We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good food and well worth a vist with the new menu cheap as chips”
Review of The Old Library - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Old Library
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Cardigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very good food and well worth a vist with the new menu cheap as chips”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

me and my partner went there for food it was very tasty and very good priced well worth a vist. nice food and good portions

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    7
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Someone needs to take charge in this place...”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Besides those in the Bay, this pub is probably in the best location in Cardiff. Slap bang between the shopping centre and the market, you would think the owners would want to make it into somewhere special to go to. But no. Time and time again they employ staff who simply don't want to be there. Perhaps it's low pay, I really don't know, but they are so slow and moody. I saw one lad take ages collecting glasses from tables to return with only one in his hand. The other bar person was hiding behind the coffee machine while customers were queuing up. The steak meal we ordered was on the counter for ages before it was brought over, and of course it was cold by then. I do wish someone would give those who run this place a huge kick up the backside because it is long overdue.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pontypridd
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“enjoyable affternoon”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

cava was served first followed by tea/coffee, sandwiches and cake on pretty two tier plates. friendly staff made it very enjoyable affternoon and I will go again. For those of you who wanted plush carpets and fancy decore go to the hilton.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crispyduck5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stay away.”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The worst meal I have ever taken the family to. Gristly, touch lamb, soggy cabage, woody turnip, yesterdays fish re-fried dry,hard and dark brown. I prefer to forget the rest - it was exceptionally poor.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
517 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 518 helpful votes
“Second time round and lucky again”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We had a second KGB voucher for afternoon tea with two glasses of cava that cost just £7 a head – we like trying out bargains. As with our KGB lunch a few weeks previously we ate mid Saturday afternoon with the sun coming in through the windows, which improves the place no end.

We had nine triangles of thick sliced white bread sandwiches, (a bit of a strange number we thought for two), two scones with some jam and cream, two welsh cakes and two pieces of chocolate cake. As with our KGB lunch, the food was again very acceptable and fairly generous portions didn’t appear to be dumbed down. The cava was clean and crisp. Our only real criticism was the lack of choice in sandwiches. If you don’t like any of the fillings that are brought to you, you’re not offered an alternative. In our case, we left the tuna-mayo. If we’d been paying full price that wouldn’t have pleased us but for the discounted price we paid we suppose we can’t really complain. While we were eating we saw some main meals coming out from the kitchen and as on our first visit the portions looked very generous.

We may well have been very lucky but that's two positive experiences at discounted prices

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MandH-eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Library also viewed

Michaelston-y-Fedw, Cardiff
Peterston-Super-Ely, Cardiff
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing