We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Yeovil
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My husband and I booked a de luxe room for a Sunday night in February. The hotel is situated right on the pedestrian precinct and close to the bus terminus and the train station. It is right by the wonderful shops and fantastic selection of restaurants. Our room was spacious with enough seating, a good shower and bathroom, all immaculately clean. The bed was large and very comfortable. We were on the 6th. Floor with good views. The Millennium Stadium was just visible over the opposite buildings. We both had a great night's sleep. Breakfast was excellent, a great selection of food, and the cooked items arrived fresh and fast. The staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming. Thanks for the lunch recommendation, it suited us perfectly.
We are looking forward to staying there again in May, and using the discount voucher we were given for a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    442
    216
    61
    54
See reviews for
112
578
74
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Based on some of the reviews from trip advisor I thought I'd book this hotel as a place to stay during my three days in Cardiff during Feb. first things first. If you are travelling by train, fantastic! Short walk from station. However, if you are travelling by car, because of its city centre location, car parking can be an issue. If you use the nearest car park it's 12 pound for 24 hours. There is a cheaper car park by the big sleep and Motorsport arena which charges 6 pound for 24 hours. So good saving there. It's about ten min walk as opposed to five min walk from hotel. Okay, so the hotel is situated on a road full of bars and pubs, but just two minute walk from all the shops and restaurants. So quite a good central location. My advice is book directly through the hotel. The receptionists can give you a better choice on rooms, and offer a discount when you book direct. I upgraded to the deluxe double room. This was just as cheap as premier inn, and other hotels, but offered a lot more in terms of luxury. The room was big and spacious, came with free wifi, a nice bottle of wine on ice, a huge tv, bath robes and complimentary toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities. As a tip, because of its location near bars and clubs I would imagine this hotel to be quite noisey during weekends. I stayed mid week and slept very well. Request a room on the higher floors. I stayed on level six. Nice and high up to avoid any street noise, and gave a lovely view of the skyline of the city. ( room 606) I would defiantly come and stay at this hotel again, offered very good value for money. Just be cautious of what room you are booking, and think twice about where to park your car.

Room Tip: Higher floors have no street noise. Ask for a room high up. I stayed in room 606. Lovely views and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alastair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My husband & I stayed for one night on 15 February in room 702. The location of the room was on the corner of the hotel with good views from the (high) windows. The room was warm & comfortable with a lovely hot shower & great smelling honey/lemon shower gel. Although we did not hear a peep from our neighbours we did hear lots of noise from the Cardiff revellers all night & then the street cleaners at 6am on the Sunday morning- but we were prepared for this with cotton wool for our ears. After all, we were in a busy city centre & the hotel has no control over the street noises, I suppose it is a trade-off for the fantastic location of the hotel.
We didn't pay for breakfast, we brought with us porridge pots from home & we also visited the Sainsburys local shop seconds away from the hotel, thus saving ourselves quite a bit of money- having splashed out the day before on a visit to Viva Brazil & a trip to the New Theatre!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

I'm staying here now and I was very happy the first night but since not so happy, the toiletries have not been replaced fully. Bedding is clean but duvet beneath the cover has large dirty stain on it which can be seen without removing covers....

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanyking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here overnight, initial thoughts were good. However there was damp above the window, the wifi was terrible, the shower constantly dripped all night, it was very loud from nightclubs and drunk people outside and the rooms weren't soundproofed as you could hear everything that was happening in the other rooms.
Despite all of these problems, the view from the window was very good, the bed was very comfortable, the tv was free-view allowing us to watch many channels, there was free air conditioning and a electric heater allowing you to choose your own temperature, very stylish rooms and very clean!
Overall, we would definitely stay again if the price was more reasonable, as £74.95 is a lot for one night.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairesxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanidloes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here for one night back in October 2013 with two friends. The hotel itself difficult to fault! Excellent location, right next to shops and bars. Staff were fantastic, really helpful and friendly. Stayed in a triple room and the room was huge! The TV wasn't working at first but a call to reception and two members of staff were sent to our room within minutes to fix the problem. My only faults would be that the taxi we requested at reception clearly hadn't been booked as we were waiting in the cold for 20 minutes before we decided to call one ourselves and also at the hotels entrance you are greeted with a vast amount of steps. There is another door, around the side of the hotel, which is ground level with a lift up to reception, however unless you know of it, there is no notices to suggest that a lift is available just around the corner.
Overall though, great nights sleep and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Booked this hotel for a weekend away.
The room was on the fourth floor and seemed to be either a store cupboard which had been converted to a room or an attempt to maximise the size of the hotel using the roof space. The windows were too high to see outside. The bed was good and the bathroom nice and the free bottle of wine eased the pain of the above drawbacks.
There was no parking at the hotel and you had to park in the public car park five minutes walk away. It was possible to pay at the hotel for the car park, but it was still not cheap.
There was no where to unload the car (except in the bus stop at the rear entrance)
One of the bedside lamps wasn't working, which is a small detail, but should be checked by the staff periodically anyway.
On the upside, the staff were friendly enough, although we had little to do with them beyond check-in and check-out..
The location was right in the centre of town and was brilliant.
Overall the stay here was ok, but I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveo_1M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,080 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 88 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates. The Royal Hotel is the oldest of all the Cardiff hotels and has been welcoming guests to our fantastic city since it first opened it's doors in 1866. Our rich history includes the Captain Scott Room, where Captain Scott and his expedition team held their final public banquet before setting sail to the South Pole. Home to the Barbarians for 25 years etc. etc. Recently refurbished throughout, we're working on the next stages including free WiFi now available in every bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cardiff
The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing