We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely little place”
Review of Courtfield Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Courtfield Hotel
Ranked #4 of 42 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A lovely little place”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Found this place to stay overnight and do a bit of Christmas shopping in the day. The owners Allowed us to check in at 12pm which was perfect for us as it allowed us time to shop before going out. After having a bit of difficultly finding a parking space ( all spaces outside was full and a lot of permit spaces around but managed to find one on a side street a short walk away) Had a lovely warm welcome from Keith made you feel right at home straight away. Yes the room is a bit old fashioned but it keeps in with the Victorian house we had an ensuite room for £60 the shower wasn't very powerful but that would be my only complaint tea and coffee available in the room along with biscuits a hairdryer and a trouser press there was a small flat screen TV there was nothing else you could want really. It was about a 15min walk into town through the park but there are a few buses that go down cathedral road regularly if u don't want to walk and cost about £7 in a taxi. After our night out was ready for a good breakfast and it definitely didn't disappoint a lovely breakfast cereals and orange juice on offer then a lovely fresh cooked breakfast with lovely ingredients Norman was very helpful. Would definitely stay here again for a night in Cardiff.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valleygirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    55
    15
    2
    6
See reviews for
17
76
50
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Had a nice stay, drinking and shopping,with the wife at the beginning of November.
Booked this hotel at quite short notice, after searching the internet, knew the area reasonably well as had previously stopped in the same street.
Room was nice and clean and the proprietors very friendly.
Breakfasts were excellent the full english was a plate full and very nicely presented.
Would certainly return for another stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEREMY P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alverstoke, gosport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stayed Friday & Sat night for a stage weekend with a group of 8. Whilst the building and decor is dated and a little tired the location is excellent for quick walking access to the city centre. Owners very nice and accommodating and breakfast was excellent. Rooms were clean and tidy with all the usual modern conveniences. Considering the prices for hotels in a similar location this place was very good value for money and perfect if you don't plan on spending a lot of time in the hotel itself.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Visiting our daughter in Cardiff and needed accomodation. We managed to book in here at very short notice and were delighted by the welcome and our room - recently refurbished and lovely big bathroom. Excellent breakfast on Sunday morning!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 547ninab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I had an excellent stay here back in June. We were a party of 4 and had booked two doubles. The location might not be in the centre, but the walk into the centre was very pleasant indeed. Keith was the perfect host, and the breakfast was definitely above average.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Håkan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Good friendly service with a first class full English breakfast. Clean comfortable rooms with tea/coffee making in the room. Short bus service ride to the city or cross the road and walk through the park to the castle. WiFi service availalable free of charge in ground floor area. Ideal for a weekend or long term stay with several good eating houses nearby. Now my favourite place to stay when visiting family in Cardiff

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I stayed five nights with my teenage daughter and my mother. The B&B is along Cathedral Road and was very handy for Cardiff Central, near Bute Park and the Castle. The room was comfortable and the breakfasts were very good. Keith and Norman were excellent hosts. I really liked Cardiff, especially the bay area, which is a short bus ride from the city centre.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#2 of 42 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Church Guest House
Church Guest House
#1 of 42 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ty Rosa B&B
Ty Rosa B&B
#3 of 42 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtfield Hotel

Property: Courtfield Hotel
Address: 101 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9PH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An original Victorian townhouse hotel, set in a tree-lined conservation area, within minutes walk of Cardiff Castle, Millenium Stadium and City Centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Courtfield Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing