We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite good value for money but you get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #43 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quite good value for money but you get what you pay for.”
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We were visiting relatives in Cardiff and really just wanted a pied-a-terre for the weekend, so we did not require restaurant facilities.
This is really a motel, not a hotel, because the accommodation block is physically separate from reception. As such, do not expect 24 hour support in form of a receptionist or concierge on site (we acknowledge there was probably a number to ring in emergencies). For guests, rowdy behaviour in the middle of the night, whether in the accommodation block or in the car park, can be an intimidating experience. We were disturbed on both nights (Friday and Saturday).
Despite this, we found the accommodation clean and reasonably comfortable. We have one comment on comfort, however. There is undoubtedly background heating in the accommodation block, but in our room there was also a wall heater that we were able to use in the evenings. However, it did not work first thing in the morning. When we mentioned this to the staff at reception, we were told that it was "on a timer". Although it would be unreasonable to expect all day and night, we felt it should have been available maybe between 7am and 9am at least.
On the plus side, the bed was comfortable, all facilities we needed worked, and we appreciated the feeling of security the shutters (controlled from inside) gave us.
All in all, it was fair value for money, and would recommend it, if only with the above reservations.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmhscreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    82
    80
    25
    44
See reviews for
49
74
22
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PL
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

location is close to a park and ride to Cardiff, which runs through to 8.30pm.
The hotel itself is very very cheap. The breakfast was fine. The rooms, for the price, are fine, they are infact pretty clean. A Waitrose is v close.
If I were in Cardiff on business for a week, I would not want to be here, it would be depressing, but I was only there for one night on a visit to Cardiff, and I thought it did the job v nicely.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grahamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Stayed here with my daughter, as she had interview at Cardiff University. Staff were pleasant on arrival. Room was small, but clean and beds were comfortable. Bathroom was good size and had bath/shower, sink & toilet. Free wifi pleased my daughter! We didn't eat in the hotel, so cannot comment on the food. There is a Waitrose and "Sizzler" pub within walking distance. Would stay again, except in bad weather - as believe entrance to hotel carpark could be treacherous if icy.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitzybudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

It's a good job the bed was comfy otherwise I would of complained. This is a child size chalet, we had to move the two single beds together to give a little more space to pass each other and one of the feet were missing so I used the bible there to level it up!. In my opinion, there was just 1 power socket available as the others are housed in to stop you from using their electric, the TV wasn't audible with the humming sound. We were unable to have a bath because it was a about 3ft long, just half a roll of toilet roll and asked for some more. GOOD points: Very clean and no bad smells. Would we stay again? No

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobTheBusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Having used the various travel accomodation providers, over a number of years, and normally securing a bargain... with advanced booking..
We found, due to the very big demand for 'bargain rooms' it was impossible to secure any reasonably priced rooms, it was suggested Campanile, personally I had associated them with only being in France..
A last minute room, nr Cardiff on a Sunday night, arriving at about 7.30, very quiet, still expecting the worst for £35.70, for 2 people..
Well we were very surprised, from the chic looking cafe/restaurant, the bar area, and the lovely French receptionist, who didnt require the room fee until our departure.. try before u buy, got my seal of approval... we found our lovely warm room.
Double porch doors, plaid curtains subtle lighting, and a lamp on the desk, better than harsh lights, FREE WI FI, tv, tea/coffee, and BISCUITS, memory foam pillows and a very comfortable bed... the bathroom was lovely and clean, complete with ample towels, soaps etc etc, lots of hot water, excellent shower.
A very quiet location and close to 2 for 1 meal deal pubs... and a tesco-garage for papers and snacks.
We will certainly include the Campanile rooms in our list of accomodation in the future,

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Working now for 3 years in Cardiff area, spend 1 to 2 night per week in Cardiff I try differents hotels but Campanile reflect like if I was at home a good standard room ensuite with excelent bed and Duvet with TV and Sat, welcome tray a good restaurant and excelent breakfast english and continentale for 1 price. Also free WiFi and excelent staff as usual. I can't understand people complaining when you can have room at £25.00 easily until February 2010 when the other hotels offer same type of promotion like £29 or £19 but you can't have this offer most of time and my surprise with Campanile you can! I was able to book via their website all my dates till February at £25.00 a night good great saving at this period over 50% discount.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bralolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowland Gill, Tyne and Wear
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Having read a review of the hotel being 3 miles(thinking, we can always walk) from Cardiff City Centre, was somewhat suprised to find it 6 miles+. The reception we received was muted to say the least, with a certain amount of "attitude" They said the taxi fare would be £15-£20, it wasn't (actually was less, but still poor info), they said the buses ran every 20 minutes, they didn't after 5 o'clock.

The maids woke you up each morning tapping on the windows rather than read the do not disturb sign. The room was musty/damp/dark/basic/in need of modernisation.

It was noisy (road noise and other guests)

Was basically clean though, and the shower was hot.

Had I paid £50 for this hotel, I would have been happy, but at £115 a night, I feel I in no way got value for money and would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 76 in Cardiff
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel
1.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
2.8 mi away
Tanes Hotel
Tanes Hotel
#31 of 76 in Cardiff
184 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff (Roath) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Cardiff

Property: Campanile Hotel Cardiff
Address: Caxton Place | Pentwyn, Cardiff CF23 8HA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Campanile Hotel Cardiff 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Louvre hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff Campanile Hotel
Campanile Cardiff
Campanile Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing