We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the hosies”
Review of St. Mellons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Mellons Hotel
Ranked #46 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had a lot of trouble finding the hotel as it is not near the main road. The only sign said country club and you have to drive down a long laneway to get to it. In its day it would have been a grand old hotel but is now looking very tired and in need of a lot of tlc. It is situated right next to a golf club and there is plenty of parking available. Our room was a good size and the bed was comfy enough. I couldn't get wifi in our room and had to go downstairs to get reception. There were stairs and no lift. The garden and surrounds were lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trish06_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

So sorry that you had difficulty in finding us we have a lovely location and we are grateful to you for your contructive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
There are newer reviews for St. Mellons Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

I've just come back from a lovely spa break with my mum and sister. It was a nice relaxing getaway. The rooms were clean, but could do with some routine maintenance, but apart from that, the staff in the hotel and the spa were really nice and friendly, and the food was good. The spa was a wonderful way to unwind.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chedes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your response we are pleased you had an enjoyable time with us, such feedback is really appreciated by our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel is quite hard to find. I didn't see the sign advertising the hotel, until I'd basically already passed the entrance. Then because of all the double white lines, it's quite a long way to drive down, u-turn, drive back up, u-turn, to get another shot at making the turning.
The road from main road to the hotel is very bumpy, and with both potholes and several quite big speed bumps.
Once there though, I thought it was very nice.

It's set in quite nice grounds, with trees on most sides, and a golf course right next door.
Someone does a good job of maintenance of the grounds too, because the gardens have some very attractive flowering plants. The outside of the building and most of the downstairs look very grand.
The room wasn't the most modern I've ever seen, but everything you need is there. There's a TV with the full freeview offering.
The bed had quite a firm mattress, but not uncomfortable. If you're a fan of The Hotel Inspector, I can report there was a mattress protector on our mattress. I slept quite well, and was only awoken because I didn't close the curtains and the sun woke me up.
I liked the chair in the room. It's a nice shape and quite comfortable.
Everything was clean.

There's a kettle with tea, coffee, UHT milk cartons, and a note saying if you would like fresh milk, just to ask reception. Extra points for this.

Plug sockets were in plentiful supply. There was one either side of the bed, one by the desk and one by the TV.
There was apparently free wifi, but I didn't use it as we were only there one night, and I could get 3G reception on my phone anyway.

The bathroom only had one bath towel, which I thought was a bit odd. We mentioned this to the receptionist on leaving, and she said there should have been more in a drawer, but we couldn't find any as we did look. Obviously we could have asked at reception, but we didn't really notice until we were rushing to shower before breakfast.
In the bathroom we got a bar of soap, a bottle of shower gel, a bottle of shampoo and a separate bottle of conditioner. I find one or other of these is often missing in a lot of hotels, but not here, so well done.
There was a tile missing from the wall and a loose piece of flooring, but regardless it was all clean, and the shower was both easily adjustable temperature and had a good pressure.

The pool was nice. Really warm. Much warmer than any public pool, and most hotels I've stayed at. The jacuzzi is even warmer, obviously.

The breakfast I thought was very good. The cooked breakfast had the nicest sausage I've had in a while, and the bacon had very little fat. I had assumed that "fried potatoes" would actually be hash browns, but they were in fact sliced (and fried) potatoes. Still nice though.

The staff were friendly and helpful during every interaction I had with them. Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BadlyPlacedPlugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your thoughts and comments about our hotel and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

As we are in the catering business ourselves, we know what it is like to work long hours and not have a break so we went to St Mellons for a relaxing weekend as this was the only break we would get until next year.the place sounded great on the web site. Just the job. We arrived late Saturday to find a wedding in full swing, which put us in the mood to relax and chill. On arriving at reception there was no one to greet us. Eventually we found someone to find the receptionist, who was very pleasant and helpful. We were pointed in the direction of our room and proceeded up to unpack. At dinner we were the only guests in the dining room but that was ok. Staff were friendly and efficient. Later we headed off to bed. This was the worst nights sleep I have had for a long time the mattress was hard and lumpy and the pillows like board. The following morning we asked to change rooms. This was not a problem and we moved next door. The mattress was slightly less hard but still very lumpy. The hotel is very out dated, but clean, in need of decor and new mattresses. We tried the Spa, again very out dated and in need of refurbishment, but clean. The staff are quite friendly, but seem to lack training and expertise, eg bar not stocked with advertised products, which you would expect of a large hotel. The main court yard is very dirty and glasses and crockery are left outside (2glasses were there for 2 days). The grounds are beautiful and well tended. However sorry will not be visiting again.

Room Tip: Take your own mattress and pillows!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesleyhinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for the way in which you have addressed your thougths - we very much hope that in the fullness of time you would allow us to restore your faith back in our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here last night after my sons marriage in the Hotel, Great staff, good food which was well served and a great venue for the wedding. The grounds are spectacular with the nearby golf club, some maintenance required to the roads and walkways. We had a Country Room which was about 100 metres from the entrance, lovely bedroom and beds, the bathroom suffered from the dreaded bad silicon man treatment and a broken louvre window, a real shame.
Breakfast this morning was a bit of a bun fight, could have done with a couple more staff to serve coffee and do the toast etc.
Some of the outside rooms had a very jaded exterior, with a bit of investment this would be an outstanding venue, got to say it again, great place for a wedding, well done!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M, General Manager at St. Mellons Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to post them. We are delighted that we helped make your Son & Daughter in Law's day special for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Lovely hotel with friendly and helpful staff. You are mad to feel at home at once. The food is delicious, and a good choose of menu. The spa facilities are very good. The hotel is set in lovely peaceful surroundings. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of house have lovely view over the gardens.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Booked a suite at st mellons hotel and spa , the room was fabulous only down site , the view over looked a roof and other buildings ,
Fabulous three course meal in the restaurant in the evening , the breakfast was fabulous as well ,all ready booked a January special for our wedding anniversary

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jahne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 74 in Cardiff
582 reviews
2.2 mi away
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
#56 of 74 in Cardiff
282 reviews
9.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
3.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mellons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mellons Hotel

Address: Castleton, Cardiff CF3 2XR, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN St. Mellons Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £71 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mellons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, traditional hotel set amongst secluded gardens, yet close to the centre of Cardiff, the St. Mellons Hotel was originally a large country house. With high standards of service and an emphasis on luxury, today the hotel comprises 41 en suite bedrooms, all stylishly furnished, as well as a wealth of leisure facilities including swimming pool, Spa Works beauty salon and rejuvenating spa amenities. Guests seeking the finest cuisine can indulge their curiosity at our Llanarthan Restaurant. Outside the hotel, guests can take a relaxing wander in the extensive hotel grounds or discover the sights and sounds of Cardiff only a short journey away. We acknowledge the gracious living of an earlier age, yet appreciate the contemporary desires of today's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Mellons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
St. Mellons Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing