We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, nice and quaint!”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
london
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, nice and quaint!”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Absolutely central and fantastic location for a 'boutique' hotel in Cardiff. Room was nicely sized (double room), though the bathroom is quite basic. Clean and service from staff is excellent. There is wifi in the rooms but it was intermittent. Good basic breakfast too. All in all a good place to stay for a few nights and will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    450
    222
    61
    54
See reviews for
115
588
75
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tredegar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My partner and I stayed here last April for a night when we went out in Cardiff. The rooms were absolutely stunning! So spacious and clean. The bathroom was also beautiful and clean.

All staff were lovely and helpful.

We ordered room service; food, cocktails and beer. They were so quick with our order and really lovely. Extra costs added to our bill to pay the next day, fuss free.

We loved the hotel so much that we are staying here again next month, cant wait!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katielrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We had a triple room, enormous! and a double, like a cupboard. Facilities very modern, laminate fooring etc. really comfy beds and lovely linen. Some small poor details like no fridge dusty curtains and drawers that cant be opened because the space was so small! Location very good and the exterior scaffolding hides the attractive exterior. Despite being above a bar and nightclub it was really quiet. Pleasant staff. Overall would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask fo a triple room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stickinsect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

This hotel is in a city centre location with friendly helpful staff and clean rooms.If you are staying on a weekend ask for a higher floor due to bars nearby.Ideal if travelling by train only a short walk to station. I never had any meals in the hotel cos so many places nearby. I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alyecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

good hotel for a two night stay, parking in a nearby multistory was a bit of a pain but cheap. wifi was free (just didn't work in the room all the time). Overall a good hotel, would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jduknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2012

stayed here for one night with my husband and cannot fault anything. yes the hotel was covered on the outside with scaffolding but who cares in winter its dark at 3'30 anyway. The staff were charming and helpful, car parking was so convenient and for £10 a day in the centre of cardiff. Room perfectly adequate,very quiet, bed very comfortable ! Added to all that we were offered an amazing price by ringing the hotel direct. Would definitely stay there again, definitely a characterful hotel - not just one of your anonymous chains!! and so central for all shops, restaraunts, etc

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardeners94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We couldn't get into our usual hotel in Cardiff, and were grateful there was a room here. We found the lay out a little idiosyncratic, small entrances from the street and on different levels. The special rate parking is also a little difficult to find.
The rooms are a little on the small side, perhaps the building is of an age which makes modernising difficult. However the location is very convenient for shops and St. David's Hall. It is adequate for a one night stay

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthWalesPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#22 of 74 in Cardiff
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 88 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates. The Royal Hotel is the oldest of all the Cardiff hotels and has been welcoming guests to our fantastic city since it first opened it's doors in 1866. Our rich history includes the Captain Scott Room, where Captain Scott and his expedition team held their final public banquet before setting sail to the South Pole. Home to the Barbarians for 25 years etc. etc. Recently refurbished throughout, we're working on the next stages including free WiFi now available in every bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cardiff
The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing