We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in cardiff”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel was the best part of my 11 day vacation. Service was excellent. The staffs were friendly. 24 hours service desk. They helped me with all the local transports as well. Breakfast was good. Rooms were so clean and well serviced. Internet speed was decent. Zero noice disturbances. Overall It was a good place at a very central location and nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RagRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

869 - 875 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

The hotel was very close to the train station and very easy to find. The staff was pleasant and the room was clean! The only bad part was we didn't have any air conditioning so they brought us a fan. It probably wouldn't have been bad if the weather was cooler, but it was high 70F (26-28C) and the windows don't open (safety laws). We stayed 2 nights and they were not able to get the AC fixed. I couldn't get another room because they were fully booked. I would stay again, but just as long as there will be AC during the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

staff excellent rooms large breakfast varied and plentifull showers clean and hot beds big only stayed 1 night but loved it strange set up as you have to take lift to second floor on arrival to reception
a credit to cardiff and a credit to the hotel trade keep up the good work we paid £60 for the one night with breakfast incluyed a bargin i think as with all hotels a little nisey when guests arrive or leave but same same the world over very good location in the heart of the city centre

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Recently spent a Sunday night here. Firstly the location is perfect. 1 min walk from train and bus station and is completly in the centre of the City.

Its located above O,Neils Irish Bar which can get quite rowdy on a Fri/Sat but even then the noise is not heard in the hotel.Its perfect for shopping,eating out and seeing all the fantastic attractions this Great City has to offer.

The rooms were very nice and it seemed had recently been upgraded.Lovely bathrooms,huge TV,nice bed etc.
Staff were great also.

The one area which most City Centre hotels have is parking...........

My advice is to park in the car park just under the bridge across the road from the Motorpoint Arena.It only costs £5.00 for 24hours and is a 5 min walk from the hotel.

We were so impressed we have booked to stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: Some rooms at the back of the hotel have poor views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccfceuropesNO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We booked the hotel via an on line hotel search site as we were going to see a local show and needed a room for three adults, these are very few and far between. Anyhow I managed to get a three bedded room for the night for £99 which when split 3 ways wasn't bad. The hotel is literally 5 minutes walk from the railway and bus station and is in one of the main streets, so a car is not needed. The small entrance looks a bit strange as you have to navigate a few steps then take the lift up to the reception but once inside it is fine. The young lady on reception was welcoming and efficient. We were pleasantly surprised by the room as we thought it would be cramped but not at all it was very roomy with 3 very comfortable single beds, a sofa and large television. It was quite modern, clean and tidy. The bathroom was also very roomy with nice hot water, towels for each of us and some nice free toiletries to use. In a cupboard was tea, coffee and hot chocolate and nice biscuits. The windows in the room were very small and had a restricted view so you were unable to see out of them (but that didn't bother us). We didn't eat in the hotel, as we had a meal out before the show but we did come back and have cocktails in the comfortable private bar afterwards. The staff mostly seemed very pleasant. Although the hotel is in the main street with some busy pubs nearby it was quiet. I would recommend the hotel for a short stay and would book it again. There isn't a swimming pool or gym though.

Room Tip: If you require a quiet room away from the front of the hotel then ask for one and also if you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natureangel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Arrived in Cardiff without anywhere to stay, and after orientating myself found this great hotel right in the centre of everywhere I wanted to be. Lovely room, with a great view, and excellent staff, always willing to help. Great bar and atmosphere in the evening as well.

Would definitely look to come here again when next in Cardiff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreyWelshWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Fab room good location for city and very reasonable price but having to park in an ncp carpark not very close to hotel really let it down and we wouldn't do this again. Next time we'll look for a hotel with parking

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KF300036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#21 of 74 in Cardiff
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 88 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £44 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates. The Royal Hotel is the oldest of all the Cardiff hotels and has been welcoming guests to our fantastic city since it first opened it's doors in 1866. Our rich history includes the Captain Scott Room, where Captain Scott and his expedition team held their final public banquet before setting sail to the South Pole. Home to the Barbarians for 25 years etc. etc. Recently refurbished throughout, we're working on the next stages including free WiFi now available in every bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cardiff
The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing