We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation with fantastic view”
Review of BayView Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BayView Apartments
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Just returned from a two night stay at Bayview Apartments. Found the apartment to be clean and more than satisfactory for a short break. The view is absolutely fantastic. We would definitely stay there again(family of 4). Leigh was very helpful and took time to recommend the best local attractions. Great location and close to many supermarkets and restaurants. I don't know what else we could ask for, maybe a stronger Wi-fi signal, but it's a minor compared to everything else provided. Lovely accommodation for a great city!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyJea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had a fabulous few days in here. Leigh is very welcoming , showed to us where to go and what to see. Beautiful views over the bay from balcony.Clean and modern apartment with great facilities.Supermarkets and bars all close by, bring your bikes as great cycling route in here!!!!!free parking total bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeniveve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed at BayView apartments with a group of friends in June 2014.

Pro's

* The apartments were modern and clean with most essentials provided.

* On arrival we were met by Leigh, who was really welcoming and helpful in providing information for the apartments/facilities and local information on Cardiff which was a lovely touch.

* The apartments are based within a quiet residential area with a short taxi ride to Cardiff City centre. There was a Morrison's about 5 minutes walk away which was very helpful.

* Beautiful views of Cardiff Bay. There was a building site on one side but there was no work going on so this wasn't a problem for us.

* Free parking and access to the gym, indoor pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room. The steam room was disappointing but the other facilities were great and we made good use of them.

* Free WiFi although at times this didn't work.

Con's

* Some of the neighbours we encountered in the complex were very rude.

* Allow time between each person showering otherwise you will have a cold shower as some us experienced. There is a booster for the hot water and you have to wait for the tank to fill up.

* Most of the group struggled with phone reception signal and 3G but we managed to get some on the balcony.

* It would be good if more towels were provided.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay including the use of the facilities and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharm32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We booked an apartment at BayView for a trip while friend from the US were to visit. Unfortunately, the friend suffered a major stroke prior to her visit, and is unable to travel. TI understood that the booking was non-refundable. However, as we were a month prior to the visit dates, I wrote to the hotel and asked if anything could be done. I wrote twice, several days apart, but received no response from the hotel.

Contacted the booking agent, to see if they could help. To them, BayView did offer alternate dates, but since our friends could not travel, this wasn't much help.

I had hoped for compassion. BayView chose to stick to the letter of the terms of the booking. From a business perspective, this is understandable, but still disapointing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudgeLeigh, Manager at BayView Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi there,
We were closed for holidays so sorry we didn't get back to you in time. You booked our apartments via a 3rd partner not us direct. Sorry you have had to cancel your booking.
You purchased and advance purchase Non refundable product via a partner company that advertises our apartments this is very clear in the agreement and advertising to be fair.
You need to deal with them direct. They will want their commission also so they would be unlikely to cancel free of charge.
I have offered you alternative dates for free and to be honest a lot of hoteliers wouldn't offer you that so I think we have done our best here.
I also think it's a little unfair for you to leave a Tripadvisor review when you clearly haven't even stayed in our BayView Apartments. Free dates in the future still stands and I hope this is helpful. Leigh Murphy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The pictures look great, the review also great, however there were three of us, including my mother-in-law who is in her 80's. We chose this for it's ease of access, ability to cook over new year, appearance of cleanliness and it's Wifi.

Yes, it does have a walk in shower, which had to be cleaned of mildew and mould prior to use.
Yes, it did have enough beds, but no where does it mention that they are all just 12 inches off the floor.
Apparently it had wifi, although none that we could find unless we hung over the railings on the balcony and pinched somebody else's BT hub signal. Texted the owners several times with only a few unhelpful responsesTo makes matters worse - this is what the owners are actually suggest is the wifi. Neither Vodaphone, O2 or EE regularly managed to find a strong phone signal, let alone a 3G or 4G signal, unless you went to the other side of the flat block.
No we weren't disturbed by the builders but it was new year, however the current building works have ensured that the views gained from the flat will never be quite so picturesque before.
We managed to sort the water out to give us enough hot water in the tank, just allow for 20 mins before each persons shower.
The cooker is actually one of these microwave/combi cooker so don't expect to really cook on it at all.
Yes there are heated towel rails in the two bathrooms, but they had had their fuses taken out to, I assume, save on electric costs which left very cold and damp bathrooms. (We sourced some fuses to resolve this)
In all the place looks tired, mildew and mould in showers and bathroom, fraying carpets. Could do with a thorough clean of shelves, TV unit, lamps etc.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thetwoalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudgeLeigh, Manager at BayView Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hi there,
Most people really enjoy the BayView Apartments not least because of the Amazing Balcony Bay Views Free parking and Free access to Pool and Spa which is Amazing!

Today with my head cleaner we have inspected 90% of the BayView Apartments and there is no mildew in any of the bathrooms. These are clean modern apartments and they are clean!

I am told you had an elderly lady in your group and she had trouble getting in/out of bed if so I am sorry about that but in all the seven years I have managed these apartments you are the first to complain about this.

Cardiff is booming and building is going on everywhere in Cardiff yes there is building in the area but it shouldn't affect your stay. I don't need to hand out hard hats to any of my guests thank you very much!

You fail to mention any positives of which there are many here at BayView. I note you stayed the full duration so I don't think it was as bad as you make out.

Guests can and do post pictures of our BayView apartments on Tripadvisor I see nothing wrong with this. Wifi is available you just need to know how to connect full instructions are in every apartment.


Mr Leigh Murphy Manager BayView Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were in Cardiff for a swimming event at Cardiff International Pool, so with 3 girls and 2 adults the apartment was ideal for us, The standard of accommodation and location was great. Apartment very well equipped, clean and spacious. On our last day we needed a late check out at short notice, Flatdragon the agent we booked through were really helpful and sorted it for us. Would most definitely recommend these apartments and Flatdragon and will no be returning again.....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amanda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudgeLeigh, Manager at BayView Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for your Review of our BayView Apartments Cardiff Bay. We can often offer our guests late check out or early check in.Very glad we could be flexible for your needs and again thanks for your positive comments always appreciated and it's always nice to know we are going in the right direction. Hope to see you all back soon. Leigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Lovely place to stay, the view of the bay was lovely, even at night it was great to just sit & look at the lights over the bay.
The standard of the furnishings & fittings were excellent & high spec, and the apartment was spacious &very clean.
A little way from central Cardiff but it was ideal for what we needed ,the parking was very secure.
Leigh spent time with us on our arrival to tell us the best restaurants etc.
The windows in the lounge opened fully as did the bedroom ones.
The construction site was still there but it did not operate at night & we heard very little noise from it during the day.
Would stay there again without reservation & recommend it to all ages

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lemonie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudgeLeigh, Manager at BayView Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for your review and for highlighting all the positve aspect here of which there are many including the indoor pool and spa free for our customers as is parking. When we meet and greet our guests we will always highlight free things to do, best restaurants bars etc for all ages and lot's more so yes please grill us on arrival as we have extensive knowledge of Cardiff to help you get the best out of your stay. Thanks again and hope to see you all back soon. Leigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,389 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.3 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
4,024 reviews
6 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 74 in Cardiff
600 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BayView Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BayView Apartments

Address: Sport's Village | Ferry Court, Cardiff CF11 0JN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Cardiff
Price Range: £145 - £754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — BayView Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comfort of a luxury hotel with the convenience of your very own modern and stylish self-catering apartment. These fabulous apartments have excellent self-catering facilities and spa with amazing bay views from balcony and all rooms. 4 star visit Wales accredited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your BayView Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BayView Apartments Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing