We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Motel not Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campanile Hotel Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #42 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Motel not Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

This place is located behind a small industrial estate and on first impressions, one goes "Oh dear". The accomodation which is dated is seperate to the open plan reception/bar/restaurant which is never ideal but one should think of it as a motel not a hotel. My compamy at the last minute had booked bed and breakfast for me at £54.00 as the Premier Inn, our preferred chain was at about £70.00. I was greeted by a French guy who was very pleasent and pointed me in the direction of my room located across the car park, The rooms are on ground and first floor. Mine was up some stairs and along an outside wooden gangway. There were two doors to enter before getting into the room which had textued paint on the walls and old carpet on the floor. Not great but having said that it had all one needed for a nights stay. A clean bed (it was a twin bedded room), controllable heating, a good sized TV, tea & coffee making facilities and FREE wi-fi. The bathroom was old but everything worked and the water was hot.
The food is expensive at £16.00 for a steak but they did do a three course meal at I think about £13.00. Service was good but the restaurant was very quiet and if I had to stay there again (which is unlikely) I would eat up the road at a local pub called The Village. My cooked breakfast was tasty and served quickly. In all not the worst place to stay but there are a lot better.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waterfronteye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    82
    79
    25
    43
See reviews for
48
73
22
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

for the price it was good !! .. location was a bit rubbish but wasnt to far from city centre and the room was all in all good :) would recommend to a friend big tv for a standard room too and cardiff os a very nice place to visit :) especially by the bay .. loads of restaurants and bars .. plenty to do wasnt bad at all

Room Tip: room 3 was alright !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matthew811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We booked for two nights as it had WiFi in room and free parking. Very strange location at the back of an industrial estate and motorway somewhere in the distance. We arrived late in the evening and immediately there was a very damp smell on entering the room. To our dismay there was mould growing from the wall near the bathroom. The carpet outside the bathroom was soaked. There was a leak which obviously occured before our booking but they still put us in there. The next morning we asked for a change of rooms which they agreed to, however, at no point did any of the staff ask if we enjoyed our stay. Cheap but certainly not cheerful. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

I have stay at this hotel in a past... What a change!!!
Free Wifi, Flat screen tv, powerfull shower, very very confortable bed and clean room.
Friendly and Helpfull staff notably in the restaurant with a verygood homemade "Beef Bourguignon" and great Breakfast buffet with fresh pastry!

Excellent value for an economical hotel offering a full and not limited service!

Room Tip: Room 18 was the room allocated to me
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bralolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Arrived at hotel campanile Friday evening ahead of the British Cheese Festival in Cardiff Castle. We were greeted by an extremely pleasant man with a bristolian (?) accent and we went straight to our room. Can't complain, it was very clean, well kept and there was a bath (always gets bonus points from me!!) Very pleasant nights sleep. In the morn the same reception guy was there to greet us AND make us breakfast! He was also knowledgeable and told us what bus routes to take etc. we got a really nice local/warming feel from the hotel and all the staff this morning were very pleasant too. Would definitely recommend this hotel on all accounts - except for if you do not like jumping on a bus or you don't have a car to drive around - it wasn't exactly in the middle of town which is what we wanted!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed here as it was cheap for the night. My inital reaction was that it was very strangely located, essentially on an industrial estate! The hill for parking was also weird - make sure your brakes work! The reception is bright & clean - manager seems helpful, but literally only spoke to him to check in. Breakfast all you can eat is available for £6, but this isn't something that we used personally. The rooms themselves remind me of American-style motels, and I was very wary - inside the beds are ridiculously comfortable, & I did have a good night's sleep. Room was clean - just very strangely laid out. If you're looking for a cheap place to put your head down for the night, this more than does the job. Be under no illusions, it's a budget hotel - but it's not bad for the money that you pay. Parking is free, and there's plenty of it. And there's free wi-fi - not something we used as we didn't take a laptop, but it's something to bear in mind.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephhh_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

This hotel was booked by my client due to its convenient location .
On arrival I was given card key , the direction of my room was pointed to and no directions given. Needless to say I ended up in the wrong room. The numbering and layout was very confusing considering I had not stayed there before.
When I went back to the reception rather than offer to take me there he attempted to describe how to get there. However he changed his mind and took me there running ahead not asking if I needed help with my luggage .
All the while making me feel like it was a bother.
I complained the following morning to the manager and he reminded me it was not a 4/5 star hotel.
I shall not be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tayo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
3.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Cardiff

Property: Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Address: Caxton Place | Pentwyn, Cardiff CF23 8HA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Hotel Cardiff 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Louvre hotels so you can book your Campanile Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff Campanile Hotel
Campanile Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing