We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Courtfieild Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Courtfieild Hotel
Ranked #6 of 45 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I stayed one night. I was warmly welcomed by Keith and Norman and the complimentary map and tips on the best way to walk into town (through the Botanical Gardens) were very welcome. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room and en suite were very clean. Yes, the decor is not super modern, but this is a Victorian house and so it is in keeping. Breakfast was delicious and, for £45, I think my stay represented excellent value for money.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Dame_Adele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Courtfieild Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

The guys running the place were very very friendly, full English breakfast was offered and was very good. Good value for money

Problem... no WiFi and room need a bit of updating but I believe they are being updated at the moment (or at least some of them). There were also some crazy drunk ladies arriving early in the morning and they were left to do all the noise they wanted! Someone should had say something as there were many other guest sleeping at that time

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsR299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Courtfield Hotel is located on the beautiful Cathedral road, Cardiff's salubrious quarter which benefits from homely pubs and up-market restaurants, is minutes to the castle, park and gardens, and therefore a short walk to the city's centre. The owners are the friendliest and most genuine people I've come across, and nothing was too much. I was welcomed by the efficient and warm proprietor, Keith, who was able to impart expert knowledge about his native Cardiff. The room was very tasteful and had everything you'd expect for an up-market stay, and the bed was one of the comfiest I've slept on. Having left London for a bit of peace and quiet, but also looking for somewhere with excitement to offer, I wasn't disappointed with Courtfield Hotel as a base from which to dive into Cardiff's offerings. I'd urge people who want to really see some of the historical treasures of Cardiff to forgo the rather impersonal chain hotels in the city, and instead stay somewhere like Courtfield. As a bonus, I even got to see the neighbourhood's two beautiful Siamese cats who're also especially attracted to the charms of Courtfield.

Room Tip: You'll get a great night's sleep in all rooms. I did have a look at a couple of the other ro...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richdeanmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Wow.

Our stay was such an uplifting experience. You will be struck by the warm atmosphere and attention to detail for your comfort. Old Victorian houses don't come any more loved. At last I had seen inside a house with so many original features that I was in awe. The stained glass and so many other original features were a delight. No standard box type rooms or corners in this hotel. I can get very tense and uncomfortable with strangers but relaxed immediately when Keith greeted us so warmly.

Our room was clean and comfortable and full English breakfasts don't come any better. It was tasty, plenty of it and served up by your very own, kind and friendly Norman. Teapots and tablecloths radiate a feeling of homeliness and relaxation.

Remember, you are not paying for the Ritz. The Courtfield Hotel offers excellent value for money plus lots more. I will return.

Tam from Hastings

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fish4clive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We would love to give a brilliant review about this B & B set in an old Victorian house but although the welcome from Keith could not be bettered the decor lets the place down. Our room was so old fashioned with very tatty wallpaper, furniture which had seen better days and a bathroom which was grim but despite this is was very clean - pristine sheets and towels. The bed (but not the pillow) was very comfortable and everthing worked - it was also nice to have tea and coffee facilities in the room.
The breakfast has a small buffet section with cereal and orange juice and a choice of breakfast cooked to order. However, the quality of the produce was not that high but it was acceptable.
It cost us £90 for the night which was expensive for what it was, but if you are looking for a nights stay and don't intend to stay for hours in your room then it is OK. It is within a 10 minute walk from Cardiff castle and although it has free parking on the street outside it does get very busy (most of the roads behind are permit parking only). If you stay here probably best to get a room at the back as it is quite a noisy road. Also check that your room is en suite as we presume that some of them are not as there are extra bathrooms and toilets off the first landing. This B& B needs some serious refurbishing. An interesting experience but don't think we would head back, much as we liked the owners.

Room Tip: Very basic rooms - to rear of property would be quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaysabroad100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

just enjoyed our first visit to this hotel.
Excellent freshly prepared breakfast, fantastic location with free parking on the street and even the weather was perfect.
Rooms had real character and lots of history to the house.

Room Tip: great location for city centre with added bonus of free parking
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank english2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Came to Cardiff to see Bon Jovi. Had a huge welcome from Keith in the stunning reception area. Look out for the chabdalier. Once we checked in, went to our room fuscia pink and green. There were tea and coffee making facilities, trouser press and hairdryer provided. There was a slight problem with the shower but with a spare bathroom available not too much of an issue. Came back after the concert and met one of the Siamese cats. Breakfast the next morning was amazing. We met Norman then. Choice of cereals, fruit juices and teas. Freshly ground coffee was on offer as well. Then a full English breakfast with toast. I could hardly move. Would seriously recommend this value for money hotel and look forward to visiting again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliaconnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#2 of 45 in Cardiff
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Church Guest House
Church Guest House
#4 of 45 in Cardiff
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Jolyon's at No. 10
Jolyon's at No. 10
#9 of 45 in Cardiff
652 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ty Rosa B&B
Ty Rosa B&B
#3 of 45 in Cardiff
586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Number 62
Number 62
#10 of 45 in Cardiff
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtfieild Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtfieild Hotel

Address: 101 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An original Victorian townhouse hotel, set in a tree-lined conservation area, within minutes walk of Cardiff Castle, Millenium Stadium and City Centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Courtfield Hotel Cardiff
Courtfieild Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing