We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, bicycle friendly”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed here whilst cycling from Oxford to Cardiff to Carnarvon along National Bike Route 8.

We hadn't booked ahead and they had last minute vacancies. It is a good hotel for the price.

Clean, comfortable and centrally located.

Helpful staff. Yes reception is on the second floor and our bikes were stored in the office behind reception. The staff made us feel welcome.

Breakfast not included in the deal so we had it across the mall.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parwan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

977 - 983 of 1,286 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2013

My son and I stayed at the Royal for 2 nights from 25th January 2013.
We had a twin room on the 4th floor - the room was perfect in size, plenty of room for both of us to move about. The bathroom had a walk in shower and was very clean. In fact the whole of the Hotel that i saw was clean and fresh.
The staff at breakfast and Reception were all very friendly/helpful. On the morning that we left the lift broke down - Maryann from Reception came and collected our suitcase to help me :)
We had food on the Friday evening in the bar - this was nice (pizza, chips) and was very reasonable in cost.
I feel that the Royal is a great location in Cardiff - it was a 5 minute walk from Cardiff Central train station and took us about 15 minutes to walk to the Motorpoint Arena.
The main shopping district is literally across the pedestrian pavement, there is also a taxi rank just outside House of Fraser.
Included in the deal I had was full breakfast - this was a very big breakfast and all very nice. On the Sunday morning it was cooked breakfast but buffet style. There was plenty of everything and you wasn't rushed to eat and leave your table.
I would definitely return to The Royal and would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BabeOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Very basic rooms; no carpet, tiny windows looking onto the air conditioning units of the next door building, and the geometrically smallest shower ever to admit a human being.

It is right in the middle of Cardiff - walking distance to the pubs and rugby. And the staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This hotel offers great value right in the city centre. It has all the ameneties of the city around it and is very clean and quiet. The reception is on the second floor which does make it a little disorientating at first. The reception staff are very helpful, polite and cheerful. The decor of the whole place is very tasteful and looks recently refurbished. Rooms are clean, comfortable and fully equipped. A good choice in Cardiff and one that I'll be using again.

One tip: Breakfast was not included in the rate I got, which was fine as I got a very good deal, but rather than pay the rather high breakfast charge, go across the road where you can get a fantastic full English breakfast for £3.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cligereen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Although the hotel is undergoing exterior refurb that does not detract from the interior comfort. The staff were first class, nothing was too much trouble. On arrival heating was not working, we're moved to another room immediately. Breakfast was good and simple well prepared and presented. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoff e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed in this Hotel this week (January) with snow falling outside. Twin bedded room (7th floor) had no carpets and was freezing when we arrived. We turned the heating on on arrival but, I had my coat on top of the bed as there were no blankets or rugs in the room. My husband did not bring slippers and found the bedroom floor and the bathroom floor very cold. Shame no one thought to put the heating on in anticipation of our arrival.
Otherwise a good location, complicated to drop off luggage and then park in multi storey and find oneself into the Hotel, which is covered with scaffolding and the reception upstairs (2 different lifts to get there) Staff, food, and service all excellent. Great location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne191253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We needed a hotel close to the rail station, rugby grounds and the bars/restaurants close by - the Royal hit all the buttons and yet was also quiet despite being above an O'Neills bar and a Missoula cocktail bar/club. The staff were really excellent and the room was fine for two nights, though very warm (kept the aircon on at 17 degrees to maintain livable temp). Our Sons room, 2 doors down was cold! The bathrooms are modernised with shower cubicle rather than bath, which suited us. This hotel has a layout based on the fact that it is an old building so don't expect the standard modern hotel model - this also suited us. Shops accessed across road so location is perfect for all Cardiff sights.

Room Tip: Higher the room the quieter it will be - they start on floor 3 we were on floor 4. Floor 5 would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 88 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: £43 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates. The Royal Hotel is the oldest of all the Cardiff hotels and has been welcoming guests to our fantastic city since it first opened it's doors in 1866. Our rich history includes the Captain Scott Room, where Captain Scott and his expedition team held their final public banquet before setting sail to the South Pole. Home to the Barbarians for 25 years etc. etc. Recently refurbished throughout, we're working on the next stages including free WiFi now available in every bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cardiff
The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing