We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel for a Business Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Manchester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for a Business Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Great Hotel if you are in central Cardiff with work - Three minutes walk from the station. The hotel has recently been refurbished, and the all the public areas and bedrooms are decorated to a very high standard - Bedrooms have wooden floors, flat screen TVs etc, and were very clean. Hotel staff are really friendly, and seem to be more like a family run business than a chain. If I had one small criticism, the breakfast was a bit so-so, but other than that, Excellent!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pudworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    423
    214
    59
    52
See reviews for
108
561
71
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
198 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Well over a year ago, I hesitantly booked a Suite here at the Royal Hotel as we were spending the night here before and after seeing an act at the nearby Cardiff Motorpoint Arena.

To say the hotel was in spitting distance of everything would be an understatement, literally seconds from the Central Train Station, an array of bars, clubs, restaurants and shops, you cannot fault it for location.

The hotel itself is a myriad upon entrance, getting to the second floor to reach reception is fairly simple, confusing on first attempt, but clearly signed from the ground floor. Reception were friendly, approachable and above all professional, allowing us to leave our bag whilst awaiting the room to be serviced so that we could enjoy Cardiff a little more.

Room 501 after check-in was wonderful, a king sized bed with Leather Headboard, a simply styled room that oozed boutique chic, black and red cabinets, black leather sofa and an enormous television. Noted that the thick curtains helped the double skinned "windows", original sash and new double glazed keep the noise out from the bustling street below. The bathroom was tiled, warm and inviting, noting little touches like complimentary toothbrush and toothpaste and designer toileterries packed enviromentally.

Bottle of Red Wine awaiting and a cupboard full of tricks, our heads hit the pillow on our return and we were out for the count. Breakfast isnt all buffet style either, buffet for cereals etc but a served Cooked Breakfast was a real treat, making more of the plate and really setting us up for the journey home to Devon.

This "CRASH PAD" ticked all the boxes, central location, price, service, cleanliness and above all a decent nights sleep. If we shall ever return to Cardiff for anything I have found my safe haven, many thanks to all who made my partners birthday a very enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel to benefit from the "little extra's", there is no harm in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlideal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Me and my husband stayed here over night due to seeing a comedian at the arena we found it only 5 mins to the arena and all shops and also 5 mins from the train station! The hotel was very clean tidy and decorated nicely! Everything we wanted and more!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 80cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Pending a first-time trip to Cardiff on business, The Royal was recommended to me by colleagues. The hotel itself is central to the city centre and local amenities, and easy to find. The room was clean, in good order, and nicely decorated. The staff were first-class and couldn't have been more helpful. Altogether, a perfect stay.

Room Tip: There's a bar underneath the hotel that can get noisy - as can any rooms overlooking the main sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GHMillhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed at the Royal Hotel in Cardiff for one night in June 2011,as we were seeing a show at St Davids Centre and staying in central Cardiff was ideal. This hotel is quite hidden even though it is on the main street next to the train station. All seemed quite quiet on our arrival, we were greeted by helpful reception staff and shown to our room, which was gorgeous (it was our anniversary and the bed had been scattered with rose petals!). Room was modern,clean,quiet and spacious. The bed was huge! After the show we returned to the hotel and had a night cap in the bar, very modern aswell, and there seemed to be mostly couples staying at the hotel. The breakfast room was welcoming, staff were again very helpful, and food/drink/choices were all excellent! Amount of guests staying were more than we had expected (lots more groups of people at breakfast) as the hotel had seemed very quiet all night, but its always a good sign of a popular hotel! No parking at this hotel is the only down side, but then again, if you travel by train, its ideal. Close to lots of nice restaurants, event sites and the town centre. We would definitely stay here again as we had a really enjoyable, restful stay. Lovely hotel, lovely staff, lovely food.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honeymooner0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

My first trip to Cardiff started with a stay at the Royal Hotel and I have returned weekly ever since. I am in the process of opening a business in the area and have used the hotel as a virtual office as well as a place to stay. I can honestly say that the service is exceptional, the rooms are everything you would expect from a boutique hotel (very clean, well maintained and looked after) and nothing is ever too much trouble for any of their guests and they have consitently maintained this level of service.

Room Tip: I have stayed in a variety of rooms and would happily stay in any of them but I would ask for a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitzy2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

This hotel is excellent value for money. Great location as it is right in the city. I have stayed here quite a few times now on business, and have to say it is very consistent. The staff are very freindly and very willing to please. The hotel has a very mixed clientel, but i have still not seen a family staying. If you are in town to see a show or here on business then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrianjoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#14 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#24 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 88 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates. The Royal Hotel is the oldest of all the Cardiff hotels and has been welcoming guests to our fantastic city since it first opened it's doors in 1866. Our rich history includes the Captain Scott Room, where Captain Scott and his expedition team held their final public banquet before setting sail to the South Pole. Home to the Barbarians for 25 years etc. etc. Recently refurbished throughout, we're working on the next stages including free WiFi now available in every bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cardiff
The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing