We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints at all! Very good hotel”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night sun 03 nov with my partner. Lovely room plenty big enough for 2people, very modern room plenty of storage. Heaters provided which was excellent, very big comfy bed! All very clean. People moan about the noise, we stayed on Sunday Cardiff v Swansea day and yes there is a bit of noise but hardly anything, especially considering all the bars and clubs around it and underneath. No complaints at all about tho hotel very helpful staff we left our bags in the very secure luggage area from 12pm and didn't check in until 5pm. we didn't use any of the bar area etc but they all looked lovely we also didn't have breakfast at the hotel we went to the prince of wales across the road. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone! Very good price to for such a central location!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mrl940852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 1,284 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Excellent location, all staff very good, nice and friendly. Room was very good if maybe on the small size.
The only negative for my one night stay in this hotel, was because of the breakfast, cereals toast etc and tea and coffee was all self service which was wonderful. However if you want the full English breakfast, be prepared for a long wait, nearly 50 minutes we had to wait for it.
The restaurant was not even busy, only maybe 20 people in there, but all the waiters / waitresses were doing was going round apologising for the delay, many people got up and left without having there cooked breakfast. When it did arrive it was nothing special, certainly not worth the wait.
A very stupid thing for us to be reminded of our stay at the Royal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickthebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My Wife and myself stayed at the Royal about a twelvemonth ago now, room, staff and grub were all first class.Very relaxing place to stay at with all of Cardiff's amenities on it's doorstep.We were on the fifth floor and have to say we didn't hear a peep from anywhere.We also had a complimentary bottle of wine waiting for us on arrival to our room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We booked the hotel to celebrate our wedding, we got married in our home town but love Cardiff so wanted to spend a few nights in the city! On our arrival at the hotel we were upgraded and given wine in our room. All members of staff were very welcoming and made us feel at home and even though we felt a little delicate on our second day we were asked again if we would like wine. The location was brilliant and hotel facilities made our stay lovely. A huge thank you to the manager and all the staff, we will b back! Mr and mrs Smith

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarsar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I needed a meeting space urgently after being let down by another provider. Scott @ The Royal Hotel Cardiff, was incredibly understanding and helpful, stepping in to offer me use of one of the meeting spaces at The Royal Hotel.

First, I commend Scott and his team for being friendly, helpful, and welcoming. The meeting room itself was perfect. Large, nicely decorated, double aspect allowing a good deal of natural light, into a comfortably decorated room, with a beautiful night scene print of Cardiff dominating the one wall.

I did not see much of the wider hotel. It looked busy, had a 'chic' feel, and those public areas I did see, were clean., with an interesting mixture of very comfortable purple sofas, and beautiful prints on the walls.

This certainly looks like a great hotel, very centrally located, with very attentive staff, from which to explore Cardiff.

Try it for yourselves!

Room Tip: I have not been able to leave feedback on rooms, etc as I did not stay at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CliveSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

ExCELLENT first visit and it wont be my last.
central location.
polite staff and clean rooms.
Excellent self service full english breakfast..

Used the evening meal deal in a fab little restraunt across the road from hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lynneMerthyrTydfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a great location, really nice rooms and with a bath which is always a bonus.
The hotel is on the 1st floor which does involve some stairs even with the lift, but is very close to the train and bus station, take the back door and across the street. The staff are lovely and very helpful and friendly.
We didn't have breakfast here but ate in the pub just down the street from the hotel, it was great value and really nice.
Lovely hotel comfortable, clean and friendly and in a great location.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lola123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 88 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £44 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates. The Royal Hotel is the oldest of all the Cardiff hotels and has been welcoming guests to our fantastic city since it first opened it's doors in 1866. Our rich history includes the Captain Scott Room, where Captain Scott and his expedition team held their final public banquet before setting sail to the South Pole. Home to the Barbarians for 25 years etc. etc. Recently refurbished throughout, we're working on the next stages including free WiFi now available in every bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cardiff
The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing