We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Marlborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Super Hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Had a three night stay at The Royal Hotel in Cardiff. Brilliant location for shopping and sightseeing. Just a few minutes from the station. Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely clean room. Very hearty breakfast. Service was fantastic. Unable to hear any outside noise, despite this being in a very busy pedestrian area. Plenty of places for eating and drinking within walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    450
    221
    61
    54
See reviews for
115
588
74
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

I stayed at the Royal on my first visit to Cardiff. The hotel is very close to the train station and an easy walk to the Cardiff Castle. The lobby and reception areas are beautifully decorated and the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was fine--the bed was very uncomfortable but ok for one night. Based on other Tripadvisor reviews, I checked the hotel website and scored a deal for the room + breakfast for less than 50 pds!!! Breakfast was great with a variety of cold foods plus the choice of several dishes off the menu or a hot buffet. I would definitely stay at the Royal if I visit Cardiff again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1234_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago for 3 nights, primarily to watch an Olympic Football match in the Millennium Stadium.

The start was a bit disappointing because we were told that check in was at 3pm, we arrived at about 1.30. I don't have a problem with the room not being ready until the appointed time but the receptionist didn't even check because "check in is at 3pm".

We stayed in a luxury room which was excellent, being large, spotlessly clean and with a huge flat screen TV. Extra benefits were a complimentary bottle of wine daily (me) and bottled water (wife). Again slightly let down because both were forgotten on our last day and had to be requested.

Breakfast was a bit odd really. On two mornings it was ordered from the menu, but on the middle one the restaurant was busier so we had the self service buffet, or, well it almost was. There was a waitress stood behind the buffet to dish out the goodies in case we were tempted to overdo it, how thoughtful. On the final day my order was forgotten, so I had to play catchup with my gloating wife. The food wasn't bad, but the selection of bread ranged all the way from cut white loaf to, well, cut brown loaf.

OK, I know I'm being picky, but the hotel is excellently located for the train station and for everything this vibrant city has to offer. A visit to Cardiff Bay is a must, it's a gentle 20-25 minute stroll from the hotel and the transformation of this area in recent years is amazing.

Staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful and I would recommend it, idiosyncracies and all.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms are well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lightmyfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Just returned from a nights stay at the Royal Hotel in Cardiff we got there a a couple of hours early and w told that our room would not be ready until 3pm so they took our bags off us and we went shopping with the great location of the hotel this was not a problem it is right in the city centre.

We got back to the hotel at 3pm and were checked in very quickly we then went to our room which was at the rear of the hotel which was better as there was a lot of work on going at the front my only gripe here is I did not see anything on the website when we booked that highlighted the work.
The room was great very clean and a good size with a large king bed good clean bathroom with bath and shower, the bar area is a good size with a good selection of drinks and all the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful.

After a good nights sleep we got up and had breakfast there is plenty of choice here which caters for everyone very good indeed.

We had a great night at the royal and look forward to our next stay which will be in Oct for the Amy Macdonald concert.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainbowfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely time I'm Cardiff and the hotel made the stay, so central and easy to find!! Staff where so welcoming, helpful and breakfast was lovely!!
The rooms were clean and bed was very comfortable, even though it was in centre you didn't hear the noice from outside.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariethom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2012

My wife and I were really looking forward to our stay as this was a mini honeymoon before our actual honeymoon in September. The hotel and our friendly reception by Rebecca on our arrival did not disappoint us.

The bedroom was clean, comfortable and looked great! You could not hear the trains, traffic and busy high street which is a huge plus for a central city located hotel.

Izabela looked after us during breakfast, and although it did take a long time it was certainly worth the wait as they were the best Eggs Benedict we have had for some time. The next morning Izabela made sure our breakfast arrived within a respectable time!

The choice of wine by the glass (only two) was not great however the email from the General Manager reassured us that for our next stay these improvements would be made, which proved to us that they are willing to listen and more importantly care!

We can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed at the Hotel on Sunday 5th August , We arrived to check approximatley 13.00hrs and the female member of staff at the reception was very helpful . She informed us that rooms are being cleaned ( it was fully booked previous night because of Olympic football at the Millennium Stadium) and check in will be approximately at 15.00hrs.
We asked for a quiet room and on higher floor,,,,,she provisionally allocated us a room on the 6th floor'..with main street view! We left our lugguage in the torage room at the Hotel....which handled very well.! We returned to the Hotel about 2 hours later after lunch for check in!

It was different member of staff at the Reception and room 412 was allocated to us on the 4th floor, (althought different room on higher 6th floor was suggested only 2 hours earlier).

The room 412 was on the smaller size and view was ok facing the busy main road ..
The room was adquately clean ,,,.., the furniture rather dated and although coffee/tea making facilities were provided but the room did not have fridge for cold drinks etc.

The bathroom was adquate but it did not have a bath tub ..only a shower unit and it had not been cleanly properly because very few hairs from previous occupant were still present in the shower cubilcle. However the shower worked ,.

The air condition system was not working properly eg not cooling the room and it was making noise constant noise. We informed the staff at the reception of this problem and we were assured that someone look into this and rectify the problem with A/C.
We left the hotel at 16.00hrs go Barry island and returned approximately 21.30pm.
The problem with A/C was not resolved....the room was warm and stuffy all night and had uncomfortable sleep!

The Royal Hotel has excellant location and everything is within walking distance.
The Hotel has long history and it is a good hotel but my stay was slightly disappointing for the reasons outlined above!

The reception area is very pleasing and it has restaurant/bar which is nice. Breakfast is available .! Location is great !

Ther Hotel needs to be updated.....

Room Tip: Get room on higher,,,,,if possible perhaps check/see rooms avaialble before decidng!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hartej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#22 of 74 in Cardiff
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 88 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates. The Royal Hotel is the oldest of all the Cardiff hotels and has been welcoming guests to our fantastic city since it first opened it's doors in 1866. Our rich history includes the Captain Scott Room, where Captain Scott and his expedition team held their final public banquet before setting sail to the South Pole. Home to the Barbarians for 25 years etc. etc. Recently refurbished throughout, we're working on the next stages including free WiFi now available in every bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cardiff
The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing