We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“huge hotel right in the centre of the city”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“huge hotel right in the centre of the city”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed here in May on business and its a clean hotel, rooms with all the mod cons including free wifi, tea , coffee, toiletries, even had a bath in my room,, you pay extra for breakfast no car park on site - hotel very good value for money. would I say again yes.
ps loads of bars very near :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham696969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    444
    217
    61
    54
See reviews for
114
579
74
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We paid a very reasonable amount per night and received a very clean room, it included bathroom accessories and tea and coffee facilities. Great breakfast. Extremely friendly staff and the manager was checking our stay was comfortable, would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kel0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very central and easy to access, for the price it was good value however the room was a lot smaller than we imagined and needed refurbishment . The staff were ok, but seemed a little over it. The breakfast we had sent up to the room was average. The hotel would be great for a party weekend i wouldn't bother for anything else.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Came here this weekend and it's a complete dump! I would say it should be a 3 star hotel. Decor is tired, bedrooms are small and the layout with all the random staircases and lifts is badly designed. Wouldn't recommend this to my worst enemy. Added to that the street that it's on is full of rowdy groups in the evening topped off by police in riot gear. Reception even managed to give someone else a key to our room by mistake so they waltzed in when we were in the room. Best thing about Cardiff is when you see it in your rear view mirror!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sighip
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Very centrally located in Cardiff - can't stress that enough. It does have a bit of a quirky entrance - when you arrive go all the way to the end of the ground level to find a lift. Rooms were nice and modern, bathroom was decently sized for europe. As others have indicated, it can get a bit noisy from the street below depending on where your room is, hence 4 not 5* rating (I'd prefer 4.5/5). We did have a room facing the main road and so did hear some pub noise but fell asleep quickly enough anyway. Bed very comfortable. Free wifi was great - and reception in room excellent. Well recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for room high up and not facing the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sighip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Emlyn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I had stayed in the Royal Hotel with my partner, just over a year ago, when we first met. Last year it was lovely, really warm and welcoming, with excellent staff and service. So, as our one year anniversary rolled around, my partner decided to book it again.

We arrived, and headed to the reception to check in, where we were met with the most unhappy looking receptionist. Her response to our friendly 'hello', was "...Name?", shortly followed by "...Card?". She took the payment for the room, and thrust a card key across the counter to my partner. Needless to say, this killed our buzz a little bit! My partner then asked her if the flowers he had ordered for me would be in the room, to which she shrugged, and said 'probably'.

When we got into our room, it was lovely as always. A really good size, we were given a corner room and so had triple aspect windows, and it was immaculately clean and well presented. Perhaps the only flaw with this aspect of the stay, was yes, my flowers had arrived, but had fallen over, off the table. The flowers were beautiful (if a bit squashed), but the wooden floor was covered in water. We then went to the bar to have a cocktail before going out for dinner. Last year, the cocktails were exquisite, but this time around, I ordered a pina colada, which I am very sure was just a bit of rum and pineapple juice .... hardly 4*. We had been given a voucher for 'buy two and get the third free', so I didn't finish that one, and instead ordered a Tom Collins, which was much nicer.

Returning home from dinner that night, we ordered champagne room service, which arrived with a smile from a very friendly member of staff. A very welcome change from the earlier staff member! We completed the feedback survey, and left our comments in reference to the attitude of the staff, and our contact details, but of course never heard anything from them.

The bed was comfortable, and I did have an enjoyable sleep, until approximately 5am, when builders right outside the window had started work - however this was not the fault of the hotel, and so there is nothing more they could have done to improve my sleep - the room was simply faultless.

Breakfast the next morning, however, was a different story. We arrived at approximately 9am, and had ordered the full English. There was a lot of confusion, as there were no staff, and some people were walking to the hot plates to serve themselves, and others were having their food brought to them. We had toast and coffee and waited for approximately 20 minutes, at which point somebody came to tell us they were waiting for more eggs. 15 minutes later our breakfast was brought to us, but without hash browns. When we asked, we were told that we had arrived too late, and the kitchen was about to close. They didnt seem bothered that we had actually been there for an hour and waited for them!

We checked out, with a friendlier receptionist than the day before, but despite that - sorry Royal Hotel, you have well and truly put me off you for life. Two very unhappy customers who will not be recommending you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Seriously great little hotel in Cardiff; went there with my wife for a night out in Cardiff at the beginning of April and have to say we were quite impressed. The room was great for the price, breakfast was very good too and we even got to meet Matt - the breakfast Chef/Manager who was an amazing host. Matt & all, well done and you will definitely get us back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cometrider81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,085 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
1.1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 88 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates. The Royal Hotel is the oldest of all the Cardiff hotels and has been welcoming guests to our fantastic city since it first opened it's doors in 1866. Our rich history includes the Captain Scott Room, where Captain Scott and his expedition team held their final public banquet before setting sail to the South Pole. Home to the Barbarians for 25 years etc. etc. Recently refurbished throughout, we're working on the next stages including free WiFi now available in every bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cardiff
The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing