We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit disappointing, but average”
Review of St. Mellons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Mellons Hotel
Ranked #50 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed here in July for three nights on a business trip. It's a perfectly fine hotel, set in beautiful grounds, but I don't think that I would want to stay here for a romantic/refreshing weekend. I stayed here because Cardiff hotels were very expensive (nothing below £100) and I managed to get a three night deal for £66 B&B per night, which was excellent. But like most things, you get what you pay for.

The major irritation I had was that the previous guest had gone off with the room key and for some reason, the hotel didn't have a spare. So each time I wanted access to my room, I had to go to reception and ask for someone to accompany me and let me in.

The breakfast is decent, although the cooked breakfast is a little greasy. I only ate in the bar one evening (preferring to go into Cardiff for food). A plan burger was over priced and cooked through to the point of it being on the dry side.

I didn't try the leisure facilities. There isn't any wifi except for in the main lounge. This is irritating. I know it's expensive to put wifi through old buildings, but sometimes you don't want to use a laptop and have it connected to a cable.

If you need a reasonably-priced room with a comfy bed then it's a good hotel. If you think you're going for a weekend to a michelin-starred-type hotel and spa, then I would search again.

Room Tip: I had room 101. It was spacious, but overlooked the car park on the ground floor. In the summer, thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel in July, it was just one night after the ferry and en route to Family in England. We have 3 children so needed a family room, they gave us a Cottage room and apologised for the size! It was just brilliant, we needed a cot which was supplied and they had given plenty of extra towels/ bedding etc. The en suite was huge and absolutely spotless. We loved this room as we could pull the car right up outside. It certainly didn't bother us that we weren't inside the man hotel building, its a 1 min walk across the stunning surroundings to the hotel.
The hotel staff were lovely and the leisure centre was super clean and very relaxing. We had our dinner in the bar and were impressed with the portions and they made a great effort to accommodate the children. We did have a bit of a wait at times at the bar to be served but nothing that couldn't be rectified by hiring an extra staff member! We were also on holidays so weren't going to get stressed out over a small delay!
Over all we loved this hidden gem and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

*Im still currently in this hotel* there are many good features about this hotel, the FOH staff are very helpfull, it's a completely non smoking hotel, the grounds are very beautiful it's ideal for alittle stroll, its clean and ideal for a spa break, the pool is fairly sized and all in all a great little gem in Cardiff.....however there are some things that you should be aware of that I think should be improved. These are : the rooms have absolutely no air conditioning and this makes it hard to sleep in this weather, there is no fridge or minibar in any of the rooms, food stops at 10:30 completely even room service, and the bar is often unattended, you normally wait quite long to be served a drink. If These could be improved I would give it 5* and definitely stay here again as its a Nice country house with a posh and traditional theme.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Welshexplorer1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I booked this Hotel for an overnight stay with dinner to enjoy a couple of days away in Wales. The pictures looked lovely and it was set in lovely grounds. The reviews were mixed but we decided to give it a go. On arrival at 1pm we were told that we couldn't book in until 2pm but they said we could use the leisure facilities. We had some soup for lunch in their lounge and went back to book in at 2pm. All booked in and we arrived at our room to find the cleaners still in there. Not a good start! We decided to leave and go to central Cardiff and come back later. When we arrived back in the evening and had access to our room we seen that the rooms are dated and the bathroom was not very clean. The sink was cracked and there was no sealant round the bath for the shower so it was a very wet affair having a shower. The toilet bowl and bath were very stained and the wall in the room was stained above the radiator. All in all disappointing. Dinner was served in a lovely room but sadly I couldn't eat any of the main courses as they have zero vegetarian choices which is very surprising in a large Hotel which holds wedding ceremonies. Breakfast tea was what can only be described as disgusting. To sum up we wouldn't book this Hotel again. It is a shame as with a little bit of updating on the décor and a little more organisation and tweeking this could be a very lovely Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just come back from this lovely hotel and would recommend it. We booked using Tesco points who have now parted ways with Bespoke and didn't bother informing us, leaving us to find out by chance. Tesco we're complete job worths leaving the hotel manager "Hilary" to sort it out for us, which she did with fantastic customer service! Room was lovely, soft bed and perfect pillows. We used the pool, jacuzzi and steam room which were all great along with the staff wherever we needed them. We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night which was very quiet as there was a wedding on, food was lovely. We had breakfast Sunday morning with a well staffed welcoming dining room where we had a hearty full English. We had travelled down by train which left us with taxi fares of just under £80 going back and forth into Cardiff bay or city centre and the taxi drivers struggled to find it. Would go again but probably drive as a little far out if you want shopping and city culture. Well done guys, keep up the great work.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lez24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This out of town Country style Hotel has the best staff anywhere.
The main Hotel rooms are very good although the garden rooms are tired.
Food is excellent and the Spa is of a very high standard.
The treatments are very well priced and the treatment rooms are great.
The pool and the Spa are free to guests and are well looked after.
Golf course is next door and a well laid out course with challenging holes.
A great weekend away in superb surroundings.

Room Tip: Stay in the main Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grimblybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed over to attend a wedding for the weekend. Our room in the 'Cottages' was spacious, clean and convenient with all the facilities we would expect, while the gardens were really impressive. The wedding went really smoothly and the food and event organisation was first class. The next day we used the spa as part of our package and had a super breakfast before we left. An excellent weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
2.1 mi away
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
#56 of 74 in Cardiff
284 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
590 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Llanederyn
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
6.7 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#18 of 74 in Cardiff
2,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mellons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mellons Hotel

Address: Castleton, Cardiff CF3 2XR, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN St. Mellons Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £64 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mellons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, traditional hotel set amongst secluded gardens, yet close to the centre of Cardiff, the St. Mellons Hotel was originally a large country house. With high standards of service and an emphasis on luxury, today the hotel comprises 41 en suite bedrooms, all stylishly furnished, as well as a wealth of leisure facilities including swimming pool, Spa Works beauty salon and rejuvenating spa amenities. Guests seeking the finest cuisine can indulge their curiosity at our Llanarthan Restaurant. Outside the hotel, guests can take a relaxing wander in the extensive hotel grounds or discover the sights and sounds of Cardiff only a short journey away. We acknowledge the gracious living of an earlier age, yet appreciate the contemporary desires of today's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your St. Mellons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
St. Mellons Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing