We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prezzo - Cardiff St. David's

Prezzo - Cardiff St. David's
Ranked #300 of 1,209 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: US$12 - US$37
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cardiff
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We normally eat at Prezzo St Mary Street - it's fair to say that restaurant does have the better atmosphere of the two. I'm not a massive fan of the whole concept of a restaurant in a shopping centre, feels a bit like a fancy McDonald's.

Anyway, food was decent and the garlic bread was particularly delicious. Olives that we had for starters didn't taste too great, but were edible.

Service was good - the manager (I assume) was particularly good and pleasant throughout our dinner.

Only criticism, which completely wasn't the fault of the restaurant, was the pig of a man and his partner next to us. Swearing, burping and by the sounds of it thinking he was gods gift to the world. Honestly no. And next time perhaps it's worth wearing a top that covers all the beer belly. But the restaurant certainly can't be criticised for the standard of clientele!

Would probably return to St Mary Street for the better atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank welshwizard1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    86
    41
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Visited this restaurant in August 2013, we came here quite late at night after we sat down in Ask and were told they had closed the kitchen at 9pm but we could have pizza! trotted off to Prezzo and were warmly welcomed by Antonio (hopefully got that right!) - couldn't be better - although it was an hour before closing we were not rushed, food was great and staff couldn't do enough for us. A really nice meal - many thanks.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Youngfamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Recently visited prezzo in st.davids and I was very impressed. Having just spent a couple of weeks in the heart of Italy I was pleased with the quality of this Italian in Cardiff. Staff were very friendly and a good menu to chose from. Food reasonably prices, I was using my voucher cloud app, some items might seem pricey without it but you do get a good sized tasty portion so you won't be leaving feeling hungry. Overall a good experience and I have been back since my first visit last week. Much better than senior Valentino Italian in Cardiff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flanman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Family Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

It was not to busy when we visited, the kids where kept occupied with the kids menu's and colouring pencils provided, good service and nice food, disappointed though to be told when paying that kids meals are now not included with the tesco's vouchers, we also had to wait to pay the bill as there is only one machine

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mummy-Bowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
133 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We love Prezzo and this was one of the best restaurants we've visited of the chain.
Free Wifi. great welcome by staff. Children made very welcome.
Starters were delicious. Main courses were delicious and ice cream to finish of the meal.
Great value kids menu.
Adults mains were approx £10 however we had a voucher which gave us 2nd main meal for £2.50. This was dealt with ease by staff who were very familiar with vouchers.
Would defiantly recommend and return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keldoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prezzo - Cardiff St. David's also viewed

Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to Prezzo - Cardiff St. David's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing