We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired and worn”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of St. Mellons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Mellons Hotel
Ranked #45 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Tired and worn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed in a garden room, nice big room but decor and facilities were tired and worn. Pool was nice but very cold and again, changing facilities were old fashioned and worn. Choosing from kids menu at lunch only to find most options were not available.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Advisor20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    143
    122
    60
    67
See reviews for
109
127
14
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The staff very good and most helpfull, the room i had was large clean and a very comfortable double bed nice bathroom with plenty of hot water. The food in the bar was average, but they did not deliver every item i had ordered so they deducted it of the final bill. Early checkout is a problem as they can not take payement untill someone arrives at 07-00am. The night porter a very nice gentleman tried his best to operate the card machine but was unable to i think a little training would help.

Room Tip: Room 202 is large and a very comfortable bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I found the 'Mellons' by chance after staying in a few soul less chain hotels in and around Newport. I knew I'd be staying for 8 weeks, it turned out to be 12 in the end! The Hotel has a great pool and spa, and although its clearly not been lavishly cared for, its clean, the staff are really helpful and friendly, and the facilities are superb. Bar and restaurant are good and of course during the winter months (except kids school holidays) it was very quiet.
All in all a fantastic find - in a different league to the big chains - and a great location between Newport and Cardiff. Can't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Just tell them what you need - there's a big range of rooms and suites, some in the main 'ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smfish01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimbledon, London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We visited St Mellons Hotel for Mother's Day lunch and had an excellent 3 course lunch in a very relaxed environment. The staff were very helpful and my mother thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenningSW19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We came away for a relaxing Spa weekend, we did have just that. The hotel is in need of some tender loving care, things like the paint flaking off around the pool area, water marks on the ceiling and paint work. Old looking carpets, and just in need of some love. Whilst we were there we were told it has just been sold, so hopefully the new owners will make the needed improvements. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night and this was really lovely. staff were always pleasant and greeted you with a smile.
he location is nice if your looking to get away for a peaceful weekend. We got a taxi into cardiff bay on the saturday night, and ate dinner out, the taxi cost £16.50 there and back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden rooms detached from the hotel and found them good in size. Not sure what the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Had a package deal through groupon for a wedding party. If I had not recieved this deal, I would not have booked. The overall first impressions were fine, however, we were not allowed to book guests in until 2pm, which was ridiculous, as the service was booked for 2pm. A few rooms were released early with some pushing.The meal after was spot on(cheers chef) rooms were spacious and the bar areas worked well. We were given the 'bridal suite' room 28. Just to be clear, it's just a normal room with a bigger bathroom. I would have expected a modern re-furbished room with a four poster as the bed was a basic and decor is a bit shabby. The bathroom needs a re-furb, as the shower tray/walls had mould around the joining silicon, a broken tile on the floor and a plastic flimsy bath with the taps hanging off. Again I would have expected a roll top bath. Best of all, there was no hotwater, so had to get a key for another room to shower. We did get discounted room rates for guests, but in hind site, the guests that stayed should have taken a taxi to other available hotels, as they would have got a better deal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Welshtraveller247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Overall this is a nice hotel- the rooms were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a let down- it was clean but very tired and definitely needs some updating and attention.

Breakfast was great, the service was good and the food was tasty and of good quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardiff
1.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
5.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
5.5 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#5 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
2.2 mi away
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
#43 of 76 in Cardiff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mellons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mellons Hotel

Property: St. Mellons Hotel
Address: Castleton, Cardiff CF3 2XR, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN St. Mellons Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mellons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, traditional hotel set amongst secluded gardens, yet close to the centre of Cardiff, the St. Mellons Hotel was originally a large country house. With high standards of service and an emphasis on luxury, today the hotel comprises 41 en suite bedrooms, all stylishly furnished, as well as a wealth of leisure facilities including swimming pool, Spa Works beauty salon and rejuvenating spa amenities. Guests seeking the finest cuisine can indulge their curiosity at our Llanarthan Restaurant. Outside the hotel, guests can take a relaxing wander in the extensive hotel grounds or discover the sights and sounds of Cardiff only a short journey away. We acknowledge the gracious living of an earlier age, yet appreciate the contemporary desires of today's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St. Mellons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
St. Mellons Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing