We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great saturday night stopover”
Review of Courtfield Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Courtfield Hotel
Ranked #5 of 47 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Visiting our daughter in Cardiff and needed accomodation. We managed to book in here at very short notice and were delighted by the welcome and our room - recently refurbished and lovely big bathroom. Excellent breakfast on Sunday morning!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 547ninab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

I had an excellent stay here back in June. We were a party of 4 and had booked two doubles. The location might not be in the centre, but the walk into the centre was very pleasant indeed. Keith was the perfect host, and the breakfast was definitely above average.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Håkan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Good friendly service with a first class full English breakfast. Clean comfortable rooms with tea/coffee making in the room. Short bus service ride to the city or cross the road and walk through the park to the castle. WiFi service availalable free of charge in ground floor area. Ideal for a weekend or long term stay with several good eating houses nearby. Now my favourite place to stay when visiting family in Cardiff

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I stayed five nights with my teenage daughter and my mother. The B&B is along Cathedral Road and was very handy for Cardiff Central, near Bute Park and the Castle. The room was comfortable and the breakfasts were very good. Keith and Norman were excellent hosts. I really liked Cardiff, especially the bay area, which is a short bus ride from the city centre.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Lorna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I stayed one night. I was warmly welcomed by Keith and Norman and the complimentary map and tips on the best way to walk into town (through the Botanical Gardens) were very welcome. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room and en suite were very clean. Yes, the decor is not super modern, but this is a Victorian house and so it is in keeping. Breakfast was delicious and, for £45, I think my stay represented excellent value for money.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Dame_Adele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The guys running the place were very very friendly, full English breakfast was offered and was very good. Good value for money

Problem... no WiFi and room need a bit of updating but I believe they are being updated at the moment (or at least some of them). There were also some crazy drunk ladies arriving early in the morning and they were left to do all the noise they wanted! Someone should had say something as there were many other guest sleeping at that time

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsR299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Courtfield Hotel is located on the beautiful Cathedral road, Cardiff's salubrious quarter which benefits from homely pubs and up-market restaurants, is minutes to the castle, park and gardens, and therefore a short walk to the city's centre. The owners are the friendliest and most genuine people I've come across, and nothing was too much. I was welcomed by the efficient and warm proprietor, Keith, who was able to impart expert knowledge about his native Cardiff. The room was very tasteful and had everything you'd expect for an up-market stay, and the bed was one of the comfiest I've slept on. Having left London for a bit of peace and quiet, but also looking for somewhere with excitement to offer, I wasn't disappointed with Courtfield Hotel as a base from which to dive into Cardiff's offerings. I'd urge people who want to really see some of the historical treasures of Cardiff to forgo the rather impersonal chain hotels in the city, and instead stay somewhere like Courtfield. As a bonus, I even got to see the neighbourhood's two beautiful Siamese cats who're also especially attracted to the charms of Courtfield.

Room Tip: You'll get a great night's sleep in all rooms. I did have a look at a couple of the other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richdeanmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,311 reviews
2 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
0.1 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#2 of 47 in Cardiff
166 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ty Rosa B&B
Ty Rosa B&B
#3 of 47 in Cardiff
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtfield Hotel

Address: 101 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An original Victorian townhouse hotel, set in a tree-lined conservation area, within minutes walk of Cardiff Castle, Principality Stadium and City Centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Courtfield Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing