
Breakfast was ok service not so good. Being left standing waiting to be shown your seat whilst staff walk past several times is annoying.

Room Tip: Book a room in the Hotel, especially if you need the WiFi, it's lonley in the far "grden ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MPFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip T, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. At present, it would be true to say that a few of our rooms are not covered by the wi-fi. Where this is the case, a cabled service is available for our guests to provide Ethernet connectivity. I'm sorry if you found this less than ideal, I understand your frustration Please be assured that we are working on providing full wi fi connectivity through the hotel very soon. Next time you visit us, please contact me personally- I'll be happy to ensure you have a room with full connectivity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Before reading this review you need to consider the following: this is a 3 star hotel and country club, it is a bit tired but in keeping with the stars and price. We bought a dinner bed and breakfast deal for £100/ room per night and paid extra for the children's meals -anyone wanting a swanky spa experience needs to go to a 5 star hotel with a similar price tag...so...

We had a lovely stay in the hotel at the beginning of January. The swimming pool was perfect for our girls and I enjoyed a very relaxing, and I inexpensively priced massage while we were there. The food was nice and the room was warm and very comfortable. In fact we had to turn the heating down over night. The staff were also fantastic; really kind and helpful. Thoroughly enjoyable and good value for money.

Room Tip: Garden rooms really spacious and all beds comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosie_S_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip T, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Dear Rosie

Delighted to read your review of your recent say- than you so much for taking the time.

I was pleased you liked the new mattresses, a recent improvement, in the Garden Rooms- they're ideal rooms for families, giving far more room and privacy.

Come back to see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We celebrated a family birthday at this hotel, and couldn't fault it. 18 of us (aged 7 months to 68) and a dog, had a great day and evening, staying in the garden rooms. These were spacious, very cosy and spotless. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly welcoming staff. They provided a private dining room which allowed all the parents to relax with the children unconfined by formal dining. The standard and quality of the dinners and breakfasts was excellent and the lovely swimming pool and spa, also run by excellent staff, were great for the whole family. We would recommend it very highly, and we can't believe the negative comments about this hotel.

Room Tip: We only used the garden rooms, as there were young children in the party, and a dog, but would gladl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed her on and off for 18 months. You pay for what you get. This was once a fantastic hotel but is in need of renovation. The price is good and it has a gym pool etc. disappointed that after 18 months the meal choice is exactly the same it never changes and never a specials board. No problem if you only plan to stay once as the food is pretty good but its another sign that this place is cashing in on an asset that it no longer invests in. Shame!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveWilliams124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip T, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Mr. Williams

Thanks for the feedback on your stays with us- always very welcome.

You'll be delighted to know that we have a series of new seasonal menus being introduced shortly - all freshly prepared using great ingredients. Spring time should also see a 'sprucing up' of parts of the hotel following recent changes in ownership, although the details are still being finalised.
I sincerely hope you continue to stay with us- we appreciate your custom and please remember- if you fancy something which is not on the menu, please do ask. If we have it, we'll make it for you, as we often do for many of our regular clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
2.1 mi away
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
#56 of 74 in Cardiff
284 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
590 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Llanederyn
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
6.7 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#18 of 74 in Cardiff
2,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mellons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mellons Hotel

Address: Castleton, Cardiff CF3 2XR, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN St. Mellons Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £64 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mellons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, traditional hotel set amongst secluded gardens, yet close to the centre of Cardiff, the St. Mellons Hotel was originally a large country house. With high standards of service and an emphasis on luxury, today the hotel comprises 41 en suite bedrooms, all stylishly furnished, as well as a wealth of leisure facilities including swimming pool, Spa Works beauty salon and rejuvenating spa amenities. Guests seeking the finest cuisine can indulge their curiosity at our Llanarthan Restaurant. Outside the hotel, guests can take a relaxing wander in the extensive hotel grounds or discover the sights and sounds of Cardiff only a short journey away. We acknowledge the gracious living of an earlier age, yet appreciate the contemporary desires of today's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your St. Mellons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
St. Mellons Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing