We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXACTLY WHAT I NEED”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #57 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 30 April 2014

i stayed for 3 nights and everything was great .No complaints at all.It wasn;t a 5star hotel and i knew it.
Thank you for the hospitality.i will stay everytime i visit Cardiff and i will do it for many times this year

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Παύλος Μ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank for you very positive comments regarding your stay here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I am happy that you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed one night here and would rate it above average for a budget hotel. Room was spotless, beds comfortable and the breakfast selection was excellent. We booked a none smoking room so no smell of stale smoke.

Room Tip: The front rooms are closer to the car park. This could be beneficial as the site is on a hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Hazel H,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive comments regarding your stay here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I am happy to read that you rate us above average for a budget hotel and that you had a pleasant stay. I hope that you would choose the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff once again, if you are in Cardiff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here on a Friday night. The hotel had been booked for us by a friend and for the price I have no complaints. The room was OK with all you need for an overnight stop, i.e. tele, Wi-Fi, tea making facilities but it was a bit dark and drab and could do with some brighter lights. The outside needs a clean and/or a fresh coat of paint. The hotel is in a light industrial area which is a bit quiet of an evening and I was a bit worried about the belongings in our car (having had our car broken into once before in a similar situation) but our room (nr 109) overlooked the car park and there was no problem. There is a bar and small restaurant, which Travelodges do not have, and these were reasonably priced although there was very few people using them.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank go9ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear go9ers,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your stay, here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I am happy to advise you that the whole of the bedroom block has been re-painted since your stay with us. This has made a big difference to how people look at the building. Our restaurant and bar are not so busy on a weekend as most people go into the city centre. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

It's not very often I write a bad review, but the fundamentals of an overnight hotel stay for me just weren't fulfilled here.
The positives were that there is a good car park, the staff are friendly and helpful and there is a decent TV in the room. However, the negatives were the hotel room stank of smoke, and not just cigarette smoke, the neighbours on both sides were smoking weed. The room was something akin to Pontins chalets circa 1980 with woodchip on the walls, dark wood veneered furniture and a very stained bathroom. I've got to say that it had been cleaned but some things just don't clean. The bed would have been comfortable if again it smelt clean. A small niggle was that it was impossible to use any straightners etc near a mirror and the heating was via an again circa 80's style storage heater which smelt as they do. The absolute worst thing about the night though was the noise. Half of the rooms back on to the busy dual carriageway and the rooms do not have double glazing. That coupled with the extremely noisy water pumps that chug water through to the rooms ensured that I didn't get half a decent nights sleep. This sort of place is great for say a stag night or a sordid meet up, but not for a business trip, a holiday and unless you're desperate I wouldn't recommend for families.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eagertoseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear eagertoseetheworld,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your stay at the Campanile Hotel. I am sorry to read that you were not satisfied with your stay. Although, I was happy to read that you found our staff friendly. All the rooms in the hotel are non smoking and I apologise if you feel that your room smelt of smoke. We have a strict no smoking policy in the rooms and guests are charged should they not abide by this rule. Was this reported to reception after your check in? As if it was, we would have been able to move you to a different room. With regards, to the hair straightners, I agree that the plug sockets are not close to the mirror. However, we do have an extension lead at reception, that can be used by the guests if requested. All the rooms have double glazed windows. You will find by reading some of our reviews that our main customers are business people or people here on a leisure break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Booked this hotel last minute for two nights. We know we werent going to get luxury but it was suitable for what we needed. To start with most hotels in the area charge for parking, here its free!
We had a room on the back side overlooking the grass. The hotel is like challets, two blocks of about 24 rooms on two storeys. The room was fairly small but ok, a little tired here and there. The bed was CLEAN and COMFY! The bathroom was CLEAN and had towels. A kettle and a good size flat screen was on the desk and a hairdryer provided. For about £30 a night you cant complain about it. Its literally a five minute drive into the City centre and one minute from McDonalds!
There is an onsite restaurant and bar too which looked nice.
Dont expect the Hilton but dont snub this place either. We will more than happily stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a room NON car park side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirschpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear kirschpc,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive comments regarding your stay at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with the rooms and facilities. I would like to mention that since you have stayed here, the outside of the building and the majority of the bedrooms have been re-painted. We look forward to welcoming you to the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

A reasonably priced, clean and comfortable hotel. Appeared to be popular with groups but we had no trouble with noise. A good continental breakfast with plenty of choice. An easy drive away from the city centre.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Joan B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive comments regarding your stay at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I am happy that your stay was a pleasant one and that you were happy with the breakfast choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very clean n tidy cudnt have asked for more to be honest definitely got what you pay for.... great price as well... the only thing that let it down was the breakfast!!! £8.75 for a cooked breakfast that wasnt anywhere near a decent size for the price other than that overall it was ok...

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCardiff, General Manager at Campanile Hotel Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Shane B,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your stay here at the Campanile Hotel in Cardiff. I am happy to read that you were satisfied with standard of the rooms. With regards, to breakfast, I would like to mention that £8.75 is not only for a cooked breakfast it includes an all you can eat Continental Breakfast buffet also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 74 in Cardiff
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
4.5 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#18 of 74 in Cardiff
2,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
7.4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
2.8 mi away
Tanes Hotel
Tanes Hotel
#35 of 74 in Cardiff
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Cardiff

Address: Caxton Place | Pentwyn, Cardiff CF23 8HA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: £26 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Hotel Cardiff 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Campanile Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff Campanile Hotel
Campanile Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing