We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stay”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed for business. Easy to find. Very central location. Staff we welcoming and helpful. Room was clean and beautifully decorated. Everything was easy to use and find. Room temperature was under my control and there was loads of hot water.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

i stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and never had a bad stay! would recommend it to anybody who wants to stay in the center of everything the staff are amazing from the front of house to housekeeping they just can't do enough for you .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdj1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I arrived at the hotel gone past midnight, the intercom was not working so i stood there a while buzzing, but a worker came down to let me in because they could see i was having difficulty on the cctv
The staff were so welcoming and sypathetic that i was tired and been travelling a while.
They were extremley polite and very efficient and quick to check me in.
My room was a little noisey but i live near caridff and totally understood it was a bank holiday and st marys street would be busy. It didnt take long for me to sleep and i slept soundly all night, they guys on reception gave me an extention to my check out free of charge, although this was very kind and apprcited due to being so tired i had left failry earlier than the check out time.
I would defianlty stay here again, the rooms were clean and the whole deco was very nice and contempary and I will stay next time for breaksfast as i dont think anything can be at fault at this hote.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terri j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Great location ,5 mins from train & bus station and on the doorstep to a haven of shops & bars.20 mins walk straight down Bute St to Cardiff Bay (very cosmopolitan)and Cardiff castle is literally along the road, easy on the eye & a great day out...The price for The Royal Hotel reflects on the place.... hotel amenities are basic but good value, nice looking bar area &, friendly staff, modern interior in bedroom albeit a bit tired looking probably due to its vast turnover of clientèle), breakfast is a must in Captain Scott Room.

1 more thing, Cardiff is a city - therefore expect some noise 24/7...if its peace and quiet you want & restful nights sleep, I would opt for The Hilton - swankier part of the city!

Bargain break for myself & son who are 'Whovians'....would most definitely stay over again :-)

Room Tip: Room 416 is a bit noisy because of the street below. Good view though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel is quite nice and in very central position. The only downside are windows of all hotel rooms that cannot be opened by guests, so you cannot breath fresh air inside your room. For the rest, room furniture and bed quality are of high standard. Reception staff is friendly. I am not rating it 5points only because of the locked room-windows, that really downgrade this great hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank fabmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

On arrival things looked fantastic, place was modern, clean and staff are very polite, but we were allocated room 602 which is a room on the top floor meaning windows were very high. The problem started at 11.30 that evening, some sort of drilling sound began which made the loudest noise ever and also made our bathroom and bedroom wall vibrate, this drilling continued for 8 hours meaning we got no sleep what so ever,eventually at 7.30 in the morning it stopped, at this point i was VERY tired and annoyed with the lack of sleep, so we decided to check out and leave asap and of course reporting the incident to reception. I was shocked with her response if im honest, she informed us that there was no workmen in the building and she had no idea what the noise for 8 hours was, and she apologised for any inconvenience and carried on!! By this point i was so tired and annoyed the easiest option was to walk out.
Probably will not be staying here again, unless i am guaranteed silence to actually sleep in

Room Tip: Do not stay in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel and would definitely go back there. It's in a great situation being a very short walk from the central station and surrounded by some great bars and restaurants, not to mention the stadium almost on the doorstep. I agree with the other review that it is much easier to enter the hotel via Westgate Street if you have luggage or are less mobile. The staff can't do enough for you, so freindly. The breakfast on the first day was a buffet which I had to ask to be heated up as I found it not hot enough, but the second day the food was cooked to order and so much choice too - all the usual types of breakfast items, bacon tomatoes, sausage etc. but also, kippers, omelettes, eggs benedict, scrambled egg and smoked salmon. I was also impressed that there was fresh grapefruit along with melon and oranges, the usual juices and continental selection. I had a single room on the 4th floor, and my friends were on the 7th floor in a twin room. My room was very nice, gorgeous bathroom with shower cubicle, and a really comfy bed, I slept very well there, and so did my friends. I agree that the floorboards are quite cold and make the bed move a bit but the room itself was attractive, spotless and the street noise minimal with the excellent glazing. My friends on the 7th floor found the water pressure to be poor, but said they would stay there again happily. Overall we got a great deal and it was certainly good value for money.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saints_fans_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#22 of 74 in Cardiff
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: 88 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £43 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates. The Royal Hotel is the oldest of all the Cardiff hotels and has been welcoming guests to our fantastic city since it first opened it's doors in 1866. Our rich history includes the Captain Scott Room, where Captain Scott and his expedition team held their final public banquet before setting sail to the South Pole. Home to the Barbarians for 25 years etc. etc. Recently refurbished throughout, we're working on the next stages including free WiFi now available in every bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cardiff
The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing