We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good - Noisy & Lift & AC - always breaking down. Windows don't open”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Good - Noisy & Lift & AC - always breaking down. Windows don't open”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Treated me like a thief when I was there , even though I spent a lot of money with them & was returning guest.

They have a 'nasty piece of work ' employed there- some kind of 'revenue protection manager' .

I won't go into detail , they know what they did m I will only add a few things - they try & double the price for when Cardiff are playing home - it's not worth it .

Constantly, the lift does not work which is both a fire hazard & again a sign of a financially 'delicate' company and air con is out if action or for one reason or another is ineffective - lack of servicing ?

Those thinking or staying in Cardiff should know it's a buyers market, far too many hotels chasing your custom within spitting distance to this hotel you have a few which are far far better the Raddisson Blu , designed as 5 star but trading as four star & the Maldron both are head and shoulders about this conversion of a decrepit hotel above a noisy O'Neill's pub.

Note, reception here is not on the ground floor, if your taking somebody special away it would be madness to stay here above the Maldron or the Raddisson in fact Sleeperz in better than this place.

Finally, because this hotel is above one of the UK's most notorious drunken late night strip of bars ( with all the noise that entails) the place employes 'heavies' 24/7. The bar underneath you has a licence until 2am .

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up - but then you risk the lift not working .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    444
    216
    61
    54
See reviews for
113
579
74
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

My husband had booked this alongside tickets to see the Stereophonics.The staff were more than helpful,we had trouble locating the correct carpark,a quick call and great directions.We found the staff all very friendly and polite.The breakfast was good and plentiful.The reception area plush so i had great expectations for room.Sadly i was disappointed,the room on 7th floor was small,the bedlinen was clean but marked, pillows lumpy.The towels smelt quite revolting and the hand towel had something smeared on it.Also at 6am there was alot of traffic noise.The location was good for shopping,but there are other similar priced hotels that we ve stayed in and will go back to.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel is centrally situated the rooms are clean and all is as you would expect for the price. The staff were really helpful and friendly and deserve recognition for the service provided. The location is the selling point for this hotel most places are walkable with ease.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Snorbens S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Clare, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed here and a few times and was once again happy with my stay. I stayed by myself in a double room which was very small and tight for space. It was fine for myself for the two nights but for two people, it would be a struggle.
The room in general was clean and comfy and the bed was great, bathroom was also clean and had a great shower head. tea/ coffee supplies and a safe were also provided in the room and a hair dryer also which blew out cold air instead of hot air, I gave up using it after a few minutes as there was no point in using it really - bring your own hair dryer!
my rate of 69 pound a night included breakfast, either cold or hot. Breakfast itself was nice and relaxing and I was greeted the first morning by two men( a man who was in his 50's I think and another guy who had dark skin and was a bit small) on the door who were very friendly and welcoming.
The cold buffet was a self service with foods such as cereals, juices, breads, yoghurts, tea, coffee and toast. I also ordered scrambled egg with sausages and it came within minutes and was tasty.
The hotel itself is very modern and has a nice elegant side to it and the bar is very trendy also - I did not eat in here during my stay. However, upon check in I was not greeted very much with a hello or how are you rather than what's my name.........
It is in a great location within the city centre as the train station is around the block and all the main shopping streets, shops, bars restaurants are within walking distance.
Good Stay.

Room Tip: turn on heating in the rooms once you arrive, rooms a bit cold - heating system is on the wall, mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nisior87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions now, staying in both a double room and a triple room. I have never been disappointed with the rooms, all decent size and clean. Staff are always friendly and it is ideally situated :)

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bethan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

My wife & I have just returned from a three night break at The Royal Hotel Cardiff . Our worries about the hotel after reading previous reports about proved unfounded . Noise from the street was minimal especially as the Wales v Argentina game was on , even after the game & into the night noise wasn't a problem . The only noise came from herd of elephants in the next room to ours at 2-45am Saturday morning . Good hot shower , good hot breakfasts & polite staff really made our stay enjoyable . Lastly , if anyone is thinking about booking a banquet night at the castle , they should do it because it excellent . Great stories & food , lovely singing really made for a most enjoyable night , can't wait for next time .

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

An historic hotel with excellent customer service and the room was really comfortable, clean, modern and had complimentary touches. Very impressed and right in the city centre. The Captain Scott room is a must see with its magnifcent oak panels from his boats, and they also surround the bar in Fitz's Bar. The hotel also has a Bee Preservation Sanctuary on the 6th floor which is supported by the Welsh Government and I'm so pleased that something like this is in place. Thank you to all the team!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vero186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,081 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 88 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates. The Royal Hotel is the oldest of all the Cardiff hotels and has been welcoming guests to our fantastic city since it first opened it's doors in 1866. Our rich history includes the Captain Scott Room, where Captain Scott and his expedition team held their final public banquet before setting sail to the South Pole. Home to the Barbarians for 25 years etc. etc. Recently refurbished throughout, we're working on the next stages including free WiFi now available in every bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cardiff
The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing