We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, good size rooms, nice staff”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Family of 5 (3 children) stayed here in September 2013 for 5 nights in 2 rooms. The rooms were a good size - the kids had a room with 3 beds, a huge TV, and a bath/shower which they loved. The staff were lovely and easy to get on with, and the breakfast was plentiful. The location is in the middle of the main shopping district and a close walk to the stadium and train station. Even though it was above and in the middle of pubs it was quite quiet. The room was stuffy (windows don't open) and the aircon was not working well, but a floor fan was supplied when requested.

There's plenty of shopping nearby and within walking distance, and the bus stop around the corner will take you to Cardiff Bay in a couple of minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,247)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

812 - 818 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

The hotel was in a great locaion in cardiff right on the main street, within easy access of all the bars, clubs etc. The hotel was clean and well decorated though drinks were a little over priced. The room was quite small and the air conditioning wasnt working when we stayed although an electric fan was provided. I would stay in this hotel again as it was very convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Tidy hotel, very friendly staff, rooms adequate but very hot, air con wasn't working, fans provided which didn't really help, nice bar, great location smack bang in the middle of bars and restaurants. Would recommend and would come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Celtic_bhoyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

While I can't argue with location and general room comfort, my experience was not being able to have a shower when I wanted to. I understand water pressures and heavy use first thing in the morning, but being told by reception that I'd have to wait ten minutes for other people to finish showering before I could finish my own does not, I believe, constitute a four star room in a supppsedly modern city. I have stayed in 2 and 3 star hotels in water conscious countries and never been told I'd have to wait to finish my shower!! My complaint, which I e-mailed to the hotel was that particular room should never have been advertised or charged at a four star rate.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malwale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Don't let the outside fool you this is a good place to stay. Two blocks from train and castle. Lots of bars, pubs and restraunts near by. Helpful and nice staff. Larger rooms. Nice quiet bar. Great hot breakfast. Great value. BTW some locals in Cardiff are very grumpy

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This was my first time in this hotel, on a weekend visit to the City. The hotel itself was extremely good value and the service was good. There was a great bar which stayed open very late and served fab cocktails! The room was perfectly adequate (4th floor double), being well decorated, clean and spacious. Great little extras like a Samsung tv, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and Bee Kind toiletries, and the walk in shower was great too! There was air conditioning in the room but it wasn't enough on its own and so therefore I had to open the window - which is when things weren't so great! Unfortunately such a great central location comes with a lot of noise - and I mean a lot of noise! I struggled to sleep because if I shut the window it quickly became too hot and I couldn't sleep anyway - which was a shame as the bed was so comfortable and the pillows amazing! Maybe in the colder months the window wont need opening and noise wouldn't be a problem.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forestlady2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel.In a good location close to the train station and shops etc.
Hotel was very clean and tastefully decorated.Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Room was modern with comfy bed and fab pillows.On the downside it was extremely hot in there and couldn't open window .There was a portable fan and air conditioning but didn't help much.
My friend was in the room next door (4th floor),she was able to open her window but couldn't sleep because of noise outside in early hours of the morning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertofloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#24 of 74 in Cardiff
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 88 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £48 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates. The Royal Hotel is the oldest of all the Cardiff hotels and has been welcoming guests to our fantastic city since it first opened it's doors in 1866. Our rich history includes the Captain Scott Room, where Captain Scott and his expedition team held their final public banquet before setting sail to the South Pole. Home to the Barbarians for 25 years etc. etc. Recently refurbished throughout, we're working on the next stages including free WiFi now available in every bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cardiff
The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing