We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel and central location”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #17 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Walesretiree
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and central location”
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Stayed over night for a short break, very comfortable modern room and staff very friendly and more than helpful. Excellent central location.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gadaboutee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    434
    215
    59
    53
See reviews for
111
568
73
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

WOW! Stayed at this hotel back in December for a training course at the Angel hotel. I have to say I was very sceptical as the price we paid was much lower than any other hotel in Cardiff. The hotel is a bit of a pain to get into (you have to go up in a lift to reception) Once inside the hotel reception is lovely, very welcoming and we were seen to straight away. The Manager checking us in was really helpful, guiding us to the bar and resturant areas and the breakfast room. Once we got to our room we were blown away! The room we believe was a disables room (due to the low light switches and handrails in the bathroom) It was very spacious and very modern. We freshened up and headed out for an evening meal. When we got back the manager was at reception ready with several dvds for us to watch complementary! (they should charge £3 per dvd per night) The beds were very comfortable and we enjoyed a very peaceful nights sleep. The following morning we went down for breakfast and were offered a wide choice of cereals, toast and pasteries. The waiter then appeared with menus offering us full english breakfasts! Over all the staff the food the rooms couldnt be faulted. A fantastic stay and I will be returning again!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wales_Travelagent27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Although getting to the reception is a bit of a pain (through a poorly signed corridor and lift) the actual hotel was excellent for our stay.

RIght in the centre of Cardiff (about 5mins walk from the Millenium Stadium) the room was spacious and clean with good facilities throughout.

Breakfast was Continental or full Welsh/English (at £6 supplement) and was excellent with plenty of choice and all tasted fresh.

I would recommend The Royal for anyone wanting an affordable room (we paid £60 for a double room) in the centre of Cardiff right in the middle of various bars, restuarants and shopping.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

I booked last minute with this hotel and had a really good deal! I thought the room was lovely and very modern and swish. The location is great, right in the centre, very close to bars and shops.

Really nice hotel, would defo stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lornabowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2009

It is only fair to warn fellow travellers and shoppers that this hotel is going through some much needed redevelopment. At the moment you have to use the back entrance to the hotel and a lift to reception on the second floor, with an intercom to gain access to the hotel at all times. Also the back entrance porch seems to be used by the smokers from the neighbouring pub as a rain shelter on the Saturday night. The decor particularly in the corridors is looking very tired.

On a positive note the rooms were clean and tidy and the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We had a central room on the 4th floor, which although it had no day light, it was very quiet on a Saturday night. No noise from the pub.

OVerall I don't feel that we had a good value for money experience.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitor026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2009

Hotel is in an excellent position for the stadium and for the new shopping centre. Staff were very friendly and room was very comfortable and well appointed. Despite being right in the heart of the city there was minimal noise from the clubbers. We had the full cooked breakfast and everything was cooked to our requirements - i'm fussy about my poached eggs.
Would definitely stay here again next time we're in Cardiff.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slimesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, UK
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Spent 2 nights in the hotel with my bloke and would thouroughly recommend (the hotel, not spending 2 nights with my bloke :P). Other reviewers have said it and its true, the entrance is a tad easy to miss, especially if you lack all common sense and spacial awareness as i do... (Hint, arrive after dark, the entrance has a blue light, it's near flares, its a tad easier to spot in the dark!)
The reception staff were very lovely, let us leave our bags with them before check in and after we checked out. We never made it out of bed for breakfast, so cant comment on that :P
The bed was super comfy, more pillows than u can shake a stick at, and the air-con was brill. We had a city view, but we heard no traffic noise at night. Everywhere was very clean, modern, good shower (though a little small for two...)
TV channels were a little messed up, there seemed to be a big selection of channels, if u have the patience to search for them!
The hairdryer was decent, but it was right inside the wardrobe, which was a tad awkward if u fancy actually seeing a mirror!
Overall, we had a brill time, we would thouroughly recommend the hotel, for the room itself as well as the location, which is perfect for visiting the city, very close to the train station and within comfortable walking distance of everywhere worth going.
Enjoy :)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmeeeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: 88 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The closest hotel to the Millennium Stadium gates. The Royal Hotel is the oldest of all the Cardiff hotels and has been welcoming guests to our fantastic city since it first opened it's doors in 1866. Our rich history includes the Captain Scott Room, where Captain Scott and his expedition team held their final public banquet before setting sail to the South Pole. Home to the Barbarians for 25 years etc. etc. Recently refurbished throughout, we're working on the next stages including free WiFi now available in every bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Cardiff
The Royal Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing