We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and very clean rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great location and very clean rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

This hotel is in a city centre location with friendly helpful staff and clean rooms.If you are staying on a weekend ask for a higher floor due to bars nearby.Ideal if travelling by train only a short walk to station. I never had any meals in the hotel cos so many places nearby. I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    423
    214
    59
    52
See reviews for
108
561
71
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

good hotel for a two night stay, parking in a nearby multistory was a bit of a pain but cheap. wifi was free (just didn't work in the room all the time). Overall a good hotel, would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jduknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

stayed here for one night with my husband and cannot fault anything. yes the hotel was covered on the outside with scaffolding but who cares in winter its dark at 3'30 anyway. The staff were charming and helpful, car parking was so convenient and for £10 a day in the centre of cardiff. Room perfectly adequate,very quiet, bed very comfortable ! Added to all that we were offered an amazing price by ringing the hotel direct. Would definitely stay there again, definitely a characterful hotel - not just one of your anonymous chains!! and so central for all shops, restaraunts, etc

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardeners94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

We couldn't get into our usual hotel in Cardiff, and were grateful there was a room here. We found the lay out a little idiosyncratic, small entrances from the street and on different levels. The special rate parking is also a little difficult to find.
The rooms are a little on the small side, perhaps the building is of an age which makes modernising difficult. However the location is very convenient for shops and St. David's Hall. It is adequate for a one night stay

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthWalesPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

Really nice hotel, friendly staff and beautiful rooms! Service was excellent.. We ordered room service and the food was lovely. Breakfast was nice also although more option for the continental would be better. Overall great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ukgirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

Excellent location for Millennium stadium and shopping. Room was fairly small with a dusty floor due to all being wooden. No view from tiny window and building covered in scaffolding. One of the bedside lamps did not work and the lounge chair foot fell off! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Glad we'd got a deal off a website, would not have been happy to pay full price. Good breakfast despite having to pay an extra 50p for a hash brown or black pudding!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

Top location for shopping in Cardiff. Rooms are ok although the decor was not to our taste, it could have been cleaner, and the mattress and bedding were quite worn. Avoid rooms on upper floors if you want a decent window. We had to ask for another room after we found that the one on the 7th floor we were initially offered had a tiny window high up on the wall, felt like a basement. Bathroom toiletries consisted of one shower gel and one shampoo (both in eco-friendly cardboard packaging) for 2 people which to my mind takes being green a step to far. Breakfast was charged extra at 9 pounds for the continental version. For this amount we would have expected decent bread but there only was cheap toast. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly though. Free wi-fi in the room did not work the first night but a new router was placed in the room next morning and then it worked fine.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on upper floors if you want a decent window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#14 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#24 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 88 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates. The Royal Hotel is the oldest of all the Cardiff hotels and has been welcoming guests to our fantastic city since it first opened it's doors in 1866. Our rich history includes the Captain Scott Room, where Captain Scott and his expedition team held their final public banquet before setting sail to the South Pole. Home to the Barbarians for 25 years etc. etc. Recently refurbished throughout, we're working on the next stages including free WiFi now available in every bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cardiff
The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing