We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff”
Review of Courtfield Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Courtfield Hotel
Ranked #9 of 47 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We had a great time at courtfield house with my husband, and my mom and her husband. Comfortable room, friendly welcome, and delicious breakfast! Great location too as we wanted to visit the city and the castle but didn't want the noise of downtown partiers ... about 10 min walk to both. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily_Fabien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2011

this was our 3rd year ,very good as ever,friendly best service,very good breakfast,will be coming back next year,would recomend a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rayharris69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This is a really excellent establishment to stay. Friendly, excellent breakfasts and rooms spotless. Ideal location for walk into Cardiff centre and on street parking is a welcome plus point compared to a number of hotels who charge for this privelege.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank speedwaydthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Lovely warm welcome, comfy room and delicious breakfast. Have booked another stay

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelreview2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We had a lovely stay in this large period house. While the decor may seem a little too traditional for some, for us it only added to the comfortable and cosy ambiance of the hotel. Additionally, our room was very tidy and clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Coffee/tea, wardrobe and hairdryer were all provided, as well as a flatscreen TV (with DVD player, which was good as TV reception wasn't great during bad weather).

The bathroom was nice and spacious, though lacked a shower (lovely bath but only had 2 separate taps), and while it did get a little bit chilly at night (again no thanks to the weather), an extra radiator was provided and the sheets were thick and warm and comfy!

From the hotel it's a lovely walk through the park to the city centre - in fact everything was within walking distance (pubs, restaurant, cinema). Parking on the street is free (and monitored). The hosts were excellent, very friendly and helpful, and we looked forward to their lovely breakfast in the morning! I would definitely return to the Courtfield for our next visit and can highly recommend it to other travellers!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank srcn1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

The hotel and our room had many period features, a very comfortable bed, a large spacious bathroom with a corner bath, though no shower. There was ample tea and coffee making facilities. The location is an easy walk to cardiff castle and the centre of the city. The hosts, Norman and Keith, were friendly, gracious and very helpful about shortest routes into town! The location is quite residential so we had an excellent quiet nights sleep after a night out in Cardiff. The next morning breakfast was excellent! Very well laid out and the hot breakfast was very quick to appear once ordered and was indeed hot and very tasty indeed. Nothing seemed too much trouble for our hosts and we felt our stay was good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

I have stayed at the courtfield many times, mostly after heavy nights out!!! :) Always a warm welcome even after trundling in at an ungodly hour!! Extremely clean and comfortable beds with snazzy flat screen tv's in the rooms. Breakfast is superb... freshly cooked to order and it goes down a treat with a fresh cup of coffee. If you're looking for an ideally placed hotel and a more than reasonable price then look no further!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mcrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
2 mi away
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
Jolyon's Boutique Hotel
#9 of 74 in Cardiff
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#3 of 47 in Cardiff
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtfield Hotel

Address: 101 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An original Victorian townhouse hotel, set in a tree-lined conservation area, within minutes walk of Cardiff Castle, Principality Stadium and City Centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Courtfield Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing