We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but a bit of a let down”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Location but a bit of a let down”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Booked this hotel for a weekend away.
The room was on the fourth floor and seemed to be either a store cupboard which had been converted to a room or an attempt to maximise the size of the hotel using the roof space. The windows were too high to see outside. The bed was good and the bathroom nice and the free bottle of wine eased the pain of the above drawbacks.
There was no parking at the hotel and you had to park in the public car park five minutes walk away. It was possible to pay at the hotel for the car park, but it was still not cheap.
There was no where to unload the car (except in the bus stop at the rear entrance)
One of the bedside lamps wasn't working, which is a small detail, but should be checked by the staff periodically anyway.
On the upside, the staff were friendly enough, although we had little to do with them beyond check-in and check-out..
The location was right in the centre of town and was brilliant.
Overall the stay here was ok, but I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveo_1M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    436
    216
    59
    54
See reviews for
111
571
73
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My partner and I stayed in the hotel in January, on a Monday for my birthday. First impressions were okay, the reception staff were not particularly welcoming, but we thought nothing of this. We were put on the 4th floor. The room was incredibly small, freezing cold, had no view and actually smelt disgusting when we entered. The heating in the room was broken, so they provided us with a tiny electric radiator to heat the entire room. We still shrugged this off as we paid considerably less because of it being a Monday.

Due to the time of year etc, the hotel had very few guests. However, they seemed to put every guest they did have on the same floor, which made the hotel seem although it was fully booked and very noisy. I woke up every hour due to noisy groups out in the hall way.

After getting a few hours sleep we were woken up at 9:00am by the cleaner knocking on the door! Bearing in mind that check out is not until 11:00am, and the hotel had very few guests which should have meant no confusion when cleaning rooms that were actually empty!

I would definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraM241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Booked a spontaneous one day trip to Cardiff. This hotel offered a good rate and is situated at a very practical location. It is in walking distance of the train station and town. The room was cozy, had a nice interior and was clean. Would definitely recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Benedikt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed in again January, for a visit to the theater, Great hotel , very clean and warm , great comfy beds!
Wish i had had the egg Benedict for breakfast instead of the full English, could have been hotter !

Great place to stay , very central to everything in town .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayqueenwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I've stayed a few times and the hotel, food and staff are very good indeed. What lets the hotel down is the parking which is a walk away and can be a chore if its raining or cold.

The rooms are well appointed, quiet and very comfortable with good TV's, the bar area is very nice with a reasonable selection of drinks and snacks. You are very close to local shopping, restaurants etc and pretty spoilt for choice.

For sports fans the Cardiff Blues stadium and Millennium Stadium are literally a five minute walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

The hotels was really nice and clean, staff were all polite and helped with anything we wanted. Although it was in the main road, you can't hear any of the people below so good night sleep. Only complaint would be the layout of the hotel reception quite hard to find at first.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed in July 2013 for one night. The hotel is gorgeous and well located. On arrival we were greeted by an extremely rude receptionist who didnt give us any information about our stay. We went on to find the room...small but exactly what we needed, bed by far the best I've stayed in. another plus was the air con as it was extremely hot that day. only downside of the room was the bathroom which had a raised floor which both my partner and I tripped over on numerous occasions. We went downstairs later and asked the receptionist to order us a taxi, she said it would be 5 minutes, but after half an hour of waiting it didnt arrive and we missed our dinner reservations. The next morning we were woken at half 8 by a cleaner hoovering in the next room and bashing against the wall. I reception to complain and they said we could stay in the room an extra hour, but we were already awake and now very grumpy. Would stay again if it werent for the staff!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KD5232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,050 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 73 in Cardiff
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,036 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 88 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates. The Royal Hotel is the oldest of all the Cardiff hotels and has been welcoming guests to our fantastic city since it first opened it's doors in 1866. Our rich history includes the Captain Scott Room, where Captain Scott and his expedition team held their final public banquet before setting sail to the South Pole. Home to the Barbarians for 25 years etc. etc. Recently refurbished throughout, we're working on the next stages including free WiFi now available in every bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cardiff
The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing