We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

My partner and I travelled to Cardiff after meeting some new friends in London earlier this year, we both were excited about coming to Cardiff and WOW! what an amazing city, but we stayed at the Royal Hotel and were nervous when we turned up outside as it looks a little old, but the moment we walked through the door it was totally different, the decor was modern on the lower floor, we took the lift to the second floor which was a bit unusual but then FANTASTIC!!! The decor was so boutiquely decorated if that is a word and I hate to stay I am a bit of a perfectionist the check in was great the young guy gave us a great welcome and we went to the room which was modern, clean and well positioned, there was no noise outside we had a massive television didnt want to go out. As a gay couple the city has so much to offer and the hotel was definately gay friendly which made us feel at ease.
We will definately be coming back as the bar was a great place to meet our friends (very modern) drinks average price but we do live in London. Well done to the training team as the staff were brilliant. Cant wait to come back ; )

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    417
    212
    58
    52
See reviews for
107
552
70
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

The worst hotel i have ever stayed in its dirty and you cant get any sleep as there is a nightclub below so loud the windows vibrate. Dont waste your money

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kt12344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed here for one night with my daughter and elderly parents. I chose the hotel because of its central location - midway between the rail station and the shops, uni and castle area - this proved very convenient and an easy resting point when the shopping got tiresome! Our rooms were very well appointed and clean. The staff were excellent - yes there was a problem with the lift, but the manager was very helpful towards my parents and had made sure that they were OK and accommodated on the lowest floor. All staff were excellent - genuinely friendly and helpful and left us with a warm feeling about Cardiff. The stay represented very good value for money and I will be using as a base for visits in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColwynChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Fab location on main street close to bars, shops and restaurants and we got a really good deal BUT the room was small and dirty. We had to complain about some rather unsavoury marks on the pillows and what liked like blood on the curtains. Staff sorted very quickly but should not have happened. Lots of things not working too including the lift and wifi.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011




The stay was ok for the £49 paid on Laterooms.com!  

However, the reception is on the second floor and the lift was 'Out of Order.'  Also 'Out of Order' was the Hotel Internet - not a great start!

The room, again, was ok but some stains on the wall, mould around bath tap and holes that had been filled but not painted!  No control over A/C so a very warm night as windows don't open!

... and finally, the fire alarm went off. Firstly, there were no staff around to say it was a false alarm and secondly the signage to get down to the ground floor was terrible - a bit of a H&S issue here.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norrkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed here for three nights and the "free wireless internet" didn't work for the entire durantion of my stay which I thought showed how much the hotel cared about it's guests. I think the location was great, only a 5 minute walk to the train station, 10 minutes from the castle and close to the shopping areas. That is really the only thing I liked about this hotel but I feel like they could do a better job.

My room smelled like paint and the floor, display pillow and seat in my room was dirty. The hotel was arranged weird, to get to my room from the entrance you either had to take two different elevators or walk tons of stairs and then take an elevator and it should be said that I only stayed on the third floor. There were also bums hanging out in a seating area on the first floor for a couple hours, not sure if they left on their own or if someone made them leave.

I did get a fairly good price though but this hotel has some things to work on. Royal, I don't think so.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jstjarnstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Our home from home in Cardiff when we make one of our visits to our son at uni there. Strange entrance with reception on 1st floor but one in it's a gem same bespoke group as another of our all times fav bermondsey square breakfast good area fantastic 5 mins from the shops or the stadium

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janbob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 88 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates. The Royal Hotel is the oldest of all the Cardiff hotels and has been welcoming guests to our fantastic city since it first opened it's doors in 1866. Our rich history includes the Captain Scott Room, where Captain Scott and his expedition team held their final public banquet before setting sail to the South Pole. Home to the Barbarians for 25 years etc. etc. Recently refurbished throughout, we're working on the next stages including free WiFi now available in every bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cardiff
The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing