We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #49 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Went down for a valentine night.. cheap night. Clean and tiny.. powerful shower. Poilte service. Just downfall the fire alarm went off early in the morning. And it was only fake. Lovely. Will go back every time.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie_jade25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Katie-jade25,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your recent stay at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. We apologise for the sounding of the fire alarm, but this is there for the safety of the guests. I will pass your comments on to my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    82
    81
    25
    46
See reviews for
51
74
22
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great hotel. Very comfy beds, friendly and helpful staff, free wifi, & free parking. Well lit rooms, nice bathroom and you have the option to change the temperature in the room.

Food menu has a good choice, it's very good quality and cheap! (however there is a £3 charge if you want room service). A burger and fries, with side salad, was £7.50 and came with a free bottle of beer!!

Breakfast is £8.75 per person, for continental and a very good cooked breakfast, hot, tasty,lots of choice and includes, fruit juice and tea and coffee.

Book online. you get it much cheaper than booking on the phone or in person!
Great value, great hotel :)

Room Tip: Book online. you get it much cheaper than booking on the phone or in person!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Wendy p

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and the good value of our services. We do not offer room service, although the guest has the option to take their food back to their room for no extra charge. I will pass on your comments to my team and we look forward to welcoming you again at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Didn't know what to expect. But had a great time. Lovely host's and very helpful. Breakfast buffet was very nice, lots of choice and full English cooked fresh good value @ £8pp. Room was fair size clean and tidy, bed was perfect good size and very comfortable. Power shower in bathroom. Tv in room. Definitely going back next time im in Cardiff.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Mike W

Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I am happy to read that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Withernsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was booked through work.
Reasonable night's sleep when you get used to the car park outside and the water pump intermittently working through the night for some reason.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorky_pride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear yorky-pride,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your stay, here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast with us and I will pass on our comments regarding how friendly and helpful the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

If you're after a comfortable, clean budget hotel and don't need to worry about soundproofing then this is ok. Stayed on the first floor facing the motorway, even with the window closed you could still hear a bit of noise, but it was acceptable. You could also hear plumbing/ water pipes from other rooms which was irritating when you're trying to rest.
The landing light wasn't working so you had to be careful going up/down stairs.
Reception v pleasant.
TV had more channels than some other budget/mid end hotels I've used.
Handwash and and shower gel provided and paraben free so good for sensitive skin.
Decent pillows and duvet.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Viv790,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your stay, here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I am happy to read that you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable. I apologise for the landing light not working. This has not been rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Arrived late - staff had taken the trouble to call & warn me that reception closed an hour earlier than the website said, but said that someone would be happy to wait for me if I would be later than that. As it happened I got there with plenty of time to spare, but it was nice to know they were thinking ahead.
Rooms are in a separate two-storey block across the car park from reception, each with their own front door. The area is well lit so it felt quite secure walking across, and the curtains in the room blocked out the light from the room when it was time to sleep.
The room was basic, a little dated but clean and well equipped. The bed was huge and comfortable. There was only one towel in the bathroom, but a notice explained that there were spare towels, pillows and blankets in the wardrobe. The bath was rather small but so am I - and the shower was hot and powerful, which suited me just fine.
The heating was an electric radiator - worked perfectly well, but there was no air-conditioning - this is a budget hotel after all. There was a large TV (which I didn't use), tea & coffee, free wifi which was easy to use, and ample power sockets for me to use my laptop and charge my phone. A socket beside the bed for the phone would have been handy as I use it as an alarm clock but I am just being picky now.
I didn't try breakfast so can't comment.
The car park which is on a fairly steep slope - driving through the gate was a bit startling as the road bends and drops away quite sharply. I parked in front of reception, and the spaces there are on quite a slope, although the spaces further along were much more level. To be fair, the site is on the side of a hill and there isn't much that could be done about the slope. It's a really minor point but it might be a challenge for anyone with mobility issues, and I wouldn't have fancied it on an icy morning.
All in all, this is a great little place, superb value for £29 on a Saturday night, and I would be happy to return as long as there was no snow!

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw had steps - if you have mobility issues it would probably be worth checking wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Janey H,

That you for your detailed and extremely positive review. I am happy that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay and we hope welcome you again to the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I was not expecting luxurious accommodation because the price was very reasonable but I was very impressed by
The size of bed,
General facilities in our room (e.g. Tea and coffee, Kettle, Hairdryer, Complimentary toiletries, TV Heating, etc).
Spacious bathroom and everything was available, working & clean i.e
Hot shower, Sink, Commode, Mirror, Towels, Walls/Tiles etc.

Staff were very keen to help us and gave advice on good local restaurants and public transport etc.
The hotel is actually in a great location as it is quite near to M4 and 2-minutes walk from Waitrose.

I would definitely recommend this to any travelers looking for budget, clean and friendly accommodation!

Two bad points:-
Felt springs of the bed on one side.
Bath tub was of small size.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Usman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Usman D,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such positive comments. I am happy that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you again to the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
1.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
2.8 mi away
Tanes Hotel
Tanes Hotel
#32 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Cardiff

Property: Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Address: Caxton Place | Pentwyn, Cardiff CF23 8HA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Hotel Cardiff 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Louvre hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff Campanile Hotel
Campanile Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing