We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Where When Wales

Where When Wales
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An independent family-run business started in 2002, and voted top tour operator in Cardiff by Lonely Planet Wales Guide. Scheduled day tours operate February through to the end of October visiting all the ‘must see’ places in Wales, taking no more than 15 passengers provides a more relaxed and informal style of touring. Itineraries are carefully planned to travel along the most scenic routes to deliver the ultimate tour experience. Tours are suitable for single travellers, families and groups.
Magdeburg, Germany
2 reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Went on the South Wales Valleys Tour- it was great! Besides being some of the friendliest people I met in Cardiff, Jan and John are also incredibly knowledgeable about each of the areas we visited and really made the tour enjoyable. I would recommend any one of their tours to anybody planning on visiting Cardiff!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 191K_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    11
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Friendly, informative & interesting. many Thanks to our tour guide Jane & Jhon”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It was a really nice experience of this tour. We took a one day trip with wherewhenwales tours and was completely worth it, we really enjoyed a lot as it was well organised. The bus started on time and took us to all the places promised and they made it back on time. We did not had to rush as the driver John gave enough time to take pictures and kept us entertained with stories and some good Wales music. We really had a great time at Roshilli coast with more than enough time. The Heart of wales natural beauty is spectracular. I would say everybody who is living in any part of England should visit with this tour only. At the end of the tour we were still not tired and could do a lot more as the bus was very comfortable. I would certainly recommend this this tour and wherewhenwalwales tours rock. Keep it up. My cardiff trip was fantabulous. Many Thanks to Jane & John....

From Newly married couple : Charmi & Chirag

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charmi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boring, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great way to see Wales”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

When Where Wales is a great way to see castles, roman ruins, quintessential villages, and the countryside around Cardiff. A small mini van takes a small group of people to wonderful locations. Jan and John are very knowledgeable about the history of the sites and have personal stories about Wales. We felt like family after our four days with them. There is an additional fee for some (not all) of the locations, and seeing a particular location was always optional. When Where Wales was the perfect solution for someone who didn't want to drive in Wales, but wanted to see more than the big city of Cardiff.
Lexy, Boring, Oregon

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quality Doesn't Diminish With Time”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Four years ago, while planning our honeymoon, I stumbled upon Where When Wales while looking for a good Cardiff day trip (without the helpful advice of Tripadvisor! Gasp!). My husband is a history aficionado, and so we chose their Wye Valley Tour. It was (and still is) one of the best trips we'd ever been on. We couldn't stop talking about it afterwards and we kept saying to each other, "If we ever go back to Wales, we HAVE to spend another day with Jan & John".

Flashforward to present day. We're ending our epic adventure with a look-around around the UK, which includes Wales. Unable to stay in Cardiff with the darn Heineken Rugby thingamabob, we were forced to stay in nearby Swansea (which is actually quite a lovely city). But not once did we forget about joining Jan & John once again. We chose the Gower Tour this time around, partially because of the promise of beautiful landscapes and partially because their first stop was the National Waterfront Museum in Swansea (walking distance of our hotel). Jan was wonderfully flexible, fine with us meeting them at the museum.

The day, while rainy at times, didn't disappoint. We were met with breathtaking views, a pleasant coastal walk, wild ponies, massive amounts of sheep, and the mystical neolithic Arthur's Stone (super cool since we love the BBC drama "Merlin", plus, you know, history buff). We learned a lot of interesting facts about Wales and the Welsh people, and even saw a brief flashing glimpse of one of Catherine Zeta-Jones' homes. Jan & John are so knowledgeable and open to questions. They immediately bring everyone together with their charm so that we feel like we're a cohesive group, rather than just a collection of people being driven around in the same vehicle. Plus John drives very smoothly, so no motion sickness from me. We were dropped off in Cardiff, and spent a lovely evening wandering around the city and having dinner before taking a bus back.

If they're still doing tours the next time we come back to Wales (whenever that is), we won't hesitate to spend another day with Jan & John.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank crsgrl1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Day Tours Southern Wales”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

First Class

Sincerely happy with my 3 days with Jan and John.  Great itinerary.  Leisurely, yet on schedule.  Well paced.  Very informative, very professional.  Appropriate amount of variety.  Highlight was for me walking amongst the feral horses and Jan's wonderful story about their border collie.

Joy Friesen
Oakville, Ontario

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joy_friesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Where When Wales also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Where When Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing