We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is great, garden rooms only OK”
Review of St. Mellons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Mellons Hotel
Ranked #43 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel is great, garden rooms only OK”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The main hotel seems great, but we were stopping in the 'garden rooms', which are basically two rows of chalet-style rooms next to the hotel. They're large rooms, so if you're stopping as a group (we were 2 adults and 2 kids) you'll probably get booked into one of them. In theory you park your car right outside of your room, US motel style, but in practice there's not proper space for everyone to park there so cars get parked in assorted spaces (all to be fair close to the rooms). The rooms are not awful, but they (and the general area where they're sited) are in need of some basic upkeep. It's a 3-star hotel, but it's not a 3-star experience if you stop in the garden rooms, especially if it rains and you find yourself running from your room to the hotel like you're on a caravan site! I don't think anyone expects to get wet going down to breakfast in a hotel.

On the plus side, staff are very helpful, breakfast is excellent, the grounds are beautiful, and it's a perfect base from which to visit Cardiff and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeessideMag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    148
    122
    62
    70
See reviews for
115
129
14
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We booked this on short notice for a birthday break and we were pleasantly surprised. Nice, large room in Georgian Building, good meal and excellent service from attentive staff. Large and well-heated pool-much better than the St Davids in Cardiff bay which is 3x the price!

Room Tip: Best to stay in the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Drove into the grounds and it all looked lovely, nice lawns and impressive buildings, then walked into the main building and the first thing we noticed was the musty old smell, the unfortunately lingered throughout our stay. Check in was quick and staff were friendly, we were in room 21 in the main building, the corridor where the rooms were was pitch black, couldn't find a light switch so left fumbling to put the key in the hole. Room was nice, very big, high ceilings, nice decor, bathroom again was very big, however attention to detail wasn't there, the shower head was held in place by loads of gaffa tape, the toilet had a big sign asking us to wait at least 5 minutes between flushes as the tank was slow at refilling, there was holes in the wall that had been filled but needed painting, there was an empty dirty wine glass on the floor by the door and no iron or ironing board! At about 6am there was a loud and strange sound coming from outside of our room, sounded like water pipes or something, but it was loud enough to wake us.

Had a pleasant enough sleep, went to breakfast and were served a continental breakfast, juices, pastries, yogurts, and then a hot breakfast which was a little disappointing, one sausage, one bacon, then a choice of beans OR potato, this OR that, so our plates were left half full after accepting all the choices on offer.

We had a treatment each after our breakfast, we walked over to the spa, staff again were lovely, changing rooms nice, but steam room seat cracked, sauna wood panels coming off the wall, sauna bench slats broken, ceiling above pool peeling off. Treatments were good, bar was very nice afterwards too, sat down watching the tennis and had the bar to ourselves.

Would visit again, just needs some care with the details to make this place better.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MummySofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed here in July for three nights on a business trip. It's a perfectly fine hotel, set in beautiful grounds, but I don't think that I would want to stay here for a romantic/refreshing weekend. I stayed here because Cardiff hotels were very expensive (nothing below £100) and I managed to get a three night deal for £66 B&B per night, which was excellent. But like most things, you get what you pay for.

The major irritation I had was that the previous guest had gone off with the room key and for some reason, the hotel didn't have a spare. So each time I wanted access to my room, I had to go to reception and ask for someone to accompany me and let me in.

The breakfast is decent, although the cooked breakfast is a little greasy. I only ate in the bar one evening (preferring to go into Cardiff for food). A plan burger was over priced and cooked through to the point of it being on the dry side.

I didn't try the leisure facilities. There isn't any wifi except for in the main lounge. This is irritating. I know it's expensive to put wifi through old buildings, but sometimes you don't want to use a laptop and have it connected to a cable.

If you need a reasonably-priced room with a comfy bed then it's a good hotel. If you think you're going for a weekend to a michelin-starred-type hotel and spa, then I would search again.

Room Tip: I had room 101. It was spacious, but overlooked the car park on the ground floor. In the summer, thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel in July, it was just one night after the ferry and en route to Family in England. We have 3 children so needed a family room, they gave us a Cottage room and apologised for the size! It was just brilliant, we needed a cot which was supplied and they had given plenty of extra towels/ bedding etc. The en suite was huge and absolutely spotless. We loved this room as we could pull the car right up outside. It certainly didn't bother us that we weren't inside the man hotel building, its a 1 min walk across the stunning surroundings to the hotel.
The hotel staff were lovely and the leisure centre was super clean and very relaxing. We had our dinner in the bar and were impressed with the portions and they made a great effort to accommodate the children. We did have a bit of a wait at times at the bar to be served but nothing that couldn't be rectified by hiring an extra staff member! We were also on holidays so weren't going to get stressed out over a small delay!
Over all we loved this hidden gem and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

*Im still currently in this hotel* there are many good features about this hotel, the FOH staff are very helpfull, it's a completely non smoking hotel, the grounds are very beautiful it's ideal for alittle stroll, its clean and ideal for a spa break, the pool is fairly sized and all in all a great little gem in Cardiff.....however there are some things that you should be aware of that I think should be improved. These are : the rooms have absolutely no air conditioning and this makes it hard to sleep in this weather, there is no fridge or minibar in any of the rooms, food stops at 10:30 completely even room service, and the bar is often unattended, you normally wait quite long to be served a drink. If These could be improved I would give it 5* and definitely stay here again as its a Nice country house with a posh and traditional theme.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshexplorer1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I booked this Hotel for an overnight stay with dinner to enjoy a couple of days away in Wales. The pictures looked lovely and it was set in lovely grounds. The reviews were mixed but we decided to give it a go. On arrival at 1pm we were told that we couldn't book in until 2pm but they said we could use the leisure facilities. We had some soup for lunch in their lounge and went back to book in at 2pm. All booked in and we arrived at our room to find the cleaners still in there. Not a good start! We decided to leave and go to central Cardiff and come back later. When we arrived back in the evening and had access to our room we seen that the rooms are dated and the bathroom was not very clean. The sink was cracked and there was no sealant round the bath for the shower so it was a very wet affair having a shower. The toilet bowl and bath were very stained and the wall in the room was stained above the radiator. All in all disappointing. Dinner was served in a lovely room but sadly I couldn't eat any of the main courses as they have zero vegetarian choices which is very surprising in a large Hotel which holds wedding ceremonies. Breakfast tea was what can only be described as disgusting. To sum up we wouldn't book this Hotel again. It is a shame as with a little bit of updating on the décor and a little more organisation and tweeking this could be a very lovely Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 73 in Cardiff
575 reviews
2.2 mi away
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
#52 of 73 in Cardiff
273 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#39 of 73 in Cardiff
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
9.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
6.7 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#17 of 73 in Cardiff
2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mellons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mellons Hotel

Property: St. Mellons Hotel
Address: Castleton, Cardiff CF3 2XR, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN St. Mellons Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mellons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful, traditional hotel set amongst secluded gardens, yet close to the centre of Cardiff, the St. Mellons Hotel was originally a large country house. With high standards of service and an emphasis on luxury, today the hotel comprises 41 en suite bedrooms, all stylishly furnished, as well as a wealth of leisure facilities including swimming pool, Spa Works beauty salon and rejuvenating spa amenities. Guests seeking the finest cuisine can indulge their curiosity at our Llanarthan Restaurant. Outside the hotel, guests can take a relaxing wander in the extensive hotel grounds or discover the sights and sounds of Cardiff only a short journey away. We acknowledge the gracious living of an earlier age, yet appreciate the contemporary desires of today's guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your St. Mellons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
St. Mellons Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing